We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Hosts”
Review of Econo Lodge Alcala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Alcala
Ranked #12 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Dunedin
Reviewed October 27, 2008

The unit we were in was very large. It needed updating however, they indicated that they were going to be renovating in the near future. The hosts were extremely helpful. They advised us to make reservations for our activities, particularly cadbury world. They let us use their computer to check our email. They gave our kids a bag of jelly beans when we arrived. We could walk from the hotel to many of the places we wanted to see.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 4cdnglobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Alcala
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 85 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2008

I wasn't expecting much for $96 a night, but I was pleasantly surprised.
The room I was in, had a mezzanine level with 2 single beds, which meant, including the double and single downstairs, the room could sleep 5.
There was a separate kitchen area through a pair of doors under an archway, where there was a fridge, microwave and hob.
There is a garage and a 24hr shop over the road.
Shops and restaurants are a 10 minute walk away. It takes about 15 minutes to walk to the Octagon. The Alcala is on a main road, but not the main SH1, so it's not too noisy.
Overall, a tidy clean hotel that’s worth staying in, if you don’t mind the flowery bedding & curtains!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2008

This motel is clean and well equipped. Reception people very friendly and helpful. Room 10 had a queen and a single in the main lounge room and up fairly steep stairs to a mezzanine floor with two single beds. Stairs not suitable for the elderly or toddlers in my opinion. Opposite a petrol station and an all night convenience store. On a main road but the traffic did not bother me. I'd say it was a 20 minute walk to the edge of the shops. Lots of ethnic restaurants at the end of that 20 minute walk. The weekend we stayed there was apparently a music festival/gathering on and lots of young people around. Some hooping and hollering from somebody in the early hours of the morning. Probably from somebody on the streets rather than the motel guests.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2008

Cleand and spacious unit. Very large rooms with all kinds of cooking facilities and equipment. Free laundry equipment, washers and dryers, plus washing line. 10/15 mins walk to centre of town and through nice area. Great value for money. Would thouroughly recommend this for couples or families.

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank jannybLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2007

Spacious rooms, comfortable beds, well-equipped kitchen. Good location, convenient for main road and close to town centre. Just opposite a petrol station and a late-night grocery store.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PopcornB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2007

We spent several weeks in hotels and holiday parks, this has to be the best priced accomodation on the South Island! The decor was a bit, well very outdated, but still had some charm with unique arched doorways and round windows. This suite was more like a full on appartment with kitchen seperated from the living space. Definetly the best value for $ since we arrived in NZ.

  • Stayed: January 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank CanadaGrls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2007

We recently had a one-night stay at the Alcala, unit 3.

The room was clean, fresh and spacious. The colour-palette was burgundy and dusky-pink. Retro-fabulous :-)

The bathroom had a separate toilet and vanity/sink unit, which I prefer. The kitchen was large and full of amenities (as are all NZ motels, it seems).

The bedroom had one queen bed in it.

In the living-area were two single-beds which also served as settees during the day.

The little chap who checked us in was lovely. The room was lovely...

But I wouldn't stay here again, I'm afraid, on account of the dreadful street-noise which went on all night long.

There was a half-page article in the local newspaper the next day, highlighting the problem of feral youth/students running amok in certain areas of Dunedin. They really need to get that sorted out...

SnowFalling

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank SnowFallingOnCedars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
734 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aurora on George
Aurora on George
#16 of 61 in Dunedin
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cable Court Motel
Cable Court Motel
#30 of 61 in Dunedin
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
0.1 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alexis Motor Lodge
Alexis Motor Lodge
#5 of 61 in Dunedin
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Alcala

Address: 704 George Street | Dunedin North, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Comfort Inn Alcala)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range: $90 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Econo Lodge Alcala 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Alcala we pride ourselves in offering our guests a welcoming stay and real value for money. Our classic Spanish architecture offers something a little unique in Dunedin, and we are well situated near the University, Otago Museum, Public Hospital and Botanical Gardens. There is a service station, 24hr convenience store, pharmacy and restaurant all within 1 minute's walk from the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunedin
Dunedin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing