We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin
Ranked #54 of 62 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this B&B for a weekend trip. The location was great and close to downtown and some good places to eat. We had a great view of the city and the owner was so helpful with giving us information and knowledge of the area. Our room had a spa and private bath, which was wonderful, but you could feel all the springs in the bed and it could use an upgrade. Otherwise we loved our stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deja E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 78 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Grandview is one of the oldest B&B's in New Zealand but is full of modern facilities you would expect from a 5 star hotel from WIFI internet, Guest Computer, Sauna, Spa bath and GYM plus your choice of lounges to sit and read I would say Grandview is a great base to stay when coming to Dunedin you wont be dissapointed with the friendly service or great all you can eat continental breakfast either in Dunedin I wont stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: The Grandview Room has the most spectacular view over the harbour and city its the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ss1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed here on the 10/6/13 - 13/6/13, my stay was wonderful and the host Trish was so helpful and cheerful. My bedroom was a four poster bed and had a spa bath, they only thing my room lacked was a desk or table area to work on my laptop. Breakfasts were yummy.

The location is excellent as well ;)

Room Tip: Bottom floor so you are close to the dining room - there is a stairs from the street down to the lau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I needed to book one night in Dunedin for a business trip & was fortunate to choose Grandview B&B.
Arriving late from Christchurch Simon was nice enough to wait up for me to show me around and make me feel at home.. also with leaving early the next morning he was able to prepare the continental breakfast earlier so I had a chance to eat before getting on the road.
All very much appreciated and I would highly recommend Grandview as a place to stay when in Dunedin.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lensflare_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

First and foremost this is a well run and very warm establishment ran by Simon, his wife Sara, as well as his mother Trish. They also have a delightful girl right now at the toddler stage. The view at the Grandview honeymoon suite, where we stayed, was nothing short of spectacular. It also included a fine bed, spa, and updated period furnishing.

Breakfast consisted of cereal, toast, fresh fruit, yogurt, and crumpets. We got great guidance on local attractions and were made to feel truly welcome in their home. You won't find a better deal anywhere for value and quality. John and Carolyn Falmouth, ME USA

Room Tip: The grandview room is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjriley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We booked Grandview months ago from Canada, but when we arrived I evidently did NOT note on the booking that we had a shared bathroom....an impossibilty from my wife's point-of-view. Simon, a truly caring fellow allowed that we were not bound by our reservation and offered to find another possibility in Dunedin that would"make you probable one-time stay in Dunedin a pleasant and memorable experience"
He found such, while easing a tense situation with a "cuppa"...a delightful substitution not scant blocks away. at a comparable cost!

Simon was not the least concerned that he had lost several nights lodging, but gained our enduring gratitude. What a Kiwi!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Theo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Grandview Bed and Breakfast in Dunedin will not disapoint you, but it will not blow you away.

Unless you have a car, the location is not optimal. The street is a very steep upward slope, you are going to struggle if you have to walk up there with luggages.

The view is great, there is a fully equiped kitchen, the hosts are friendly but there is nothing that shine in that place.

The breakfast could do with more fresh fruits. They do not serve a cooked breakfast, not a problem but the buffet gives you the impression that they are trying to save money with it.

A nice decent place, but not a highlight.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.3 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 61 in Dunedin
450 reviews
6.9 mi away
Bella Vista Mosgiel Motel
8.2 mi away
Portobello Motel
Portobello Motel
#1 of 2 in Portobello
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
637 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
746 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin

Address: 360 High Street | City Rise, Dunedin 9001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range: $76 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grandview is one of Dunedin's oldest listed Mansions dating back to the 1850's. Open to guests for a lovely Bed and Breakfast accommodation with amazing views and the charm of Dunedin's heritage. Just a short stroll to the Dunedin City Centre, Cafes, Restaurants and Bars, this makes Grandview Bed and Breakfast a convenient location for guests we are just 500 mtrs up High St from the Dunedin Casino. Grandview has many features you wont find in your average B&B from our Sports Lounge with Satellite TV to watch sporting events from around the world, Dining Room, Kitchen & Laundry facilities, Sauna, Wi-Fi, Large Deck with BBQ & Stunning Views, Internet & Office facilities, are just of what makes Grandview unique. Grandview Bed and Breakfast is owned and operated by Steve & Irene. We look forward to meeting all guests whether the occasion is holiday, business or something special, we will always try our best to give you a homely and pleasurable experience. From Luxury Spa Suites to Queen rooms we strive to meet the needs of our valued guests. We endeavour to make your stay with us enjoyable and comfortable and hope that you will leave as friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grandview Bed Breakfast Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing