We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and roomy but forget the breakie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Clean and roomy but forget the breakie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Was pleasantly surprised with the room. It was really clean, spacious, and comfortable. The breakfast was just not up to it. Buffet was really basic and there were two types of cereal in mini boxes. Would certainly use them again and try one of the cafes nearby.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hodgie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Hodgie13,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us - I am really glad we were able to pleasantly surprise you with your room being clean, spacious and comfy. Apologies that our breakfast did not meet your requirements - we do actually offer four types of cereals, so I will follow up why for some reason there was only two? - definately not the norm. Thanks again and hopefully we will see you in Dunedin again sometime soon.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    321
    104
    22
    14
See reviews for
119
285
37
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

There was an absolutely lovely girl on reception that checked us in. A porter came and asked if he could help with bags. Our car was looked after easily with valet. The rooms were spacious enough and very clean. Lots of products in the bathroom to use which was great. Comfy bed. Bar staff very helpful until late. Great service from everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aucklander_Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Aucklander_Emma,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. And thanks also for all of your wonderful comments - particularly that you received great service from all our staff, and that you found our valet carparking service (at $12 per day) to be easy and hassle-free. Thanks again and hopefully we can host you again sometime soon.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Room clean ;tidy and spacious. Stayed in room 701; very noisey Friday. Saturday and Thursday. Had 7 nights.Staff friendly and helpful. Very central so only needed car one day.Found room to hot as only one window to open.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maureenm466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear maureenm466,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you found your room clean, tidy and spacious, and really pleased that you found all staff very friendly and helpful. We are sorry that you experienced some noise disturbance mainly on the weekend nights - this sometimes does happen on street-facing rooms and there was a big event on this weekend so my guess is that may have contributed to the noise situation. Thanks again and hopefully we can host you some other time.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We did know about the $12 per day (I think that was the cost) charge to park our car, but only because we'd read this website. It's as if you book a ticket to see a film and arrive at the cinema only to be told it will cost you a couple of dollars more to enter the auditorium and five more to sit down. We were met with an unexpected charge - not a huge sum - but it seems very sharp practice to charge an extra amount in this way, and the problem is that it annoys guests - well, certainly us - from the word go.
Why not build the cost into the room price? The hotel's income will be the same, and everyone will be happy.
We also questioned the wi-fi policy; you get 60 minutes' free internet access per day, which is pretty generous, but you have to use it in one go, which is silly. Once you sign off, you have to pay.
These moans aside, this is a good hotel in a wonderful location.


Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LondonpairLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear LondonpairLondon,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thanks also for your great comments about us being a good hotel in a wonderful location. We are sorry that you felt our valet carparking service is not advertised - just fyi the $12 per day charge is listed on our website under Hotel Facilities where it says "Valet carparking at $12 per day". - we choose not to add this valet carparking charge to everyone's account as not everyone who stays arrives by car. Apologies also that our one hour free wifi did not meet your requirements. We hope you enjoyed our fine city and had safe travels back home.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

I have stayed three times at this hotel. The rooms are huge, comfortable and clean. Breakfast is well presented with cooked and continental options. All the staff are approachable and provide excellent service. If you need to stay in central Dunedin, try it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CA13Or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear CA13Or,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you have stayed with us 3 times! Thanks so much for all of your great comments - we really appreciate it and look forward to hosting you again sometime soon.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The facilities were a bit limited. There were very few Sky channels to view. We stayed in a number of hotels on the South Island of NZ and this was the only one that charged for Wi-Fi use (albeit after 1 hour). It was a little difficult getting in and out of the shower as it was in the bath which was high sided for someone with crook knees. The hotel is very well situated and the rooms are comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Alan F,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was fantastic to read that you found our staff very friendly and helpful, our location great, and our rooms comfortable. We are sorry that our free 1 hour wifi did not meet your requirements on this occasion. Thanks again and we hope to be able to host you again sometime.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

When we arrived we discovered that we had been booked into a room without air con. Since it was very warm we opted not to take up the offer of fans but to upgrade to a room with air con. It was well worth it because we also got a safe and a balcony. The room was huge, beautifully decorated and the bathroom was lovely.
The staff were extremely helpful and the manager gave us complimentary desserts because we hadn't been happy with the room on arrival.
We ate bar meals on both nights, which were very good, although the bar and restaurant were a bit soulless.
The hotel offers an hour's free wifi. The location is in the heart of the city so parking is valet - for a small charge.
I would recommend this hotel for its comfort and for the helpfulness of the staff.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Maureen G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thanks also for mentioning that our staff were extremely helpful, and that we were able to offer an alternative room for a small upgrade charge that you were very happy with. I hope the rest of your travels in NZ went well and that you enjoyed your time in our great city.

Thanks again and kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.8 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#8 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#10 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Property: Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling St, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing