We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Ranked #12 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

In general, this is a superior hotel with very good service. However, being in a cold part of the country, the rooms only have heating - no cooling, which would be handdy in the summer for the rooms facing to the west. The downtown location is handy to shopping and restaurants. Parking is by valet service and is efficient.

Room Tip: Best to take a room on the east side to avoid summer sun and noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear John M,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us. We were very pleased to hear that you rated us as a superior hotel with very good service, handy location and that our valet parking service was efficient. We were sorry to read that you found your room was a little too hot - we have had an unseasonably hot summer in Dunedin and apologies that you happened to strike one of the days that was really hot. Thanks again and we hope to be able to host you again in the furure sometime.

Kind regards

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

632 - 638 of 797 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Rooms are spacious but without adequate AC its very hot in there, however they got us a fan when requested. We didn't have the best greeting from the lady who checked us in and I had to probe her for simple information that you should be told at check in. However lets not dwell on one person as later on another receptionist Angela was fantastic! She helped us with our touring plans and we even got to a local beach which wasn't touristy. So overall...rooms spacious but tired unless we had an older one, good location and certain staff are lovely.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear H H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review - I note you are a Top Contributor. Thankyou also for your very positive comments regarding our spacious rooms and good location. I am sorry you found the room a little hot, and I was glad to read that we provided you with a standup portable fan as some sort of help. We have had some very hot days in Dunedin this summer, and no hotels in Dunedin have airconditioning in their rooms except for the rooms on our Executive floor. I am sorry that the staff member who checked you in did not provide excellent customer service, and I am glad that later on Angela helped turn that experience around with her great service.

Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you again in the future sometime.

Kind regards

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Well appointed rooms with ample space and modern appearance. Very good friendly reception desk. Very comfy beds. Very close to the Octagon and city attractions, restaurants and shopping. We had room service breakfast but was hard to follow and to order for more than one person on the form and some things were not delivered that were ordered however were promptly delivered when notified. We stayed on a Saturday evening and were unfortunately kept awake most of the night by the passing loud intoxicated persons going from one night club to the other even though we were on the 7th floor. While this is not the cause of the hotel itself I notified the reception at check out to say they should consider double glazing to reduce the noise and were informed double glazing is on floors up to the 5th floor as they thought the noise would not go so high. Wrong !! Overall a nice place to stay if you were on a lower floor or on the other side of the building which has views of the harbour and away from the street noise.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of the harbour or not above the 5th floor in rooms that face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulR74_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear PaulR74_13,

Thank you very much for posting a review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you have complemented us on our large modern rooms, friendly reception staff, comfy beds and our great location. I was sorry to read that your night's sleep was disturbed by passers-by outside on the street - what you were told by reception is correct - we do have double glazing on the street side up to the 5th floor, however the 6th and 7th floor do not - whilst height does reduce noise somewhat, there are times (mostly on a Friday or Saturday night if town is busy) in our central location on the 6th and 7th floors, where noise can be a problem - once again apologies for this. Thanks again and we hope to be able to host you again if you are travelling to Dunedin.

Kind regards

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We all like to be spoiled. And after a journey by car from Christchurch in torrential rain and battling with Dunedin's traffic for an hour my need was greater than most. The hotel is right in the centre of Dunedin, but I missed it on my first attempt, ending up at another Scenic Hotel down the street, so I was a little frazzled on my eventual arrival.
Perhaps the insightful guy spotted this when I checked in, as I was upgraded to an executive room on the eighth floor, which had, I was told, been recently refurbished. I was even given a drinks voucher (which I stupidly forgot to use!)
The room was stylish, with a large flat screen tv, mini bar, wardrobe and two queen size beds and it was tastefully decorated. There were also two of the most comfortable chairs I've ever enjoyed sitting in! But, best of all was a terrace, with beautiful views over the harbour area. Although during my short stay, the weather was not great, I could imagine that sipping a long drink on the sunlit terrace after a hard day in Dunedin would be most acceptable!
Because of the poor weather, I decided to eat in. The choice of food was good, and I enjoyed a butter chicken curry which was beautifully presented and full of flavour. The waiter and chef even went the extra mile for my dessert. I had wanted a scoop of both chocolate and vanilla ice cream, but as there was no chocolate flavour available, vanilla with a chocolate sauce was offered instead. Quick thinking and a great result.
This is a good hotel. My sleep was undisturbed and the staff seem to go the extra mile without even thinking twice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 274couldabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear 274couldabin,

Thank you very much for posting a review of your recent stay with us, and thanks so much for all of the wonderful comments you have made concerning your stay in one of our Executive Rooms on the top floor - which as you have said are complemented by having a private terrace/balcony. Thanks also for your comments about the food in our restaurant and helpful staff, and the hassle-free way the staff came up with a solution to your dessert request. I will pass on your great comments and the staff will be very pleased to read them. All the best and we hope to be able to host you again sometime.

Kind regards

Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We booked this hotel on agoda.com and were very impressed by the price of this hotel, and its very central location. Walking distance to all major attractions - Cadbury factory, Speights Brewey and the Octogon (restaurants, cages, etc). The quality of the room is good, everything appears fresh and newly renovated, and the king bed was very comfortable, however it must be a very old hotel as they have no air conditioning! It's the only hotel we have ever stayed in throughout the world that hasn't got air con. This would have to be the biggest let down as we arrived on a very hot day/afternoon and our room faced the western side and as a result was like an oven. In saying that though when we called reception, they were more than helpful by bringing a stand alone fan to our room. You can also open windows for more air, however you can hear the traffic and some noise below during the night. It must get cold in winter, as they at least have heating for the room. There is a very large LCD tv in the room, and a mini bar. If your on a little bit of a budget and want a close location to the city and are happy without air con then we would recommend staying at this hotel if its only for a night or 2.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJnMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear JJnMW,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review during your recent stay with us. I see you are a Senior Reviewer, and it was very pleasing to read all your great comments about our central location ideal to walk to local sightseeing activities, quality of room and comfortable bed with a nice large LCD TV. I was very sorry to read that you found the room too hot - actually just about all of NZ has had a very hot period over the last 2 weeks or so, and apart from our Executive rooms, no hotels in Dunedin have air-conditioning in their rooms. It was pleasing to read that our staff did all they could and provided you with a portable stand-up fan - I can only hope this helped alleviate your discomfort, and we would very much like to have you stay with us again sometime in the future when it is not so unseasonably hot.

Thanks again and kind regards.

Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is the second Scenic hotel we've stayed in so far on this tour of NZ and we were again impressed by the good service and overall high standard of the facilities. Our room on the 5th floor was very spacious with high ceilings and large picture window. It had two queen size beds and an unusually large LCD tv on the wall. The bathroom was also a good size with all fittings fresh and new in appearance. The shower in our room was over the bath with an effective glass screen. The cost of Wifi was NZ$10 for 24 hours, which was reasonable, though the connection was rather erratic (as in much of South Island). The guest laundry was very handy and cost only NZ$ 2 each for the washer, dryer and powder. The only less pleasing aspect was that tour groups were rather dealt with en masse, which is not the case at all hotels. It was really great that a member of staff came on to our bus to wish us all well at the end of our stay.

Room Tip: There is good double glazing so rooms are quiet, even on the Princes Street side. . , unless you ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeF62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Lee F,

Thank you very much for posting a review regarding your recent stay with us. Thanks also for all of your positive comments regarding our large spacious rooms, nice bathrooms and reasonably priced wifi at only $10 per 24 hours. Also it was great to hear that we were the second Scenic Hotel you had stayed with during your trip to NZ, and that both Scenic hotels had impressed you with the high standard of service and facilities at the hotels - from a brand perspective that is really wonderful to hear. Thanks again and hoepfully we might be able to host you again in the future sometime.

Kind regards. Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a nice hotel. We had adjoining rooms on the second floor. The rooms are fine but it was noisy.....it was a Friday night though and the hotel is just up the road from all the bars etc at the Octagon.It was a nice 20 min walk to the stadium.
The bed is comfortable. It was a hot night and because of traffic outside we had to have the windows shut. There didn't seem to be any way to cool the rooms.
I would however stay here again, it's a nice place for a family.

Room Tip: Book early and get a room on a higher floor. The adjoining rooms with double beds are great for teen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelstaffmember, Manager at Scenic Hotel Dunedin City, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Debbie B,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review during your recent stay with us. It was pleasing that overall you rated us highly, and I am sorry that your room was a little hot - to be honest basically most of NZ has been experiencing an unusually hot few weeks - also no hotel in Dunedin has air-conditioning in their rooms except for our Executive rooms. I do hope you can try us again sometime in the future when it is not so unseasonably hot.

Kind regards.

Greg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
#21 of 61 in Dunedin
289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#35 of 61 in Dunedin
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Dunedin City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Dunedin City

Address: 123 Princes Street | cnr Princes & Dowling Streets, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#11 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: $147 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Dunedin City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish Scenic Hotel Dunedin City features a stunning contemporary award-winning design, with spacious guest rooms, modern facilities and attractive local artworks all in a handy inner-city location. Scenic Hotel Dunedin City is just two blocks from the Octagon in the heart of the city. As our guest you will enjoy: Generously proportioned rooms with plenty of space and light. Quality room amenities and services, including excellent bedding and high speed Internet access. Memorable street-side dining in Princes on Dowling Restaurant - the perfect place to watch the city go by. Or get comfortable beside the fire in our lounge bar. Our great central location in the heart of the city. Ideal for business guests and convenient for visitors wanting to explore the city and local attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Scenic Hotel Dunedin City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing