We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dishonourable”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Alexis Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexis Motor Lodge
Ranked #5 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Quang Ngai, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dishonourable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Rather unfortunate that I never had the chance to stay here. Having said that, my first and only experience was of great disappointment.

It was unacceptable that the booking which I made, was not honoured as it was confirmed and paid for in full. If I was to cancel at short notice I surely would have either forfeited my payment or incur a cancellation charge and an administration fee.

Alexis Motor Lodge offered a smaller room for $100 more per night via a third party. Clearly this was not acceptable. I then waited for Alexis Motor Lodge to call me (as promised by third party) to discuss but to no avail. Alexis Motor Lodge did not call back, no satisfactory alternative accommodation was offered. I had to rebook my accommodation just 24 hours before arrival so options and prices were limited.

What has occurred with my booking with Alexis Motor Lodge is plainly unfair. Obviously Alexis Motor Lodge cannot be trusted to honour their bookings or supply satisfactory similar accommodation.

What you can expect are excuses by the bucket load.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbooo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    122
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
167
133
31
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savage, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I needed a place to stay while my husband was in the hospital due to an injury that occured while on vacation. My 10 day stay was conveniently located to everything I needed. Suggestions for things to do were so appreciated. Laundry and internet was a plus. Thank you for a safe clean place. You were great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete7469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Cosy motel, convenient and easy to find. The manager was the best we have encountered in our travels round the world and was friendly, helpful and had a great sense of humour - will certainly recommend him to everyone we know.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joni A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We needed a place to stay in Dunedin and this was the cheapest place left on a Queen's birthday weekend - not usually a good sign, but with five us just zipping down for the night, I wasn't going to be fussy. I was most pleasantly surprised. Absolutely fantastic location right smack downtown within very close walking distance of everything - excellent value - very nice and well appointed room with many unexpected extras. The staff went overboard to fix up the sofa bed for us. The only drawback was to the topography - the steepest street in Dunedin is Baldwin St - the Alexis carpark must be a close second. But this was pretty much the only complaint, and if you don't want to adventure up the carpark, you can always park in the street and put your climbing gear on. All in all, A+++

Room Tip: Two bedroom room was great for our family - on an end, at the top of the hill - very quiet and roomy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjvman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Large, spacious and comfortable studio - well appointed, well located and easy to find. Walking distance to the Octogon. And a manager who went more than the extra mile to assist travellers who really needed help in sorting out difficulties with another booking. We would come back any time, and recommend this Motor Lodge to anyone. Even an outdoor clothes line for our washing! Heaven for travellers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip_and_Honor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised when we checked into this hotel. There wasnt a lot of options in Dunedin for 2 bedroom hotels for 2 couples. Very tidy, and the guy running it was very friendly and liked to chat. He had some good recomendations and could not apologise enough for the noise coming from the pub/restaurant across the road. But I personally did not have a problem with the noise. Only down side was only one couch that 2 people could sit on.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniellesherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I have spent a month touring N.Z. we started in the South Island. We booked the Alexis motor lodge from the AA acommodation guide. It was a super place, walking distance to the beautiful city of Dunedin. It was one of the best stays we had while we were in N.Z. The staff are really friendly and helpfull nothing was too much trouble.The studio was really well appointed and very comfortable.
Shirley C

Room Tip: There was no fitness room or swimming pool but I am unable to remove the rating for the fitness cen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.1 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.9 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.2 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexis Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexis Motor Lodge

Property: Alexis Motor Lodge
Address: 475 George Street | North Dunedin, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alexis Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexis is a high quality motel with a classic garden setting - right in the heart of the city. Conveniently located near Otago University, Dunedin Public Hospital, Forsyth Barr Stadium, the Dunedin Railway Station, Otago Museum, and a wide array of exciting Dunedin attractions. Stroll a few blocks through the the city's café and restaurant scene towards the Octagon, browse our fashion precinct made famous by the I.D Fashion Show, or jump on a bus out to the St. Clair Esplanade. Alexis has a North facing, sunny outlook with a variety of room configurations from Studios through to one and two bedroom units, which will suit Solo travellers, Couples or Family groups. Robyn & John pride themselves on friendly, helpful hospitality, and clean comfortable units. After 10+ years of owning accommodation in Dunedin, Robyn & John have a wealth of local knowledge to share and can help you plan your day, arrange tours, or suggest an itinerary to optimize your visit if you need them to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexis Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Motor Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing