We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chy-an-Dowr / Rosemary Retreat
Ranked #17 of 59 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Simply Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We recently returned to Rosemary Retreat for a ten day stay. Susan and Herman made us feel at home and presented the cottage with lots of little thoughtful comforts.
It is a simple but comfortable self contained cottage attached to the main guesthouse. We were also blessed with good weather considering that January in Dunedin can be the wettest month of the year. what a beautiful part of the world!
All in all we could not of experienced better hospitality or comfort anywhere. Thank you Susan and Herman for providing us with a lovely home away from home.
Harry and Corrina

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
216 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Peace and privacy ... comfy bed ...fully equipped kitchen ... and amiable, but not intrusive, hosts. After a short walk you are looking at a "too good to be true, am I really here?" view of the harbor. It's only a short (but semi-hairy) drive to Portobello and its cafes and grocery store.

Why stay in downtown Dunedin when all of the spectacular outdoor attractions -- seals, sea lions, penguins, etc., -- are out here on the peninsula?

Didn't spend a lot of time in the room, but the internet access was valued by daughter to catch up with what was happening back in the USA. Our two nights went by too quickly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StartSlowAndEaseOff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
197 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We impressed with this B&B even before we arrived when Susan emailed us to offer assistance making a reservation for Christmas dinner; she told us nothing would be open on the peninsula and many places in Dunedin would be closed as well. We thankfully accepted her assistance. Upon arrival she helped us navigate our way into town and was very knowledgeable about the area. We stayed in the separate apartment near the garden and were overwhelmed by the variety of breakfast foods! There were also baked goods and lots of reading on the local attractions. While a little over decorated for my taste, the apartment was clean and comfortable. The ceilings were a bit low and the floors changed level often so watch your footing. Oh, and if you cook bacon or sausages, open the door; we set off the fire alarm which was located almost above the hot plate. Also the road to the property is hair-raising: no guard rails and lots of curves with the ocean on one side and rocks face on the other. It is very easy to get into both Dunedin for shopping and restaurants and also equally convenient to get to the albatross, penguin, and sea lion sites.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whats4dessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

Owners Herman and Susan are the friendliest, most informative owners we've ever had the fortune to come across. One feels part of the family immediately!

We stayed in Rosemary Retreat, a self contained apartment located at the rear of the property with access via the pretty garden and on site parking. The apartment is more like a cottage comprising a beautifully furnished sitting/dining room, a well equipped kitchen, lovely bathroom and very comfortable bedroom. Strongly recommended. As is the Otago Peninsula – but don’t tell everyone :-) DJ

Chy-an-Dowr is Cornish for 'House by the sea'.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2009

My wife and I spent two nights at Chy-an-Dowr in November 2009. We loved every minute of it. First, it's a great location, equally accessible for short jaunts into Dunedin, or exploring the beautiful Otago Peninsula. Our room looked out over the water, and was impeccably appointed -- it had the feel of a Victorian seaside cottage. Really it was three separate rooms -- bedroom, kitchen area and modern bathroom.

But the best part by far was getting to spend time with the hosts Susan and Herman. Just wonderful people, as warm and hospitable as you would hope B&B hosts would be. Nothing was too much trouble for them. They went out of their way to help us with everything from letting us use their phone to unexpectedly and unasked setting a beautiful dinner table for us one night when we picked up a few groceries and just wanted to dine in. They are also a wealth of information on the history of the era, and have loads of historical photos that help you put it in perspective.

We loved everything we saw during a three-week tour of the South Island, but no place left us with fonder memories than our wonderful stay at Chy-an-Dowr. We will always look back on it warmly.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedy45rpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2007

This is a nice bed and breakfast run by friendly people from the Netherlands. The website is a little misleading in that it's across the road from the water, not on the water. I'm not sure it's possible to have a private bathroom; we didn't. Decent value.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights exploring the “Scottish” city of Dunedin with its vibrant student population, the quaint Otago Peninsula (albatross and penguin colonies) and the rugged Catlins Coast further south (more penguins, the New Zealand fur seals and long walks along lonely beaches).

Chy-an-Dowr, the Cornish name for House on the Water, is a quiet, cozy, super clean B&B with all the comfort you can imagine. It is definitely worth the NZ 175 we paid for the Manapai Room.

The 1905 home, a former general store, is located in Broad Bay, a small village halfway up the Otago Peninsula, a stone's throw from Portobello. It has been lovingly restored by Susan and Herman, who moved here from Eindhoven in Holland in 1993. All rooms have views across the Otago Harbour, which separates the Otago Peninsula from the mainland. Susan, a terrific hostess, has thought about every detail, making our stay so memorable. There is a fridge in each room, tea/coffee making facilities, ample towels, comfortable beds and each morning a great breakfast – fully cooked English style if you want it. Susan gave us great advice on what to do in the area. She gladly will make restaurant reservations for you - a definite must in the high season.

We absolutely loved this one and finally mustered the energy to write our first review on Tripadvisor.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank chuckfew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.9 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
6.1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arts Content Bed and Breakfast
5.5 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-an-Dowr / Rosemary Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-an-Dowr / Rosemary Retreat

Property: Chy-an-Dowr / Rosemary Retreat
Address: 687 Portobello Road | Broad Bay, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chy-an-Dowr / Rosemary Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing