We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Ranked #27 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

It is lovely the hosts make you feel welcome. It is a quick walk down hill to town and a cheap taxi ride back. The rooms are warm, well presented, the shower has a wet floor that almost runs the wrong way...into the room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyndseyrae W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 249 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a lovely stay in this hotel. Lovely room with a kingsize bed, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good and the hotel is in a great location. Great host, very friendly welcoming and helpful. Evening chat with wine is a nice touch. We would certainly go back if we get the chance.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emswurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a charming place with more of a feel of a B&B than a boutique hotel. There are a LOT of stairs. Make sure you park around the back to get your luggage at least up one level before you start. Anyone who has a disability or a lot of luggage should really think again about this place. But the stairs are worth climbing for what the host described as 'the best view in Dunedin', which it probably is. Completely stunning.

The host was lovely, and clearly has a lot of good advice for tourists. But we were not tourists, we were there for a book tour. One of us is a Kiwi anyway. The host didn't really hear this, and kept telling us about all the sights we really must see, even though we were in a hurry with my partner's nephew waiting for us to check in so he could take us for dinner. But it's better to have too much enthusiasm than none at all.

When I asked for soya milk and gluten free bread they couldn't have been more helpful. I should have let them know in advance, but as soon as I did let them know they went out and got both. The host was going to be away for a couple of days and although someone else was supposed to come and do breakfast, they never did. On that morning we were faced with a locked kitchen and a deserted hotel. We went into Dunedin and had a lovely breakfast somewhere else, and this really was just a genuine mistake (you will probably get breakfast fine if you go there) but when we complained all they offered was to take the cost of the breakfast we didn't have off our bill. My partner had a radio interview that morning and it was a bit of a hassle having to go elsewhere.

The bedding is that awful arrangement they have in a lot of places in NZ - two sheets with an unwashed duvet between them. But I had worse than this in one of the most expensive hotels in Wellington, so it's not unusual at all.

Room Tip: The corner room on the top floor has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brothershotel, Owner at The Brothers Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

I am sure you are a better person for airing your thoughts. The ranting to our Housekeeper over the missed complimentary breakfast however was over the top and unnecessary. Though very regrettable it was the first time since opening eight years ago that this has happened. A genuine misunderstanding with my our Housekeeper which I must take the blame for as I said in my email to your partner on my return.a few days later.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel website is perfectly accurate and the welcome could not have been warmer. We did enjoy the cameraderie of the cocktail hour the owner hosted, and the room and WiFi were just fine. One should bear in mind this is a vertical hotel, so plan on stairs. The owner was kind and would have helped schlep our bags had we needed his help. Also, the short distance to town is down a significant hill so we took a taxi to return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our last port of call was a well kept charming old property. The owner Rod, was more than just a host, he was the information centre as well. Nothing was a problem as he helped us find our way around town and all that it has to offer.The morning breakfast was always nice as was the afternoon beer with a chat. The rooms were well kept, although we would have liked a fridge in there. All in all a very nice place to end our fortnight in NZ

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor so as to take advantage of the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here at the end of cycling the Otago Central Rail Trail. The renovation of this small hotel is wonderful and the services, hosts, beds, breakfast and everything about the property is just fabulous. We had a short walk into the centre of Dunedin for dinner and a slightly longer walk back uphill (well, we did have dinner 'on board!). The hotel is in a quiet spot and has easy access to the city and sights. The owners are passionate about their hotel, Dunedin and I would stay again without hestitation and highly recommend anyone else to do the same.

Room Tip: Small rooms as advertised are exactly that, but functional and personable. If you like more space in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrispnCrunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Really great location in a fabulous town. The reception was very warm and helpful. He was enthusiastic about all the options available in town and the otago peninsula. Rooms are sparse but adequate- the lighting could be better. Loved the balcony view and large lounge area. The breakfast room is charming.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Axi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.9 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
741 reviews
6.3 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
634 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#36 of 61 in Dunedin
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brothers Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brothers Boutique Hotel

Address: 295 Rattray Street | Carpark- GPS directions: 10 Bishops Rd, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: $113 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a special place in Dunedin. Relax in our European style family run Boutique Hotel close to inner city amenities with spectacular views of the City and harbour. Extensive renovations have been done to this former Christian Brothers 1920's stately residence transforming it into elegant heritage accommodation with 15 bedrooms and all with modern tiled en suites. The Brothers offers a mixture of convenience, history, charm, elegance and tranquillity, with the building retaining much of its original grandeur. Unfortunately the Hotel is unsuitable for infants, babies and young children under 16 and can't be accommodated. The Brothers is also quite different from anything else in Dunedin. The intention during the refurbishment was to be sympathetic to the building's history and wherever possible the original character has been retained. As a result most of our rooms are of a size often found in European Cities and maybe considered small by some. If room size is important to you or the prospect of walking 10 minutes uphill from the city centre is a daunting issue then other options maybe more suitable for you . A welcoming drink is offered early evening in the main Guest lounge. Book direct with us for better price and room options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brothers Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brothers Boutique Hotel Dunedin
Brothers Boutique Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing