We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B and B in Dunedin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Claremont House Dunedin - NZ
Ranked #12 of 59 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Aussie
Level Contributor
343 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Best B and B in Dunedin”
Reviewed May 12, 2009

When you arrive at Claremont House, you can only marvel at its history dating back to 1908 as you look up at this gracious building. See if you can get the room at the top with the most wonderful views over the hills and coast of Dunedin.

Ingrid and Adrian are wonderful hosts and Adrian will happily stop to have a chat with you and tell you the history of Claremont House as well as their hard work to restore it to its original splendour. There are nice old artefacts right through Claremont House and the breakfast room is a bright cheery place to discuss your travels.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the hosts will happily give you their inside knowledge on where to eat and what to see in Dunedin, including the world's steepest residential street! Dunedin is a pretty town and it's worth a visit to the central Octagon area to see the Authors' walk and the statue of Robbie Burns overlooking the city.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manager_Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claremonthouse, Owner at Claremont House Dunedin - NZ, responded to this review, July 7, 2009
Thank you for your kind words.
Over the past 5 years we have met 4987 of the most interesting and pleasant people from around the world.
Our guests have come from Russia and Norway to South Africa and Argentina.
Thank you to you all for choosing Claremont House on your trip, you have made our time here very enjoyable.
It is with great reluctance we have decided to cease the B&B and offer Claremont House for sale due to illness. We are now planning to do some travelling of our own.
Please, do continue to include Dunedin when travelling to New Zealand, it is a great place to spend some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    6
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
15
33
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
1,394 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,322 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in the Red Suite and cannot speak highly enough of this beautiful B&B. It is in a lovely area of Dunedin full of character houses, about a 10 walk to the Octagon. The Red Suite is beautifully decorated with antique pieces and is incredibly spacious. The views from the bedroom are amazing. The best part of the B&B is the wonderful service provided by Adrian and Ingrid. The breakfast was wonderful with freshly baked items. They also provided a lovely wine and light supper platter in the afternoon, which was a very nice touch. We will always have this B&B on the top of our list if we return to Dunedin. Excellent hosts and a very comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Belgo96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2009

Thanks Adrian and Ingrid for a most pleasant stay. We were blown away by the beautiful house, the rooms are very spacious, beds comfortable and the surrounding area quiet and peaceful. This has to be the most beautiful bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in. We loved all the little extras. Just perfect. :-)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoseAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2009

The house was absolutely amazing, the views from our top room were exquisite. The whole atmosphere was warming and comforting, a very unique experience in such a traditional scottisch styled interior. The hosts were very welcoming and helpful. A must for anyone visiting Dunedin, we only stayed 2 nights, but next time will definitely be longer...

  • Liked — The style and views of the house and the hosts
  • Disliked — The weather
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TimNCasifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

Stayed one night on a rushed trip through the South Island. This house is beautiful and the owners were fantastic. Very helpful with local advice. The room we had was massive with views. It is located a short walk out of town but the return trip is uphill so be prepared for a workout. Town is fantastic with all types of restaurants, pubs, casino and whatever else you need. Overall wish I had of stayed for three nights and I found this house to reasonable priced and of a high standard.

  • Liked — Very large and owners nice and helpful
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank headinajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onchan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2008

As we would be celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversary whilst in Dunedin, we wanted somewhere special. We were not disappointed with Claremont House. The accommodation is marketed as a 'boutique' bed and breakfast and it is fair to say that, unlike other accommodation marketed as such in New Zealand, this place was definitely of high standard.
Adrian and Ingrid were superb hosts. They made our stay extremely enjoyable.
We booked the Red room, which has its own lounge room and balcony. The bedroom is up some stairs in the turret of the Victorian house. The 360% views over Dunedin are to die for, especially at sun rise.
On our actual anniversary we were presented with a bottle of bubbly and glasses to enjoy at our leisure!

Breakfast was excellent, giving great choice and never ending coffee and tea! We enjoyed smoked salmon and poached eggs, as well as beautiful fresh fruit every day. On our last day we were due to get a taxi to the airport at 6am so said that we would not require breakfast. Ingrid and Adrian insisted that they provide at least something for us to eat before travelling, and a small table was waiting for us when we went downstairs.
It truly was an excellent place to spend our special anniversary.

  • Liked — Superb hosts!
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wynn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2008

Ingrid and Adrian are the ideal B&B hosts. They are welcoming, warm and attentive and give the impression that they really love running a B&B and meeting all the guests. The home is an immaculate restored "grand old" house. We were in the suite with the turret bedroom - marvellous views of Dunedin and the harbour. Breakfasts are something special to look forward to each morning, - tea, cofee and home made cookies are available most of the day (plus sweets jars), and around 4pm a couple of fresh bottles of wine are put out to sample with a plate of cheese and biscuits - all included. Definately not to be missed if you are in the area.

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — Coudn't find fault
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank haggischomper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.6 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.9 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.3 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#8 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.8 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.7 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremont House Dunedin - NZ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremont House Dunedin - NZ

Property: Claremont House Dunedin - NZ
Address: 24 Melrose Street | Roslyn, Dunedin 9010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Claremont House Dunedin - NZ 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claremont House is a private guesthouse with the homely, comfortable feel of a bed & breakfast, and the privacy of a boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Claremont House Dunedin - NZ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claremont House Dunedin - Nz Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing