We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A ROOM WITH A BREATHTAKING VIEW!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Esplanade Motel & Apartments
Ranked #21 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“A ROOM WITH A BREATHTAKING VIEW!!”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We travel both within NZ & internationally a lot and can only say we found Esplanade Motels a pleasure to stay in.
We were greeted with a very warm welcome from the owner and shown to our well appointed Sea View unit which had the most wonderful view of the St Kilda beach which is seriously only two steps across the road.
Our unit was spotlessly clean, had a very comfortable bed and good quality bed linen. Heaters in both the living area and the bedroom along with underfloor heating in the bathroom made it a very comfortable winter stay esp as the heaters are not on timers like so many places have now.
Fantastic to have a lockable garage per unit. - we have a large A6 Audi stationwagon which fitted in this garage!
Plenty of restaurants & cafes within metres but we can recommend the adjoining cafe Swell for the friendly service we received along with the amazing meal.
As usual five star travellers I can say we have paid well over double this in other parts of the world for the view alone!
A MUST STAY.

Room Tip: Ensure you book a beach front unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fifi66_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    22
    1
    2
    6
See reviews for
40
39
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I stayed here recently and my number one regret is that I did not read all the trip advisor reviews beforehand as I most definately would have avoided the place. I recommend all readers do exactly that and look elsewhere. This place is very run down and poorly presented. The first room we were expected to stay in reminded me of visiting my granny in her in her council flat. The only reason we did not go elsewhere is because they already had my card number and would charge me anyway. The place is at least 100% overpriced and when this was pointed out with actual examples of other places we had stayed considerably nicer for half the price, the owner started to talk about him not playing that game and they need to make money to keep the bank happy... he then suggested he was good value when compared to the flash brand new genuinely waterfront place down the road... laughable....
SG Christchurch.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawkes bay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

we tried to book for our family of five 'the beach house' aspect of this hotel. When we arrived instead of sea views we got shown to a 'dungeon' that was not at all renovated and had no windows and smelt like moth balls. I couldn't stay as felt so ill.The owners were deceiving and and we asked for something else, as they were going to take a night's deposit $240 whether we stayed or not, we were put in some equally dingy long stay apartments (smaller) and were charged the same ($70 NZD on TOP for a trundler bed for our 3rd child). When explaining our disappointment the owner was unwavering and clearly used to fleecing and bullying tourists out of their money. Felt so sad for Dunedin as this had potential to ruin our visit and left a very bitter taste.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tastyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandgate
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This is a magnificent Edwardian house that at some stage about 40 years ago has been cut up into holiday units. Although clean and tidy, the house has not been redecorated since then and the decor is due for a make over. At some later stage a row of holiday apartments has been built across the sea frontage, and from what we could see have quite good views, although it spoils the view from the house.

We were in the main house which is quite dark and a bit cavernous, not helped by the brick red internal colour scheme. On our first night in the middle of a NZ winter it was pretty cold but the second night was much warner even though we had switched off the lethal looking propane heater. The cold really made us appreciate the fireplace and electric blankets.

Although things like the kitchen and bathroom are very dated we actually really enjoyed staying here, I think because the old house has so much character. It is also in a good location close to restaurants, the sea, and not far out of the central city. Each unit has its own parking garage, but watch the concrete balls. It does have free wireless internet. Hopefully someday the old house will be renovated but in the meantime we found it comfortable with a nice sitting room and good beds including bunks for the kids, and would stay here again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jafdip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2009

Had a lovely time in NZ but The Esplanade Beach House, Dunedin was our only disappointment. On opening the house door, we were hit with a mouldy/musty smell throughout. The house's lounge and patio is overlooked by the nextdoor restaurant's outdoor patio which was full of people looking straight into the lounge providing no privacy and the noise was unbearable. The bathroom and kitchen were 1950's style. The garage we couldn't fit the car in and close the doors. No wardrobes anywhere just a small stand. My husband refused to stay and they demanded one night's payment which we paid and left.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DianeDisgusted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

As a New Zealander who travels around the country a lot this motel represents poor value for money - it's sole advantage is its beach front location in a 'metropolitan' area.
If you want anything other than a standard motel 'continental' breakfast (in New Zealand motel parlance this is generally supermarket toast, cereals and juice with DIY coffee/tea .....) you may have to wait until 09.00h. We were told the neighbouring restaurant would be open earlier (despite being 'associated with the motel) but they weren't and wouldn't accomodate us with breakfast (no one on duty who new how to make it !!)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enophil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2009

The cracking location aside (right on stunnng St Clair Beach!). The service from the family was excellent... from the moment I arrived I felt more like a friend coming to visit than a customer. They lived up every bit to my expectation of hearty Kiwi hospitality! Cheers!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikpayten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
2.4 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
3.4 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
7.5 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
3.0 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#8 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanade Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanade Motel & Apartments

Property: Esplanade Motel & Apartments
Address: 14 Esplanade | Saint Clair, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#13 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Esplanade Motel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esplanade Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Motel & Apartments Hotel Dunedin
Esplanade Motel And Apartments
Esplanade Hotel And Apartments
Esplanade Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing