We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for money and very nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #21 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Value for money and very nice staff”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Good points
- big room
- newly refurbished bathroom
- beside police station, count down, new world AND Cadbury factory
- 2 blocks from Wall street.. ( Shopping center )
- good value for money
- free wifi in the lounge area
- very accommodating staff.. ( special mention to Rachel and Ben)
- I appreciate the rubber mat for the bath tub

Not so good points
- a bit out dated
- can improve lights in the rooms
- TV is a bit small

Over all, I loved my stay! Will definitely stay again!=)

Room Tip: When booking always indicate that you want a bathtub and balcony if you want them... Asking a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aetramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevictoriahoteldud, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Aetramos

Thank you very much for choosing The Victoria Hotel Dunedin and we definitely will continue to improve our facility and services, which has been the case for the past 3 years. For example, we have recently upgraded a few rooms with the king size beds. I am sure that you will see the differences on your next trip staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    91
    43
    11
    2
See reviews for
70
80
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel is a little bit run down and worn looking. The receptionist when we checked in was great, but the receptionist the next day was unhelpful, had no knowledge of the city and barley spoke English. We asked for directions to the settler’s museum and she didn’t know what or where it was, we asked if there was any information in the form of a brochure she said no, but we found it when we looked ourselves in the lobby, very strange to have someone who had been given no training in customer services to be left alone at the reception. No internet in rooms as advertised, it only works in the lobby. Although the bathrooms look nice the shower pressure is so low that it’s unusable. We stayed 3 nights and couldn’t wait to get home for a shower; it was more effective to wash in the sink, which is horrible. Apart from the central location and comfortable bed I don’t have much else that’s positive to say, would not go back. We told the receptionist upon leaving our complaints and the responce was- 'yeah everyone complains about those things?!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolAsneddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevictoriahoteldud, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Carol

I am very sorry to hear about your trouble with the shower. In fact I had heard about this on your first or second day and had instructed the receptionist to swap a room with you when they had the chance to see or call you. Unfortunately it seems they had missed you. Otherwise you would be able to enjoy the good shower during your rest of the stays. There are only one or two rooms on the end of 4th floor having the weak shower pressure due to high floor. Our plumber has come up with some solutions recently and is going to try them out shortly.

As for the receptionist you had encountered during your check out, she was the part time receptionist on training and there was also a senior trainer with her. Unfortunately the senior trainer may just be away helping the restaurant at that time and therefore the service was not satisfactory. As we have been focusing on our service with a good team now, I am both disappointed and feeling sorry to hear about this service issue, and will definitely train the new staffs with more effort to make sure that the service level is up to our high standard.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing The Victoria Hotel Dunedin and we will continue to improve until all the guests are satisfied. I am looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

First impression was clean and tidy. Reception was clean and smart. Got out of lift and then saw old worn out hallway. Opened door and room was old and smelled of cigarette smoke. Room was nothing like picture on website. Bathroom was best part of stay. Could smell cigarette smoke coming into room from god knows where...
Very disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask to view room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevictoriahoteldud, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Chris

I am sorry to hear that you had the smoke smell coming into your room. We are a non-smoking hotel and provide the smoking space outside of the rooms, but sometimes the guests, especially from overseas, still tries to smoke in the room and we try out best to stop this from happening. Please let us know if you have found any smoking smells and we would be more than happy to swap a room for you while asking the other guests not to smoke inside the building.
As for the rooms, we have already upgraded almost all of our bathrooms and planning to further refurbish our rooms in the near future.
Thank you again for staying with us and looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stay here one night when we had to travel to Dunedin earlier than expected due to the severe weather warnings.

We got a good last minute rate on Expedia. Check in was quick and easy. The room was a standard room with a queen and single bed. The room was a little dated, but was clean and spacious. The bed was great and allowed for a good nights sleep. The bathroom was clean with a shower over the bath arrangement.

We had the continental breakfast the next morning and costs $18.00 p/p. Whilst it was okay I probably wouldn't have breakfast there again.

Car parking is complementary, but again you have to be in quick because they go rather quickly.

The hotel is centrally located and the shops, restaurant and supermarkets are only a short walk.

Overall how stay was okay and we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Had a rushed trip to Dunedin so stayed in a different place each night. This one was one of the best. Big clean room, built over a Nandos, free parking, close to shopping centre, city centre and hospital. Even got to chat to some lovely cleaners in the lifts and get some local knowledge! Nice and quiet - thought we may have been able to hear the helicopters landing at the hospital but nothing!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and had doors that opened up facing the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_and_Trev0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice and close to hospital and I could leave my car there without having to worry about finding parking. Warm & clean rooms on a stormy weekend
Wifi not good in rooms and had to be connected by cable (just not used to this nowadays)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmy12_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Booked through airnz in the "newly built" 2 bedroom penthouse. Not at all what was advertised. One ok bedroom and one cupboard with a bed in it. Not even room for a bedside table! Lights didn't work, mould on the doors. Staff were nice but really disappointed with the room and even when I told the staff they just said sorry, no discount nothing. Also room only had stair access which was no good for my mum how had a bad knee but nothing in the booking notes about that. If you want cheap and cheerful stear clear. If you want cheap and poor quality, make a booking now !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4youngever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevictoriahoteldud, Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear 4youngever

Our Penthouse was completed in 2011 while the hotel itself has the history of more than 25 years. The Penthouse is located on the very top of the hotel, which is the only one room on the 5th floor with great privacy and view. Unfortunately the lift only goes up to the 4th floor and if the guests need any help of the luggages, we will be glad to help. As for the disabled guests, we do have the disabled units on our second floor with disabled access and bathrooms.
I apologise that the light was not working and the door was mouldy. Our maintenance had immediately changed the light tube after we found the problem and we had also instructed the housekeepers to clean up the mouldy area with more care in the future.
Thank you very much for pointing out those issues and we will certainly continue to improve on both of our hotel facilities and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#41 of 61 in Dunedin
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 61 in Dunedin
751 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#24 of 61 in Dunedin
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.5 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel Dunedin

Property: The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Address: 137 St Andrew Street | PO Box 5737, Dunedin 9011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Victoria Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kia ora, Welcome to the Victoria Hotel Dunedin. Our hotel is located in the heart of Central Dunedin, minutes walk away from the city's attractions, shops and businesses. This makes our Hotel the perfect base for the family getaway, the shopping spree or the corporate traveler. At the Victoria Hotel you can expect a warm welcome, a comfortable stay and an excellent location. We take pride in the level of service we offer and are dedicated to going the extra mile for our guests. Our reception desk is open 24/7. We have rooms suitable for 1- 5 people, with a range of bedding configurations and amenities, all with newly renovated bathrooms, plus a free car park per room. There is also a guest laundry facility available. We are also highly experienced in group bookings and function catering for weddings, meetings and expos. When you come to stay at The Victoria Hotel you have two restaurants to choose from, both of which offer room service at no extra cost. You can also relax in our Lounge Bar and make use of the Wi-fi we offer in the bar area free of charge. For modern New Zealand cuisine, you can come to our Well Manor restaurant for Breakfast between 7-10am and Dinner from 6-8pm 7 days a week, or you may like to spice it up with some Flame Grilled Peri-Peri Chicken at our Nando's Restaurant from 11am-9pm every day. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Victoria Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunedin
Dunedin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing