We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #20 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The Hotel is in a good location - very close to Intercity Bus stop, Railway Station and shops. The room was "average" - a bit dingy really - we obviously didn't have one of the refurbished rooms! The hotel is undergoing renovations - unfortunately in the room next to ours, so there was alot of building noise going on. The staff were very helpful. The breakfast is overpriced!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished one away from building noise
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pasqualie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 251 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

Fantastic location close to shops and attractions. We stayed in the Penthouse (sounds grand, but in fact a two bedroom suite on top floor with good space and facilities, including a small kitchen, dining area and lounge. The hotel is still being renovated so specify a refurbished room. This is not a modern chrome and stainless steel modern hotel, but is more than comfortable and the staff are fantastic (Ben on the front desk deserves a special mention). The beds deserve a mention as giving a great night's sleep. Plenty of off-street parking and two dining options on-site. The wireless internet was not reliable while we stayed (4 nights) but the staff quickly found us a cable and gave us complimentary wired broadband for our stay. I am sure they will sort the wireless quickly - that is the sort of place it is.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room and also away from road side, which can be a little noisy.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bloom_New_Zealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevictoriahoteldud, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Murdoch-James

I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin.
We believe that service is the most important key part of the hospitality industry and we always try our best to deliver what we can offer. We love to see the happy faces from our guests!

i am sorry to hear that you had the trouble with the wireless connection. It has been funny that some people can receive the wireless smoothly while some others have the trouble of receiving it.
We will certainly soon try to find out the problem with the wireless and fix it in order to provide a better service to our guests.

Thank you again for choosing The Victoria Hotel and I am looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Management of The Victoria Hotel Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel is in a great location - close the the central downtown and Cadbury. Parking lot was tight - we got the last spot.

The room was definitely dated, but the hotel was undergoing renovations, so maybe it will be updated. The carpet and bedding were old, one small plug-in space heater, the bathroom was the worst. Toilet needed 2 flushes and still did not take everything. the bathroom just needed to be stripped down and re-done. It was all bad. The price was right and location central.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The Thirteenth Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thevictoriahoteldud, Owner at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear The Thirteenth Traveler

Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciated your comments.

Yes, we have been undergoing the hotel renovation for the past 2 years. The new lift had been installed, new hotel units being built (Kitchen Units and Penthouse), both reception and restaurant were newly renovated, and the bathrooms were upgraded. However, we have only finished two thirds of the bathrooms so far and I believe the one you had stayed would be one of the original ones. As we can only do 3 rooms at a time, we are aiming to finish all of them by early next year.

If you have the chance to come back to stay with us again, please let us know in advance and we will certainly allocate you to one of the rooms with the new bathrooms (all bathrooms may be done by then) I am sure you will be pleased by the new ones. We have also newly opened the Nandos Restaurant at the hotel site, which means you will be able to have Nandos as the room service as well throughout the day!

Kind regards
Management of The Victoria Hotel Dunedin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed at The Victoria for one night while passing though Dunedin, on my way to Christchurch. The location is ideal and the hotel is definitely more than meets the eye from the outside. The front desk were lovely, really nice and attentive. The food and bar were really good as well. The rooms are so big and the bed had great linens, a down comforter, and a comfy mattress.

I recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We found this hotel easy to find and in the center of the city, close to the Cadbury Factory, Octagon and the Speights Brewery, all a must see when in Dunedin!
The Hotel is not the most modern but our LARGE room had everything we required and an up to date bathroom, very nice... Also a good amount of off street parking.
Staff were friendly and we had an easy online booking through Travelbug.
We paid just under one hundred dollars for one night and would stay again...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusaBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Good location including parking. Easy walk to all the main attractions/shops in Dunedin. Rooms basic and tired around the edges but essentially comfortable, clean and functional. Heaters kept us cosy. Did the job.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splodgeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Smack bang in the middle of Dunedin, this hotel is great value for money. Spacious room, balcony doors for fresh air and a bathroom with bath tub made for a little bit of luxury at a great price. Service was always friendly and helpful, and the room was immaculately clean. WiFi was expensive though.

For people of size - nice big bathroom with a big tub, and a spacious room.

Room Tip: Level 3 was very quiet, and my room was lovely and spacious.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatHeffalump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
764 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#40 of 61 in Dunedin
387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.5 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.6 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel Dunedin

Address: 137 St Andrew Street | PO Box 5737, Dunedin 9011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: $85 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Victoria Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kia ora, Welcome to the Victoria Hotel Dunedin. Our hotel is located in the heart of Central Dunedin, minutes walk away from the city's attractions, shops and businesses. At the Victoria Hotel you can expect a warm welcome, a comfortable stay and an excellent location. We take pride in the level of service we offer and are dedicated to going the extra mile for our guests. Our reception desk is open 24/7. When you come to stay at The Victoria Hotel you have two restaurants to choose from, both of which offer room service at no extra cost. You can also relax in our Lounge Bar and make use of the Wi-fi we offer in the bar area free of charge. For modern New Zealand cuisine, you can come to our Well Manor restaurant for Breakfast between 7-10am and Dinner from 6-8pm 7 days a week, or you may like to spice it up with some Flame Grilled Peri-Peri Chicken at our Nando's Restaurant from 11am-9pm every day. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your The Victoria Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunedin
Dunedin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing