We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious, Comfortable and Central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Ranked #19 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious, Comfortable and Central”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Smack bang in the middle of Dunedin, this hotel is great value for money. Spacious room, balcony doors for fresh air and a bathroom with bath tub made for a little bit of luxury at a great price. Service was always friendly and helpful, and the room was immaculately clean. WiFi was expensive though.

For people of size - nice big bathroom with a big tub, and a spacious room.

Room Tip: Level 3 was very quiet, and my room was lovely and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FatHeffalump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    88
    38
    10
    2
See reviews for
67
76
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The bathroom had been done up pity, you couldn't swing a cat in there.Stayed on the second floor unfortunately there was the penthouse above and all you could here were people stomping around.So won't be back to this one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank downunder66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here as a part of a study abroad group the first several days of our course which took place on the South Island. The hotel is very quiet overall, which is nice! My room was spacious with a comfortable bed, bathroom and great shower. The location is fantastic as it is in the heart of downtown Dunedin and close to shopping, restaurants and "The Octagon" which has lots of cafes, restaurants and the like. It was an easy walk to the University and we were close to the historic train station and the Cadbury Factory.

Our group had a continental breakfast each morning which was delicious and their coffee was very good as well. Overall it was an excellent stay. I especially appreciated Joe, the night manager who found out I liked the paper and went the extra mile to put one outside of the door to my room. Leo and another young gal were also superb. The chef and kitchen/bar staff were great too. Super nice staff!

Room Tip: rooms on higher floors will probably be warmer in the winter as they do not have any central heating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Great Location and good Value. Room was clean and had new bathroom.Hotel is right next to cadbury factory and Our Room was facing main road and heard nothing very quiet rooms. Staff very friendly and very helpful and breakfast was very Good for the Money This Hotel is Good Value for your Money First visit to Dunedin and would deffo stop there again. Thanks

Room Tip: Facing main Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichieC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Key feature of this is the super central location within walking distance of everything you may need including Museum, Cadbury's, 2 supermarkets, Octagon etc. Nothing special. We stayed in the optimistically-named 2 bedroom penthouse which has been relatively recently built on the top of the building. Very odd design I thought with a big bathroom and main bedroom but tiny lounge and second room. One rubbish bin for the whole unit and no bedside lights in the bedrooms ie the main light on or nothing! Also we were told it would cost $25 for 24 hour internet access which sounds ludicrous given we can just get a SIM from Vodafone for $20 which lasts a month!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mares71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We booked a 2 bedroom penthouse on the 5th floor but oddly, there was no direct lift access so we had to carry our luggages on small flight of stairs.

TV was huge and plenty of channels. Bathroom was big and spacious, so were the bedrooms.

Convenient location as it's opposite Cadbury World if you're up for a chocolate tour. It's a comfortable stroll to New World supermarket if you need groceries to cook and a 15 minute walk to the city centre with shops and Meridien shopping mall (civilisation after travelling from Te anau/Milford Sound!)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadyne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I found this hotel had a friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, and a great location. I often asked the staff questions about public transport and directions and they were very helpful and patient. The rooms were immaculate during our 5 day stay, and it is in a centralized location from the octagon, otago museum, and Cadbury. The floors are thin. I had no problems but if you're a light sleeper I'd recommend asking for the top floor.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cloud_surfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel on York
Motel on York
#23 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wains Hotel Dunedin
Wains Hotel Dunedin
#42 of 57 in Dunedin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#10 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel Dunedin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel Dunedin

Property: The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Address: 137 St Andrew Street | PO Box 5737, Dunedin 9011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Family Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Victoria Hotel Dunedin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kia ora, Welcome to the Victoria Hotel Dunedin. Our hotel is located in the heart of Central Dunedin, minutes walk away from the city's attractions, shops and businesses. This makes our Hotel the perfect base for the family getaway, the shopping spree or the corporate traveler. At the Victoria Hotel you can expect a warm welcome, a comfortable stay and an excellent location. We take pride in the level of service we offer and are dedicated to going the extra mile for our guests. Our reception desk is open 24/7. We have rooms suitable for 1- 5 people, with a range of bedding configurations and amenities, all with newly renovated bathrooms, plus a free car park per room. There is also a guest laundry facility available. We are also highly experienced in group bookings and function catering for weddings, meetings and expos. When you come to stay at The Victoria Hotel you have two restaurants to choose from, both of which offer room service at no extra cost. You can also relax in our Lounge Bar and make use of the Wi-fi we offer in the bar area free of charge. For modern New Zealand cuisine, you can come to our Well Manor restaurant for Breakfast between 7-10am and Dinner from 6-8pm 7 days a week, or you may like to spice it up with some Flame Grilled Peri-Peri Chicken at our Nando's Restaurant from 11am-9pm every day. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Victoria Hotel Dunedin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunedin
Dunedin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing