We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful,relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 63 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
“wonderful,relaxing stay”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

one of the best places my husband and i have stayed , friendly, welcoming people ,lovely food ,relaxing gardens, amazing room and only a short walk into the main township, a+++ cant wait for our next visit

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
50
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Mary looked after us very well in her lovely home. The bedroom was comfortable with a nice sitting out area. The breakfasts ensured you won't go hungry and for me the highlight was that Pat took my out in his kayak. We had seals swimming around us and saw albatross overhead - a dream come true!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinehil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Everything about this place is great!! the location, the owners, the rooms, the beautiful garden
and above all the scones Mary will give you in the afternoon and the delicious breakfast. If you are in Dunedin area - that's the place you want to stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The McAuley's accommodated us on short notice and were very helpful with directions and booking local tours and dinner. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay which was made special by their friendly personal attention. I would go out of my way to stay again.
Mary's breakfast was delicious as well as her homemade scones. The rooms were very comfortable and cozy; the garden was beautiful; and the spa was relaxing.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Mary was kind enough to check us in early as we arrived sooner than we had planned to. She booked us a couple of tours which saved us a lot of time and energy. Later in the evening we had a few drinks with Mary and Patrick and a good long chat and then toddled off for a wonderful meal at the local pub. The room was good and spacious. Our breakfasts were superb and very filling. Thank you Mary and Pat for a great time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you want something a little different, almost a home stay, with welcoming hosts, lovely food (almost too much), and tucked away in a colourful, rambling garden, choose Macauley Glen. The room - one of two - is cosy and private and the location ideal for walks and the spectacular scenery. The local pub is just a few minutes walk and another restaurant also nearby. We were invited to join Mary and Pat for canapes and to share a bottle of wine in the wisteria covered gazebo. Truly one of the best b and b's we experienced in New Zealand. Andrea and Anthony S.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Previous good reviews made us choose this B&B for a special occasion - and we were so glad that we did. Quite simply - a wonderful experience!
Mary and Patrick are wonderful hosts who share a passion for providing a unique destination for all guests - from the lovely freshly baked scones upon arrival, to the complimentary glass of NZ wine, to the unique, quality accommodation, to watching the stars and sharing a vino whilst sitting in the spa pool, to the unforgettable breakfast, to the sharing of the numerous activities readily available in the area.
Fantastic value for money and we WILL return
Phil and Jacqui
May 2012

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phila987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.7 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
625 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Argoed Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Treetops B&B
Treetops B&B
#1 of 1 in Portobello
18 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hazel House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: 13 McAuley Road | Portobello, Dunedin 9014, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllic harbor-side location in Portobello on the Otago Peninsula, 20 minutes from Dunedin city. Set amongst a tapestry of rolling hills, sandy ocean beaches, picturesque bays and inlets. Central to Albatross, Penguin and Seal colonies. Nestled in secluded, tranquil gardens, filled with color, fragrance and birdsong. McAuley Glen Boutique B&B, offers luxury accommodation, private rooms with modern comforts, Jacuzzi spa, sauna, wireless broadband, home style gourmet breakfast/baking, welcome refreshments, and warm relaxed kiwi hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your McAuley Glen Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing