We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Bigger, better

We took this tour several years ago and in spite of really bad weather we thoroughly enjoyed it... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
AnnZ857
,
Carrboro, North Carolina
Great 7 hr afternoon trip

Tour by small minibus ca 10 people. The driver gave an almost constant comentary on the outward... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Paul B
via mobile
Read all 963 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Dunedin
from $105.97
More Info
Reviews (963)
Filter reviews
963 results
Traveler rating
867
84
8
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
867
84
8
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fur seals otago peninsula monarch cruise bird life animals albatross conservation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 963 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2018

Super tour yesterday with Elm. Small bus of around 12 people, and it wasn't full no we were only 8. Even if the weather was not really good, we saw a several albatros, and other bird, a loooot of fur seals and sea lions from really close, some yellow eyed pingouins and even an orca !! Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable and seemed really happy to share with us about all those animals. I enjoyed this day !

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank laurafernandez09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 28, 2018 via mobile

There were 12 passengers for Elms Wildlife Tour. It was great in many ways: (1) Comprehensive tour as stated in the web. (2) Warren our driver and guide was quite knowledgable. (3) When he had to pick up one couple at the castle, but that couple didn’t show up and the couple couldn’t be contacted either, he patiently searched for them at the receptionist, contacting his boss many times, circlening the large castle several times before leaving without them about half an hour later than the agreed time. (4) The couple finally contacted the company, they waited in front of the lodge rather than in front of the castle. The company used another car to send the couple so they could join us at Albatross Centre. (5) Warren was quite patience in explaining and answering all our questions, searching for and stopping by at different places where he could show us various wildlife all along the way (6) It has the option of Life Tour for those who have some challenges for climbing and going down lots of stairs to see penguins, sea lions etc in their natural habitats. (7) They provided free hotel transfers. (8) The cost was reasonable.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Andriani_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 20, 2018

This is an excellent wildlife tour - Tony the guide is clearly passionate about the conservation work they do to provide habitats for the wildlife. You will get very close to the seals (on the rocks) and the sea lions (on the beach) - watching them play together is a joy, especially when within a few feet of you, but knowing that this is all natural and not staged it is even better. We also saw two types of penguins, again very close, each seemingly had its own character and who knew they were such good climbers. Unfortunately the albatrosses did not want to play on our visit, with only a couple of fleeting glimpses but you cant control these things and still keep it natural and the others made up it. This should be on your must do list - and make sure you do a tour rather than just driving yourself around the penisula, as the tour takes you to places off limits to the public and comes with the guidance to make the most of your time in this area.

Date of experience: November 2018
2  Thank NewtonAbbotMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 12, 2018 via mobile

All the reviews are true. This is the greatest tour. We had Donna, Tony and Eric. They picked us up from the I-site in the octagon at 3pm sharp. Headed up to the albatross site. Saw 1 albatross coming back and forth to gain altitude.

Next went to a private cliff to view sea lions and fur seals. Amazing. Lots of 1 year old pups.

Lastly, went to the beach to see the yellow eyed penguins. Elms wildlife has a great partnership with the land owners in able to access this beach. Elms also built up the landscape so the penguins feel protected and can nest.

We saw about 12 yellow eyed penguins. A few were only a few feet away from us. So awesome. We also saw a bunch of seals up close. Also saw a leopard seal! On the way out, we got to see 2 blue penguins nesting in a burrow.

Tour took 6 hours. Make sure to go to the restroom at the albatross center. No other restroom stops after. Bring water and snacks. You can eat on the bus.

2  Thank DrWasabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 11, 2018

We had a great experience! Small group, close up experience while being respectful to the animals. Would 100% recommend this tour and tour company. Our tour guide was fantastic!

Date of experience: September 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Departure52047071499
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews