We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, warm, friendly, close to town place to stay !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 62 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We loved our stay at The Albatross Inn. The house was warm the moment you stepped through the front door, including the bedrooms. Fabulous hot shower in the en suite. The continental breakfast was delicious with homemade bread, muffins and fresh fruit salad. Glynis, the host, is friendly and it's only a ten minute walk into town. Everything the advert said is true. Wish we could have stayed longer. Will definitely stay at The Albatross when next in Dunedin.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherrilyn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 174 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

An atmospheric house with lovely host Glynis who is very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was lovely with fresh fruit salad, home made muffins, yoghurt,bread spreads and percolated coffee or tea. House is very well placed and in walking distance to centre of town. Limited off street parking but plenty of on street parking available.

Room Tip: Ask for the back as quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Intonati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Our stay at Albatross was a great value in a fantastic city - especially since you get a filling breakfast (when restaurants in NZ are so expensive). It was close to the city centre, with lots of shops and restaurants nearby, as well as lovely places to walk. Glynis was an incredibly accommodating host and really went the extra mile for us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LizzCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Lovely character building with spacious bedroom. Handy to town, and stadium. Close to street, but our room was quiet. Continental breakfast had a wide variety of choices. Unfortunately the TV in rooms weren't working the weekend we stayed. Host very friendly

Room Tip: Book early, I imagine this place is popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Albatros Inn in Dunedin is a Bed & Breakfast with everything you want. Generous Room, great Breakfast and a lovely Host who gives great Advices and support You in every Case. The House is close to the Central and far away enough to have a quiet stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

This place was so fabulous! Glynis, the manager, was so welcoming and friendly! Each room was individual and lovely decorated with so many cute details. It was like staying in a museum, but with a comfy bed! The breakfast was also great, with fantastic muffins!
I would certainly stay there again, as would the rest of us! Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saalna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The location of this older home-turned-hotel makes it a great choice for a stay in Dunedin. The rooms are clean and neat, as is the bathrooms. Continental breakfast includes homemade bread. Free Parking available and good free wi-fi. But the best part of this hotel is its owner. She is available to assist in every way possible to make your trip is more enjoyable with recommendations for sites, restaurants, theaters, attractions and even buses. Interesting mix of international visitors. I would definitely stay here again if I'm lucky enough to return to New Zealand in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albatrossinn, Owner at Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am just very happy that I was able to help make your stay in Dunedin more enjoyable. After all the personal service is why people choose to stay at a Bed & Breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.8 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#37 of 61 in Dunedin
394 reviews
1.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
444 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Argoed Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 770 George Street | North Dunedin, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range: $67 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Character Bed & Breakfast. Friendly, warm & comfortable. Some rooms have Fridge and Microwave. Sky TV in Guest Lounge. Free Wifi/internet, Ensuites, Central Heating, Delicious Continental Breakfast, Great City Location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing