We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and bad location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good and bad location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Great location as 3 mins walk to the Octagon. Bad location as spill out from the Octagon during the early hours is hard to ignore. Double glazing to the road side is a facade. Great idea but no added acoustics. Sleep well or you will be kept awake by the drunkards, bottle banging, vehicles etc.
The rooms are large and well appointed and bathrooms good also.
The restaurant menu reads very well and gets the taste buds buzzing....but the quality doesn't stack up. It's nice but average quality. Ask the night service to deliver your chowder as soon as it is served as there are no microwaves in the room!
Will stay again without doubt as very central.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Andrew C,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read your great comments regarding our location, large well appointed rooms and bathrooms and that you would stay again - much appreciated. We are sorry that you experienced some street noise - levels 1 - 5, and 8 - are double-glazed on the street side, and levels 6 and 7 - on the street side only - are not. We have had some reviews pointing out street noise before - what I have worked out over time from our own in-house Guest Surveys, is that almost all street noise complaints relate only to Friday and Saturday nights, and almost all are by guests who have stayed on the street side of levels 6 and 7 - which are the only two sides of any level not double-glazed - but I am working on fixing that!! Again thanks for your comments and we look forward to hosting you again sometime soon.

Kind regards

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    319
    103
    22
    14
See reviews for
119
283
37
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our family of five stayed here for one night in connecting rooms. The rooms were modern, very clean and the beds were very comfy. The breakfast was usual hotel fare but was of a very good standard. All the staff we came across were very professional and pleasant. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sawyer111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear gowerr,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was great to read your positive comments regarding our modern, clean rooms with comfy beds, that our staff were professional and pleasant, and that you rated our breakfast to be of a very good standard. We really appreciate your comments and hope to be able to host you again sometime soon.

Kind regards

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

The ease of booking directly with this hotel continues to be of a very high standard, with immediate email or ph confirmations and a genuine enthusiasm that you are returning and acknowledgement of this; the company customer profile data base is used and updated so making repeat reservations easy with minimal fuss; When checking in this is acknowledged and always with a smile. The valet parking service whilst a cost is always efficient and undertaken with care.
I personally enjoy staying at this hotel because of the clean tidy rooms happy front of house staff, harbour views and close proximity to many great restaurants in close walking distance from the hotel.
My only disappointment with the hotel is the cost of going online (wireless) in a world where this service is now seen the same as having cable TV or not. Even if they had free wireless area in the lobby, where guests could receive/send emails get a coffee etc using a ph;i pad, laptop etc)

Room Tip: Great waking up to views of the Otago harbour and the morning sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear John G,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us, and it is fantastic that you stay with us regularly - thank you very much for that. I was delighted to read that you find our booking process very efficient, that we recognise you as a return guest, and that you enjoy our valet carparking service, clean tidy rooms and our happy front of house staff. The team will be really happy to read all of these comments. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you again sometime.

Kind regards

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Another visit to Dunedin and a stay at the Scenic Circles on Princes Street. Just can't go wrong, well appointed and enormous bedrooms. Bathrooms and showers are excellent and the front staff efficient. There is no need to eat here at all, but as a place to stay - perfect!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Tim R,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review of another of your stays with us - having you as a return guest is just fantatsic, and your gracious comments regarding our well appointed rooms, enormous bedrooms, excellent showers and effiecient front line staff are very much appreciated. Thanks again and look forward to hosting you next time.

Kind regards

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

School holidays and managed to get a great rate over the weekend at this hotel. The rate was per room which made a pleasant change not to be charged extra for children and slept a family of four comfortably. Our room was on the sixth floor and very quiet for the central city location. Staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Travelling with small children it was also great to have a guest laundry where you could do your own washing. The breakfast offered in the restaurant was good value. The central city location was brilliant, within easy walking distance of many of Dunedin's attractions. Will definitely be back. Loved our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Megan A,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Our staff team will be very happy regarding your kind comments about them, and we also appreciate your mention of good value breakfast and our great location. Thanks again and we hope to host you again soon sometime.

Kind regards

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe East, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We brought 2 nights accommodation on wotif.com. We were doing a 2 week trip around the south island. The room was lovely and large. Even though our room was on the main street side we could not hear any traffic noise. The bed was the comfiest we had slept in over all the accommodation we stayed in over the two weeks. Nice big TV with sky. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was immaculately clean! Very impressed. Will definitely stay again and look at other scenic hotels in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Libby B,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read all of your complimentary comments including our lovely and large rooms, very comfy rooms with nice big TV and Sky TV. Also that you heard no traffic noise, staff were friendly and helpful and that your room was immacuately clean. It was also fantastic to hear that because of your experience with us, you will look at staying at other Scenic Hotels in the future. Thanks so much again and we look at hosting you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel located in the heart of Dunedin CBD. I have stayed here before and would do so again. The rooms are very spacious and well appointed. It is great to see hotel rooms with great desk space with plenty of electrical outlets. The rooms are huge and very comfortable beds. My only criticism of this hotel are the bathrooms. They are very basic. If the bathrooms were better, this could easily be a five star hotel. I liked the $12 per night valet parking and very affordable and sat WiFi

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KiwiBrendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Bredon B,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us - and we were very happy to read that you have stayed with us before and chosen to return again. Thanks for your numerous great comments, and it was heartening to read that you made mention of the numerous electrical outlets available in each room - as part of installing the new large 42" flat screen TV's, we also installed Epic Organisers (aka media hubs) underneath the TV's with various sockets for computers etc + extra electrical sockets. It was also great to read that you liked the $12 per night valet carparking service and affordable wifi ($10 per 24 hours or $5 per 24 hours for a smartphone). We are sorry that you found the bathrooms a little basic. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you for another stay sometime in the future.

Kind regards.

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.8 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#8 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#10 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Property: Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling St, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing