We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in a good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Breckenridge, CO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in a good location.”
Reviewed June 3, 2010

We originally wanted to stay in the Quest hotel in Dunedin, but they were sold out and recommended the Scenic hotel. The room rate was a touch higher than we wanted, but overall it was a nice, clean, and comfortable stay. You do have to pay for valet parking which is a downside. The cafe next door (The Black Dog Cafe) is great!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCWCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    327
    106
    22
    14
See reviews for
123
289
38
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
ZURICH
Level Contributor
212 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

Rooms are okay

Staff is sometimes rude and not helpful.

Check out is as early as 10 am!

Internet is unbelivable expensive --- You pay NZD 33.69 for 24 hour access with a very low data limit of 100 MB --- that`s a compleate rip off ---

I won`t stay at any Scenic Hotel again!

There`s gonna be a better hotel in Dunedin!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIMMYDEFARGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
182 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2009

A good night's sleep in a room with a view of the harbour, and a table with two chairs in the window. A good touch when so many hotel rooms really only expect one guest to need a chair!

Nice bathroom, nice toiletries, wonderfully central location (though that's not saying much in a town the size of Dunedin!). Plenty of restaurants around so we didn't try the hotel catering - but it was the day of degree presentations and many of the restaurants were fully booked, so we enjoyed a takeaway in the room.

I was surprised by the ability to enter and leave the hotel without passing reception. That seems quite common in New Zealand - where I suppose they are less worried about security than we would be in London.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olderromantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2009

We stayed for two nights while travelling around New Zealand with our two young boys. Theis hotel room was very spacious with room for the kids to spread otu there toys and plenty of space for baggage. We had a harbour view room, however, this did mean you had to look out the window to the right to see the harbour. There was a bit of noise from the park of a night, but that was hardly the hotel's fault. The location was excellent, with a short walk to the Octagon, Casino (should you wish), Dunedin Train Station, Cadbury world and many local restaurants. Once the car was way for the evening there was no need to get it out. Just be aware, that carparking is Valet and will cost an additional $10 a day on your room rate. We got the room for about NZD150 per night, which was good value for the size and location. Overall our stay at Scenic Circle was very good.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARKHAM
Level Contributor
758 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 607 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2009

Rooms were large but too cool in the spring. Clean but utilitarian. Service was slow and had to be encouraged. Checkout is at 10AM (with several reminder calls and lots of service noise outside your room) and check-in not till late afternoon. Internet is an exorbitant $33 per day (1/3 of the room price), and 1 2hr 30mb package barely allows for a website and mail download.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeFMarkhamON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Anau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Stayed for a short break after a meeting - room accomdation not too bad, need's a flat screen TV for this star rating thow. Bed not too bad but also could do with a matress topper pad to go over the split king bed as could feel the join - reasonably common now on many hotels.
Food - went for a meal in the inhouse restaurant and was very disapointed in the food for the price. Menu selection was very basic and not up to the quality of the hotel. Main meal of fish for over $30 consisted of some lettice with some smokr\ed fish thrown on top - all cold also. Not what I considered a main meal. description in menu did not match the meal. No red meat choice despite showing it on their inhouse dvd. Much better options for dining outside the hotel.
Also - paying for the carparking is a bit ripe when the hotel has a large underground carpark, would be a great guest extra to offer free parking as is offered in many places in NZ. I can understand it wher a hotel has to rent extra carparks but when it is in their own building?
Room service good.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smalltownlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork, ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

we stayed here for one night on a trip around new zealand's south island. the hotel is very centrally located about 2 minutes walk form the octagon right in the heart of the city centre. the rooms were very clean, spacious and comfortable. breakfast next morning was a buffet which had plenty of choice and suited every taste! the staff were extremely helpful (like all kiwi staff we encountered!) and i would have no hesitation inr ecommending this hotel to any traveller!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adomurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
6.1 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
619 reviews
0.9 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Property: Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling Streets, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing