We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to sort services out”
Review of Alexis Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexis Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are small. We had to sleep in the hall. Really tiny for its price. Housekeeping staff are terrible. They dont know how toale the beds professionally and they did not change our linen when they serviced the room.
Management does not allow cooking of seafood. They turned off the heater by turning off the fuses which I thought was very rude. Management claims its due to worries about fire safety. Well, if there are such worries, why supply cheap fan heaters then? Arent the hospitality properties checked for fire safety by the fire authorities? Why do they allow such fire hazards to be installed for use?
Carpark is small and very sloppy. Difficult to pack boot and move passengers.
Housekeepers did not bother to refill coffee bags.
Washing and drying is expensive. 7 kiwi per 5kg load and its not 24 hours.
Only one staff on duty so while the staff is polite and genuinely trying to solve all the housekeeping and maintenance problems, there are front office duties to attend to.

Way overpriced.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N828282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 518 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed here last week for a university interview that we had travelled to from Auckland. Robbyn (the owner) is one of the most friendly, welcoming and hospitable people we've ever met. She went out of her way to help us and make sure we were comfortable.

The room we had was spacious, safe and clean. Aside from a few issues with one of the televisions not working, we found the rooms to be of a very high standard. The linen was of a very high quality and everything was very comfortable.

Without a doubt one of the best things this place has to offer is its location. George Street is one of the main streets in Dunedin and the lodge was close to great eateries and it's a short walk to the shopping centre and the university. Overall I'd recommend it as a great place to stay while you're in Dunedin.

Room Tip: Book early as this place had no vacancy on one of the nights we stayed there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TajGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel had great potential the position is fantastic right near everything. The new owner are very nice and very helpful.
The only problem is it is in need of updating which I believe the new owners are working on.
The beds are very comfortable and the 50 channels on sky are also great even though the TV are very small.
Given time and the injection of some updating this could be a very good hotel now it is comfortable.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Well positioned as it appears to be the first motel after the shops in the centre, after the large Presbyterian church. A bagpiper was playing on our first night. Rates seem to be a bit pricier in Dunedin for motels than other smaller towns around. Very steep approach from the main road but found place to park very near unit and room was quiet. Owner had only just taken over so was busy trying to sort a few things out, but gave us a very good overview of tourist sights. We were very happy with our choice, a clean, spacious and comfortable unit. Unlimited wifi, within reason. Hairdryer not working but we were sure this would have been resolved if we needed it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackcat2york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Rather unfortunate that I never had the chance to stay here. Having said that, my first and only experience was of great disappointment.

It was unacceptable that the booking which I made, was not honoured as it was confirmed and paid for in full. If I was to cancel at short notice I surely would have either forfeited my payment or incur a cancellation charge and an administration fee.

Alexis Motor Lodge offered a smaller room for $100 more per night via a third party. Clearly this was not acceptable. I then waited for Alexis Motor Lodge to call me (as promised by third party) to discuss but to no avail. Alexis Motor Lodge did not call back, no satisfactory alternative accommodation was offered. I had to rebook my accommodation just 24 hours before arrival so options and prices were limited.

What has occurred with my booking with Alexis Motor Lodge is plainly unfair. Obviously Alexis Motor Lodge cannot be trusted to honour their bookings or supply satisfactory similar accommodation.

What you can expect are excuses by the bucket load.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Jimbooo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I needed a place to stay while my husband was in the hospital due to an injury that occured while on vacation. My 10 day stay was conveniently located to everything I needed. Suggestions for things to do were so appreciated. Laundry and internet was a plus. Thank you for a safe clean place. You were great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete7469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Cosy motel, convenient and easy to find. The manager was the best we have encountered in our travels round the world and was friendly, helpful and had a great sense of humour - will certainly recommend him to everyone we know.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joni A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.4 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
761 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
#18 of 61 in Dunedin
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
5.8 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexis Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexis Motor Lodge

Address: 475 George Street | North Dunedin, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: $102 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alexis Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexis is a high quality motel with a classic garden setting - right in the heart of the city. Conveniently located near Otago University, Dunedin Public Hospital, Forsyth Barr Stadium, the Dunedin Railway Station, Otago Museum, and a wide array of exciting Dunedin attractions. Stroll a few blocks through the the city's café and restaurant scene towards the Octagon, browse our fashion precinct made famous by the I.D Fashion Show, or jump on a bus out to the St. Clair Esplanade. Alexis has a North facing, sunny outlook with a variety of room configurations from Studios through to one and two bedroom units, which will suit Solo travellers, Couples or Family groups. Robyn & John pride themselves on friendly, helpful hospitality, and clean comfortable units. After 10+ years of owning accommodation in Dunedin, Robyn & John have a wealth of local knowledge to share and can help you plan your day, arrange tours, or suggest an itinerary to optimize your visit if you need them to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alexis Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Motor Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing