We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but charming with helpful host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Ranked #27 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Small but charming with helpful host”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We only stayed one night but enjoyed our stay, and made the most of our short time in Dundein thanks to a very helpful host. He gave us sightseeing and restaurant recommendations, as well as all the brochures/maps we needed, which worked out perfectly. Yes, as the website & the other reviewers say, the rooms are small. There is a welcoming lounge downstairs to spread out in and if you have a balcony, it is nice spending time out there too. The breakfast was fine, nothing remarkable but doesn’t make any claims to be. Nice view & good location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayWhentee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    90
    25
    8
    3
See reviews for
13
176
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had a lovely stay here. Prior to catching the Middlemarch train for the beginning of the Otago Rail Trail.
The host was helpful and informative. We enjoyed a glass of wine with him prior to walking into town for an evening meal.
The rooms are very European . High standard but compact by New Zealand standards. This in no way reduces the enjoyment of the stay.
We stayed on the top floor and enjoyed views across Dunedin.
Easy walking distance to the city, railway station etc

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwigal61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

wasnt sure what to expect at this boutique hotel well what an amazing experience we knew things were going to go well after a long drive we were invited at 5pm to enjoy a glass of wine
with the other guests. Rod could not of made us more welcome really found the history of the brothers boutique very interesting Lots of places to visit very close had a lovely time.
Again washing and ironing all sorted out no hassel really recommed this place

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have stayed twice now three years passed since the first visit and the standards and service are still very good for this unique BB in Dunedin.
Good access from carpark and the place is nice and quiet.
The speights brewery tour is just down the road, a definate visit is a must.
Try and get a top floor balcony room for views over the harbour.
Very central to the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jedzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brothershotel, Owner at The Brothers Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks and it was nice to see you both again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at The Brothers for two nights in December. We received a very warm reception over a glass of good quality wine. The hosts are very friendly and helpful.
The accommodation is comfortable and the hotel location is perfect for the city centre. Just a short walk into town for restaurants and bars, etc. There are also beautiful views over the city from the windows and balconies.
It was nice to stay somewhere with a bit of history and character rather than another dreary chain hotel.
There was free wifi available in the lounge area, which we found was still available upstairs in our room on the top floor.
I have already recommended this hotel to my parents when they travel to NZ next year.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Saldridge12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had just done the Rail Trail and needed a bit of comfort and luxury. We weren't disappointed. The Brothers is so convenient to Dunedin Centre, the restaurants etc.. Yes the rooms are smallish, as other guests have noted, but I knew that in advance, it's perfectly obvious from the website. Obviously a building that housed religious brothers a hundred years ago is not going to have large rooms?? However, they are perfectly adequate for a couple and have plenty of hanging space on the back of the door. The hotel common space makes up for this. A guest choosing this hotel wants character and history otherwise they would be staying at the Mariott. The owners have managed to incorporate ensuite bathrooms into the existing room footprint very cleverly. The owner is very welcoming without being intrusive. He so clearly has a passion for the building and for Dunedin as a whole. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you prefer room size to character then stay at a corporate hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeby2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brothershotel, Owner at The Brothers Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words and appreciation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, NZ
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

A very nice hotel to stay in. Nice rooms, nice facilities, nice manager and a nice breakfast.

I have stayed here twice recently and have enjoyed the experience. Admittedly I have had a room with a nice view both times. The hotel is close to town (with a bit of a climb home-ward). Rooms are small but have everything you need.

I will stay here again next time!

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and get a 'better' room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
6.3 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
626 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
0.9 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brothers Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brothers Boutique Hotel

Property: The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Address: 295 Rattray Street | Carpark- GPS directions: 10 Bishops Rd, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a special place in Dunedin. Relax in our European style family run Boutique Hotel close to inner city amenities with spectacular views of the City and harbour. Extensive renovations have been done to this former Christian Brothers 1920's stately residence transforming it into elegant heritage accommodation with 15 bedrooms and all with modern tiled en suites. The Brothers offers a mixture of convenience, history, charm, elegance and tranquillity, with the building retaining much of its original grandeur. Unfortunately the Hotel is unsuitable for infants, babies and young children under 16 and can't be accommodated. The Brothers is also quite different from anything else in Dunedin. The intention during the refurbishment was to be sympathetic to the building's history and wherever possible the original character has been retained. As a result most of our rooms are of a size often found in European Cities and maybe considered small by some. If room size is important to you or the prospect of walking 10 minutes uphill from the city centre is a daunting issue then other options maybe more suitable for you . A welcoming drink is offered early evening in the main Guest lounge. Book direct with us for better price and room options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Brothers Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brothers Boutique Hotel Dunedin
Brothers Boutique Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing