We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More positive than negative”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Ranked #13 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“More positive than negative”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Only stayed here one night. This was the largest room we had whilst travelling around New Zealand, with good seating and room to put the suitcases etc. The shower was great and the towels were excellent. It was good to have a cafetierre in the room with nice coffee to go in it, as well as a good range of other beverages available. Breakfast was also above average.
On a less positive note, our street facing room did get very hot and there was no air conditioning. Wifi was limited to one hour for up to four devices and this was available in the room.The hotel is located within an easy walk to the central area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iowstevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear iowestevie,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that we provided you with the largest room during your travels in NZ! Thanks also for noting our large luggage rack - yes they are certainly a great help for storage. Also we are glad you enjoyed our large range of in-room complimentary tea, coffees hot chocolate etc. Thanks again and hopefully we can host you again some day.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    327
    106
    22
    14
See reviews for
123
289
38
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Well presented accommodation in central location. Rather expensive and although we booked a second night on the same day we arrived we were charged 40NZD extra!
Also would expect free internet for these kind of prices

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGHSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear DGHSpain,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We also thank you for your positive comments regarding our well-presented accommodation in a central location. Apologies that our free 1 hour wifi was insufficient. Thank you again and we hope you enjoyed your time in our great city.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Set inside a used government office block, it was a real pleasure to find a spacious room with quality inclusions. Great location for touring Dunedin, we put our car away for our entire stay and walked rejoicing in all the NZ weather. Charging $5 per device per day for WiFi probably doesn't make much money but does give an impression of meanness that wouldn't otherwise seem unjustified. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebiga57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear thebiga57,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your great comments regarding our location and that the hotel "is more than it seems" - especially that you found it a real pleasure to find a spacious room with quality inclusions in a great location. These comments mean a lot to our team and hopefully we can host you again some time.

Thanks again and kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Featherston, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Very impressed with level of service, Staff always cheerful and smiling nothing was ever too much trouble. Hotel is very well situated and never too far to walk anywhere. Rooms were large and good views from the east side of building . Would definetly make a return visit.

Room Tip: Go for the eastside if possible, nice views of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Garry T,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your two week stay with us. As a long-stay guest we really appreciate all the wonderful comments you made, especially that all the staff were always cheerful and and smiling and nothing was too much trouble, and provided great service. Those comments and that you would definately return will make our team very happy. Thanks so much again and hopefully we will have the pleasure of hosting you again one day.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed one night and we were very impress with the service, location and with the size of the rooms. All very clean, massive tv, parking, breakfast and everyone with a smile in the face. thanks for the wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor room with the view to the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jp_albu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear jp_albu,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you were very impressed with our service, location and size of room. Also that you rated the room very clean (with a massive TV!!), and enjoyed our parking service (@$12 per day), and that all staff had a smile on their face. We really hope you enjoyed Dunedin and look forward to hosting you again one day.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Hotel slapbang in middle of city. Had travelled in own car and told at check in that parking was free but it had to valet parked for 12 dollars. Said we'd rather park the car ourselves but got told that was not allowed so had no option but to pay foir the parking. One free hour of wifi given. Room very spacious and clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BargainSpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear BargainSpotter,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was great to read that you rated our rooms very spacious and clean, and that the free 1 hour wifi was useful. Regarding the parking - guests do always have the choice of parking in carparks that are not owned or leased by the hotel. If guests choose to park in any of the carparks owened or leased nearby by the hotel, the fee of $12 per day applies - and we offer a valet carparking service - but if a guest particularly wants to park their car in one of the hotel carparks, then they are most welcome to do this, however they will need to be "let in" to one of our carparks by a staff member, and the $12 per day fee still apllies - it sounds like this was not made clear to you and I apologise if that was the case. Thanks again and hopefully we may host you again some time.

Kind regards. Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bigfork, Montana, Usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great location for walking to town. However, the downfall to the location is the very busy street. It was an unwelcome 7am wake up call to the sounds of trash trucks breaking glass for 20 minutes! The street is very noisy beginning very early! The rooms are spacious with great windows. The bed is overly soft for us as we both woke with backaches. We were never offered bell service and dealt with our own bags. The rooms do NOT have individual air conditioning but we were offered a fan for the room. The staff seems new or distracted as we have not feel terribly welcome. Great hotel for a night (unless you want to sleep in).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Teresa K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read your positive comments about our great location, and spacious rooms with great windows. We are sorry that you were woken early by a rubbish collection - to be honest I can't remember ever having that said before - there are only a few rooms on the side where the rubbish truck goes, and it is not normally a problem. We did just have a very busy weekend in Dunedin with multiple events on, and the hotel bar was busy, so that is my guess as to why there was so many bottles in the rubbish - again apologies. I am sorry that your room did not have aircon - in fact apart from our Executive rooms no hotels in Dunedin offer aircon - but I am glad we did our best to help and offered a fan. Also really sorry to hear that you experienced only average service - we pride ourselves on giving good service and in fact get lots of comments about how helpful and friendly our staff are - but it looks like this did not happen on this occasion and I will follow that up. Thanks again and kind regards.

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
6.1 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
619 reviews
0.9 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Property: Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling Streets, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing