We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed one night and we were very impress with the service, location and with the size of the rooms. All very clean, massive tv, parking, breakfast and everyone with a smile in the face. thanks for the wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor room with the view to the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jp_albu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear jp_albu,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you were very impressed with our service, location and size of room. Also that you rated the room very clean (with a massive TV!!), and enjoyed our parking service (@$12 per day), and that all staff had a smile on their face. We really hope you enjoyed Dunedin and look forward to hosting you again one day.

Kind regards. Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

509 - 515 of 787 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

Hotel slapbang in middle of city. Had travelled in own car and told at check in that parking was free but it had to valet parked for 12 dollars. Said we'd rather park the car ourselves but got told that was not allowed so had no option but to pay foir the parking. One free hour of wifi given. Room very spacious and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BargainSpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear BargainSpotter,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was great to read that you rated our rooms very spacious and clean, and that the free 1 hour wifi was useful. Regarding the parking - guests do always have the choice of parking in carparks that are not owned or leased by the hotel. If guests choose to park in any of the carparks owened or leased nearby by the hotel, the fee of $12 per day applies - and we offer a valet carparking service - but if a guest particularly wants to park their car in one of the hotel carparks, then they are most welcome to do this, however they will need to be "let in" to one of our carparks by a staff member, and the $12 per day fee still apllies - it sounds like this was not made clear to you and I apologise if that was the case. Thanks again and hopefully we may host you again some time.

Kind regards. Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great location for walking to town. However, the downfall to the location is the very busy street. It was an unwelcome 7am wake up call to the sounds of trash trucks breaking glass for 20 minutes! The street is very noisy beginning very early! The rooms are spacious with great windows. The bed is overly soft for us as we both woke with backaches. We were never offered bell service and dealt with our own bags. The rooms do NOT have individual air conditioning but we were offered a fan for the room. The staff seems new or distracted as we have not feel terribly welcome. Great hotel for a night (unless you want to sleep in).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Teresa K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read your positive comments about our great location, and spacious rooms with great windows. We are sorry that you were woken early by a rubbish collection - to be honest I can't remember ever having that said before - there are only a few rooms on the side where the rubbish truck goes, and it is not normally a problem. We did just have a very busy weekend in Dunedin with multiple events on, and the hotel bar was busy, so that is my guess as to why there was so many bottles in the rubbish - again apologies. I am sorry that your room did not have aircon - in fact apart from our Executive rooms no hotels in Dunedin offer aircon - but I am glad we did our best to help and offered a fan. Also really sorry to hear that you experienced only average service - we pride ourselves on giving good service and in fact get lots of comments about how helpful and friendly our staff are - but it looks like this did not happen on this occasion and I will follow that up. Thanks again and kind regards.

Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights and wish to stay more , a great large room on the 6th floor, the room is specious and clean and the bathroom with all the great amenities ... They just think about I to spoil you.
The location is just the best .. Few min walk from all central places.
The reception guys are SO cute and so kind .
Well this is what I accept to feel at home. Thanks for keeping such a high standard hotel for us. See you soon.

The

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Sharon Z,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was fantastic to read that you found your room to be clean and spacious with great bathroom amenities. Also great that you liked our location and best of all that you felt at home. Also the reception staff will be delighted to read your comments about them. Thanks again and hopefully we can host you again soon.

Kind regards.

Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel three times now and it is always perfect. The staff are wonderful always helpful. The rooms are huge. Beds soft as a feather. and the tea/coffee selection is incredible. Honestly don't have a bad thing to say...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennywag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Jennywag,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Your very positive comments about our wonderful staff always helpful, huge rooms, great beds and incredible tea/coffee selection are just fantastic - but best of all the fact that you keep returning to stay again and again is marvellous - we really appreciate that and look forward to hosting you for your next stay.

Kind regards. Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We arrived late without prior booking. Had variable staff quality, the trainee was good his manager not so. Rooms good with all you would expect from a mid range hotel. Car parking was good however the car had a puncture when we had it returned, to be fair they did help replace the tyre.

Room Tip: I dont think there were noise problems with any rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcWeinzweig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear MarcWeinzwerg,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Thanks also for mentioning that our rooms are good and that you enjoyed our valet carparking service (at $12 per day). Also I am glad we were able to assist in changing your flat tyre - always a hassle! Thanks again and hopefully we can host you again sometime.

Kind regards. Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed one night here in a recent trip across NZ. The hotel is in a perfect location for seeing the sights of the city. You can easily walk from the hotel to see everything. The room was very clean and had a nice coffee service. We ordered room service dinner as we came in late and the restaurant had closed for the night. The food and service was good. Enjoyed the breakfast the next morning. I liked that they let you separate the buffet if you didn't want all the hot food you could have the cold items at a lesser price. The front desk staff was very helpful and they have a good variety of brochures for exploring the city. The only complaint I have is that the room was very hot (no AC) so we had to open the windows and there was a good bit of loud street noise.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UsaJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear UsaJules,

Thank you for much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you found our location to be perfect, that room was clean and that food and service were good, and also that front desk staff were were very helpful. We apologise that you found your room to be a little hot a times. Thanks again and hopefully we can host you another time in the future.

Kind regards. Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
761 reviews
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#33 of 61 in Dunedin
407 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
#19 of 61 in Dunedin
288 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling Streets, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: $115 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing