We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect end to our holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Ranked #27 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect end to our holiday”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

After travelling around NZ for a few weeks and experiencing quite a variety of accommodation styles, we were really hoping that our last few nights would be perfect. And they were! From the moment we arrived Rod made us feel extremely welcome, and spent some time advising us where we should go and what we should do. Our room on the top floor was lovely and light, with a great view over the cathedral to the harbour and hills. Dunedin is a very pretty city and The Brothers is the ideal spot from which to appreciate it. The location is excellent, with great restaurants just a brisk walk away (and the uphill climb on the way back makes you feel quite virtuous, despite all the good food and wine you've consumed). The guest lounge is a lovely spot to enjoy a pre-dinner drink and a chat to fellow guests, and having the use of the guest computer is an added bonus. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karorigrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brothershotel, Owner at The Brothers Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
One of the pleasures of running a Hotel is meeting people who enjoy life and Travel. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    90
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
13
173
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

It's true
Friendly hospitality from Rod and the cosy air of old wood
The views are spectacular and the shared living room is great
A lovely spot that is close to the centre of Dunedin
Though the room was a bit small

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lewb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We booked a room at this hotel for three nights using the web interface, but it turns out they do not permit couples with children or infants. We didn't discover this until coming downstairs for breakfast after our first night, with our generally quiet 5-month old in a carrier. The proprietor immediately dressed us down in front of other guests who were having their breakfast and straight up told us our baby wasn't allowed. To avoid further embarrassment we packed up and left immediately (without having the breakfast we had paid for). The proprietor handled this incredibly unprofessionally - he could have discussed the situation privately. This was clearly a misunderstanding and not a deliberate deception on our part, and deserved to be handled with respect by the owner. He claimed their no children policy was obvious on their website but it simply isn't, or at least it wasn't when we booked the room. We have just checked again and there is now a disclaimer at the bottom of the booking page (not the hotel's actual webpage) that says that the hotel is unsuitable for children. We didn't see this when we booked (perhaps our fault or perhaps it wasn't there?) but whatever the case this 'feature' of the hotel needs to be made clearer; we certainly wouldn't have booked this hotel if we knew. Regardless, you shouldn't have to get half way through the booking process to discover that children are not permitted. The proprietor claimed during our public dressing down that the child-free nature of the hotel is a selling point and that people stay here BECAUSE there are no children or infants permitted. Frankly, this assertion is very difficult to believe when this point is not advertised clearly on his webpage. Perhaps "CHILDREN and BABIES NOT PERMITTED" in bold typeface on the front (i.e, welcome) page of the website would get the message across. He would get the guests he wanted and not be troubled by others. The proprietors must have their reasons for this policy but it is a pity to exclude a large proportion of the population from enjoying what is a nice hotel in a great location. In general I can't understand child-free policies in ordinary locations (honeymoon type resorts in exotic locations perhaps, but really, this is Dunedin!) It is questionable what response would be had to a hotel that advertised "red-headed people not permitted" or "homosexuals not permitted", so why are hotels allowed to discriminate against couples with children? Certainly in some states in Australia it can be considered illegal to refuse to let a room to adults with children unless it can be proven that there is no space to accommodate that child safely. For many parents who take their own portacots travelling, this could rarely be argued. A check of the NZ Human Rights Commission site leaves the legal rights of the child in such cases unclear but we will do further research on this point out of interest. It seems though although proprietors may have some sort of way around anti-discrimination laws to cut out a large proportion of your potential clients is also short sighted from an economic point of view. We give this hotel this rating because of the way in which this situation was handled; the hotel itself is very nice for all those childless couples out there and would ordinarily we would have recommended it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fitzrovians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brothershotel, Owner at The Brothers Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
The review does not warrant a response other than it meets Trip advisor’s Support Team’s internal “entertainment guide” which I am not buying into.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, WA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very nice room on top floor, with huge picture window and balcony overlooking the entire city of Dunedin. Historic and charming older building. Small rooms due to the age of the building, however, nothing lacking. Rod is a friendly and informative host.  Took the host's advice and booked the morning train excursion into the gorge; scenic, an enjoyable and relaxing trip. Back into town for lunch and then on to the Elm Tours Eco expedition in the afternoon. Tiring hike but "ya gotta love those penguins." Back into town by 10:00 p.m to sit with a glass of wine for a while outside a bar in the Octagon to watch the world go by. Best birthday ever.

Room Tip: The rooftop balcony affords wonderful views; however, it is shared by several rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We only stayed one night but enjoyed our stay, and made the most of our short time in Dundein thanks to a very helpful host. He gave us sightseeing and restaurant recommendations, as well as all the brochures/maps we needed, which worked out perfectly. Yes, as the website & the other reviewers say, the rooms are small. There is a welcoming lounge downstairs to spread out in and if you have a balcony, it is nice spending time out there too. The breakfast was fine, nothing remarkable but doesn’t make any claims to be. Nice view & good location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayWhentee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had a lovely stay here. Prior to catching the Middlemarch train for the beginning of the Otago Rail Trail.
The host was helpful and informative. We enjoyed a glass of wine with him prior to walking into town for an evening meal.
The rooms are very European . High standard but compact by New Zealand standards. This in no way reduces the enjoyment of the stay.
We stayed on the top floor and enjoyed views across Dunedin.
Easy walking distance to the city, railway station etc

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwigal61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

wasnt sure what to expect at this boutique hotel well what an amazing experience we knew things were going to go well after a long drive we were invited at 5pm to enjoy a glass of wine
with the other guests. Rod could not of made us more welcome really found the history of the brothers boutique very interesting Lots of places to visit very close had a lovely time.
Again washing and ironing all sorted out no hassel really recommed this place

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.9 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#22 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.6 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brothers Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brothers Boutique Hotel

Property: The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Address: 295 Rattray Street | Carpark- GPS directions: 10 Bishops Rd, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a special place in Dunedin. Relax in our European style family run Boutique Hotel close to inner city amenities with spectacular views of the City and harbour. Extensive renovations have been done to this former Christian Brothers 1920's stately residence transforming it into elegant heritage accommodation with 15 bedrooms and all with modern tiled en suites. The Brothers offers a mixture of convenience, history, charm, elegance and tranquillity, with the building retaining much of its original grandeur. Unfortunately the Hotel is unsuitable for infants, babies and young children under 16 and can't be accommodated. The Brothers is also quite different from anything else in Dunedin. The intention during the refurbishment was to be sympathetic to the building's history and wherever possible the original character has been retained. As a result most of our rooms are of a size often found in European Cities and maybe considered small by some. If room size is important to you or the prospect of walking 10 minutes uphill from the city centre is a daunting issue then other options maybe more suitable for you . A welcoming drink is offered early evening in the main Guest lounge. Book direct with us for better price and room options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brothers Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brothers Boutique Hotel Dunedin
Brothers Boutique Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing