We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to hospital”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #22 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Close to hospital”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice and close to hospital and I could leave my car there without having to worry about finding parking. Warm & clean rooms on a stormy weekend
Wifi not good in rooms and had to be connected by cable (just not used to this nowadays)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmy12_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    89
    42
    11
    2
See reviews for
68
78
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Booked through airnz in the "newly built" 2 bedroom penthouse. Not at all what was advertised. One ok bedroom and one cupboard with a bed in it. Not even room for a bedside table! Lights didn't work, mould on the doors. Staff were nice but really disappointed with the room and even when I told the staff they just said sorry, no discount nothing. Also room only had stair access which was no good for my mum how had a bad knee but nothing in the booking notes about that. If you want cheap and cheerful stear clear. If you want cheap and poor quality, make a booking now !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4youngever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevictoriahoteldud, Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear 4youngever

Our Penthouse was completed in 2011 while the hotel itself has the history of more than 25 years. The Penthouse is located on the very top of the hotel, which is the only one room on the 5th floor with great privacy and view. Unfortunately the lift only goes up to the 4th floor and if the guests need any help of the luggages, we will be glad to help. As for the disabled guests, we do have the disabled units on our second floor with disabled access and bathrooms.
I apologise that the light was not working and the door was mouldy. Our maintenance had immediately changed the light tube after we found the problem and we had also instructed the housekeepers to clean up the mouldy area with more care in the future.
Thank you very much for pointing out those issues and we will certainly continue to improve on both of our hotel facilities and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Appearance is a little dated. Hotel close to Octagon (city centre), although you have to walk through a little dodgy area to get there. Across the street from Cadbury Factory! Hmm chocolate. Friendly staff and a decent price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSassafrassquatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed 3 nights on a good deal over Easter. Large comfortable, clean room. Nicely decorated. Staff friendly & professional. Free internet in room. Laundry area spotless. Centrally located to Octagon, supermarkets and local attractions. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrienne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed with my sister in room 108 on the 12 Feb 2013.
Great water pressure, large spacey room.
Room had thick dust (several weeks worth) on top of the wall attached headboard and top of tv which caused me to have asthma attack during the night.
Complaint made to general manager on check out but know apology or reply given from him.
We also found recycled paper used in the information folder in our room, this contained information (name, date, room number and costs) on previous guests and wage details on two workers from The Victoria.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simpsond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevictoriahoteldud, Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Simpsond

Thank you for staying with The Victoria Hotel Dunedin and I am sorry to heard that the dust from the room had caused you the trouble for the night. As you mentioned that you stayed with us in the early Feb this year, we were finishing the last few rooms of our bathroom renovation during that period and that would be the caused of the extra dust in the room. However, it was totally our fault that the housekeepers did not clean up the dust on those two spots before your check in. I will definitely review this with our housekeeping department.

As for the recycled papers used in the information folder, I believe it would be the careless mistake made by our staff who print those copies, and I will immediately replace those papers with new ones. Thank you for informing us and I am looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

It is next door to Cadbury Chocolate factory. Supermarket is just round the corner. Good free wifi at the lobby. Clean room and toilet/bathroom. Mattress is a little on the soft side. A few minutes walk to the city/Octagon. Staff at reception friendly and helpful. Walk to Botanic Gardens is about 25-30 minutes and in between is Otago University. Intercity Coach terminal is just behind this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yim1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gore, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We often stay at the Victoria when we are in Dunedin. It is good value for money and is close to town with off street parking. The complex is always very clean and tidy, and the staff are always amazing! If you aren't used to road noise, the one-way roading system could be a little disruptice, but none the less we would recommend anyone staying here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
722 reviews
0.5 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.5 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel Dunedin

Property: The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Address: 137 St Andrew Street | PO Box 5737, Dunedin 9011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Victoria Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kia ora, Welcome to the Victoria Hotel Dunedin. Our hotel is located in the heart of Central Dunedin, minutes walk away from the city's attractions, shops and businesses. This makes our Hotel the perfect base for the family getaway, the shopping spree or the corporate traveler. At the Victoria Hotel you can expect a warm welcome, a comfortable stay and an excellent location. We take pride in the level of service we offer and are dedicated to going the extra mile for our guests. Our reception desk is open 24/7. We have rooms suitable for 1- 5 people, with a range of bedding configurations and amenities, all with newly renovated bathrooms, plus a free car park per room. There is also a guest laundry facility available. We are also highly experienced in group bookings and function catering for weddings, meetings and expos. When you come to stay at The Victoria Hotel you have two restaurants to choose from, both of which offer room service at no extra cost. You can also relax in our Lounge Bar and make use of the Wi-fi we offer in the bar area free of charge. For modern New Zealand cuisine, you can come to our Well Manor restaurant for Breakfast between 7-10am and Dinner from 6-8pm 7 days a week, or you may like to spice it up with some Flame Grilled Peri-Peri Chicken at our Nando's Restaurant from 11am-9pm every day. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your The Victoria Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunedin
Dunedin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing