We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunedin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
858 George Street Motel
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
auckland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“World class”
Reviewed September 20, 2008

This is a truy wonderful motel, and I've stayed in all sorts of accommodation in all sorts of places. The exterior is attractive, well maintained and a good location. The rooms are spacious, modern, warm and welcoming.

The owners are just delightful - nothing was too much trouble. We asked for a rollaway bed (the daughter was very taken by the idea of escaping the cold flat, even if it meant sharing the room with the old man). The owners, while we were out, brought up an entire bed. Internet access was free, and everything was done with friendly charm.

Absolutely recommended.

  • Liked — the service from the owners, and the comfortable rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mashby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    34
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
65
111
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Beautiful rooms which are clean and well kept. We were four people and we rented both an upstairs and downstairs unit. The units shared a front door and so we basically had a two story room to use. Friendly staff who were also very helpful. We walked to the Ottago Museum in about 15 minutes. The Octagon is a much further walk and having a car, we drove. One of the best places that we stayed during our trip. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Beautiful, clean rooms.
  • Disliked — Distance from downtown.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhnstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights never having been to Dunedin before and were pleasantly suprised by both the accomodation and the city. We had a studio unit which was more than enough space for the two of us. The room was nicely decorated and well heated (unlike some places in New Zealand) and it was great to have facilities to make our own breakfast. George Street is a main road but the way the motel is set at right angles to it makes it quiet, we were never disturbed by traffic noise. It's a bit of a walk into town, 20 minutes or so but it's all in a straight line so you can't get lost. I had a few problems with an activity I'd booked and the hosts were very friendly and helpful to me. All this, a free guest laundry and the price was great too.

  • Liked — Felt like a home away from home
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2008

Our unit (number two) on the ground floor comprised a spacious sitting room with full kitchen facilities, a nice quiet bedroom and a huge bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated.

The motel is 1.8km or just over a mile from the centre of the Octagon. We didn't have a car, and the walk took us 25 minutes at a brisk pace. There are plenty of buses into town in the morning, but the service after becomes much less frequent after 6.30pm. If you're coming from town, catch any bus going towards Normanby, Pine Hill or Opaho.

858 George Street is close to the botanic gardens, which are well worth a visit. The University is also close at hand, with a pleasant walk to be found along the Water of Leith.

Our top dining tips are: Etrusco spaghettaria in the Savoy Building and Speights Ale House on Rattray Street.

  • Liked — Very comfortable
  • Disliked — 25 minute walk from town centre
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rentaquote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2008

This motel gave us one of the warmest welcomes we have had anywhere in the world - thank you, Sally and Michael. The accommodation is high class and excellent, scrupulously clean and offering beautiful surroundings. Were were even given the private garden and barbecue of the owners to use for our first evening meal! Within walking distance of the town and the botanical gardens. Easy parking. The owners were also able to give us excellent information about places to go and things to see.

  • Liked — The award winning architecture, the owners!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2007

My wife, brother-in-law and I spent 3 nights here, as our second stop on a tour of the South Island. We had a 2-storey house, with a huge open-plan lounge/dining area/kitchen downstairs, and two bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs. The house was spacious, clean, immaculately decorated and nicely furnished. The location was a good one, with plenty of restaurants a short walk away. Sally and Michael were exceptionally helpful, give detailed advice on what to see and where to eat. The price of $230/night was a bit more than we paid for other places in the South Island, but well worth it. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Lovely house, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing negative to say
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank james2anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2007

The 858 George Street Motel was our first stop on the south island of New Zealand, and we were extremely pleased with our two-night stay. When we arrived the gentleman at the front desk very cheerfully greeted us and after checking in and showing us to our room he provided several excellent suggestions for meals and activities during our stay in Dunedin. The room itself was quite nice, clean, and spacious. The bathroom was wonderful and the kitchenette (mini-fridge, plates/silverware, hotpot for tea water, and complimentary fresh milk/cream for the tea) was adequate. There was also a small but nice balcony with a table and chairs. The location for the 858 George Street Motel was wonderful for us. It was easy to get to by car, and the main part of town was a 15 minute walk directly down a main (and well-lit) street. Overall we felt that this was one of the best deals we got, the price was reasonable, the room was very nice, the location was good, and the hosts were wonderful!

  • Liked — Service from our host.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Tuhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.4 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
728 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.3 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
288 reviews
0.7 mi away
315 Euro Motel
315 Euro Motel
#19 of 61 in Dunedin
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 858 George Street Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 858 George Street Motel

Property: 858 George Street Motel
Address: 858 George Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
#4 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 858 George Street Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
858 George Street Hotel Dunedin
858 George Street Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing