We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Enough Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant Enough Stay”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Scenic Hotel lived up to it's name. We were fortunate to have a view overlooking the harbour however, the windows were in a serious need of washing (outside). The bed was comfortable, mini fridge, tea coffee all supplied. Don't be roped into paying for Valet Parking. Parking on the street is free from 6pm to 9 am! Otherwise they charge you $12 for the evening. Internet you need to pay for - now with what they charge for your room, and most hotels around New Zealand there is free wi-fi! Not great that they nickel and dime you (parking, internet, breakfast) Other than that pleasant enough stay. Eat at The Black Dog - good food and right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babsMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear babsMississauga,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay. We are delighted that overall you rated us highly. We are sorry that our $12 a day valet carparking service was unsatisfactory to you. Many guests choose to use this hassle-free service and also to provide peace of mind for security for their vehicle in our inner-city location. We lease carparking areas in order to be able to provide this service, hence the reason for charging. Our wifi charge of $10 per 24 hours uncapped data is well received by most guests (or $5 for a Smartphone), we are sorry this did not meet your expectations. Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you again sometime in the future.

Kind regards

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    326
    104
    22
    14
See reviews for
122
288
37
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

great hotel to stay in, super close to town and all the staff very friendly. room was super clean. breakfast was a real let down..would not recommend the buffet cooked option, lucky they had other options which where great..iit always seems to make me wonder why most cooked buffet breakfasts are so"....different...but great time thanks very much

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 00sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear OOsg,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Our housekeeping team will be proud to read that you found the room super clean and the hotel in general very clean, and all staff will be happy to read that you found all staff very friendly. Thanks also for noting our great location. We are sorry that you did not find our buffet breakfast to your satisfaction, however we were pleased that you found our a la carte breakfast a good choice and were happy with those meals. Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you again in the future sometime.

Kind regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauchope, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a very nice hotel situated near the Octagon (walking distance- 3-5 minutes), so close to the 'centre' of town. Staff were extremely helpful and nice.
Room service breakfast was served on time requested and was very nice.
Rooms and ensuites very clean, beds very comfortable. No free wi-fi which is a shame.
Only stayed one night (unfortunately) but it was an excellent experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dt200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear dt200,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read all of your positive comments including our great location, extremely helpful staff, room service breakfast on time, very clean rooms, very comfy beds and overall an excellent experience. Our staff team will be very happy for your kind comments. Thanks again and we look forward to maybe hosting you again in the future sometime.

Kind regards

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

In general, this is a superior hotel with very good service. However, being in a cold part of the country, the rooms only have heating - no cooling, which would be handdy in the summer for the rooms facing to the west. The downtown location is handy to shopping and restaurants. Parking is by valet service and is efficient.

Room Tip: Best to take a room on the east side to avoid summer sun and noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear John M,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. We were very pleased to hear that you rated us as a superior hotel with very good service, handy location and that our valet parking service was efficient. We were sorry to read that you found your room was a little too hot - we have had an unseasonably hot summer in Dunedin and apologies that you happened to strike one of the days that was really hot. Thanks again and we hope to be able to host you again in the furure sometime.

Kind regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Rooms are spacious but without adequate AC its very hot in there, however they got us a fan when requested. We didn't have the best greeting from the lady who checked us in and I had to probe her for simple information that you should be told at check in. However lets not dwell on one person as later on another receptionist Angela was fantastic! She helped us with our touring plans and we even got to a local beach which wasn't touristy. So overall...rooms spacious but tired unless we had an older one, good location and certain staff are lovely.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear H H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review - I note you are a Top Contributor. Thankyou also for your very positive comments regarding our spacious rooms and good location. I am sorry you found the room a little hot, and I was glad to read that we provided you with a standup portable fan as some sort of help. We have had some very hot days in Dunedin this summer, and no hotels in Dunedin have airconditioning in their rooms except for the rooms on our Executive floor. I am sorry that the staff member who checked you in did not provide excellent customer service, and I am glad that later on Angela helped turn that experience around with her great service.

Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you again in the future sometime.

Kind regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Well appointed rooms with ample space and modern appearance. Very good friendly reception desk. Very comfy beds. Very close to the Octagon and city attractions, restaurants and shopping. We had room service breakfast but was hard to follow and to order for more than one person on the form and some things were not delivered that were ordered however were promptly delivered when notified. We stayed on a Saturday evening and were unfortunately kept awake most of the night by the passing loud intoxicated persons going from one night club to the other even though we were on the 7th floor. While this is not the cause of the hotel itself I notified the reception at check out to say they should consider double glazing to reduce the noise and were informed double glazing is on floors up to the 5th floor as they thought the noise would not go so high. Wrong !! Overall a nice place to stay if you were on a lower floor or on the other side of the building which has views of the harbour and away from the street noise.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of the harbour or not above the 5th floor in rooms that face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulR74_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear PaulR74_13,

Thank you very much for posting a review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you have complemented us on our large modern rooms, friendly reception staff, comfy beds and our great location. I was sorry to read that your night's sleep was disturbed by passers-by outside on the street - what you were told by reception is correct - we do have double glazing on the street side up to the 5th floor, however the 6th and 7th floor do not - whilst height does reduce noise somewhat, there are times (mostly on a Friday or Saturday night if town is busy) in our central location on the 6th and 7th floors, where noise can be a problem - once again apologies for this. Thanks again and we hope to be able to host you again if you are travelling to Dunedin.

Kind regards

Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We all like to be spoiled. And after a journey by car from Christchurch in torrential rain and battling with Dunedin's traffic for an hour my need was greater than most. The hotel is right in the centre of Dunedin, but I missed it on my first attempt, ending up at another Scenic Hotel down the street, so I was a little frazzled on my eventual arrival.
Perhaps the insightful guy spotted this when I checked in, as I was upgraded to an executive room on the eighth floor, which had, I was told, been recently refurbished. I was even given a drinks voucher (which I stupidly forgot to use!)
The room was stylish, with a large flat screen tv, mini bar, wardrobe and two queen size beds and it was tastefully decorated. There were also two of the most comfortable chairs I've ever enjoyed sitting in! But, best of all was a terrace, with beautiful views over the harbour area. Although during my short stay, the weather was not great, I could imagine that sipping a long drink on the sunlit terrace after a hard day in Dunedin would be most acceptable!
Because of the poor weather, I decided to eat in. The choice of food was good, and I enjoyed a butter chicken curry which was beautifully presented and full of flavour. The waiter and chef even went the extra mile for my dessert. I had wanted a scoop of both chocolate and vanilla ice cream, but as there was no chocolate flavour available, vanilla with a chocolate sauce was offered instead. Quick thinking and a great result.
This is a good hotel. My sleep was undisturbed and the staff seem to go the extra mile without even thinking twice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 274couldabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear 274couldabin,

Thank you very much for posting a review of your recent stay with us, and thanks so much for all of the wonderful comments you have made concerning your stay in one of our Executive Rooms on the top floor - which as you have said are complemented by having a private terrace/balcony. Thanks also for your comments about the food in our restaurant and helpful staff, and the hassle-free way the staff came up with a solution to your dessert request. I will pass on your great comments and the staff will be very pleased to read them. All the best and we hope to be able to host you again sometime.

Kind regards

Greg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.8 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#8 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#10 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Property: Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling St, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing