We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge Alcala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge Alcala
Ranked #14 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Dunedin
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
483 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delightful”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Everywhere I usually stay in Dunedin was booked out and was therefore "forced" into seeking accommodation with a higher price tag than I usually do. Given this, I then expected more than what I usually receive, and I was not at all disappointed. In fact, I would very definitely return again, despite a higher than normal (for me) tariff.
Speaking of tariff, however, do check very carefully what you are being actually charged against what the motel is offering. I found the agency through which I booked (on line), had misquoted the actual tariff by 50%, so I spent a great deal more than was expected.
When I first arrived, the roadside sign announced it as an “EconoLodge”. Having stayed in many of these while travelling in the United States, and having no inclination to wish to return to any of them, I was at first ready to be very disappointed. I was very pleased to find this one an exception.
Upon arrival, the receptionist was very helpful and informative, and even accompanied me to the room to ensure everything was in order before leaving me to stand in awe at the room.
Despite the expense, the motel is absolute value for money, particularly if you get an upstairs spa studio.
The room (which is actually a series of rooms) was very well furnished with a leather lounge suite (all recliners), very stylish table and chairs, mobile television set and queen size bed (amongst other items). Adding to the unique atmosphere was a loft bedroom (a first (and wonderful) experience for me). The unit also had a balcony, as well as a separate bathroom and toilet. The bathroom (which is separated from the toilet has an enormous spa bath, from which you can soak and watch television at the same time. Now that (for me anyway) is luxury.
The Guest Information booklet is also VERY informative.
There is a 24 hour general supplies shop right across the road, but Dunedin’s main shopping centre is a mere 10 minutes’ walk away, where retail outlets and restaurants abound. It may take a great deal longer, therefore, than ten minutes to reach the city centre given the many diversions you are likely to make.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs spa studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FyingKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    45
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
27
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Khon Kaen, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I came here arriving at 10pm and I went to the reception, We take what they've got so I took a studio unit suitable for Family 4-5 ppl, There is 2 bed room in my unit, 1st room with a queen size bed and a second room with 3 singles bed, in the living area there is a 2 sofa, and a small tv , nice kitchen all of this only for 140$

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaAngsanunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Stayed a single night with my wife. The room was very spacious with a kitchenette and clean bathroom. The walk into Dunedin is a quick 10 mins, overall can't complain about anything, very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryan_knapton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Comfort Inn Alcala was a good value for the price paid. It had a kitchenette and they provided an ample supply of coffee, milk and even a small packet of cookies each day. Gary and another employee were very helpful in teaching me how to work the washer, which was free of charge ( just have detergent)
It is dated but a much better experience than the Quality motel next door.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Astor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, WA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We were traveling NZ with another couple for 23 days. When we got to this motel, we checked in and were told that we'd be staying in the front side of a two apartment house about 2-3 miles away. That was good because we didn't like the looks of the motel at all---old and rundown. We found it on a little alley near a local college campus in Dunedin. We had a large living room with dining room and kitchen downstairs and two bedrooms and batroom upstairs. It was relatively quiet and comfortable, but a little funky with stained carpet and old feeling. Entry was through sliding glass doors in the front, but it also had a back door. It served our purposes well, but I probably wouldn't stay there again. And of course we got free milk for our morning coffee or cereal (complements of every motel in NZ).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lim48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2011

As a rule I usually have an its ok attitude but this hotel was by far the worst I have ever stayed in.The room had an overpowering smell of strong baby powder . The kitchen was filthy .the microwave had an inch of grim ontop of it .The bathroom was in very poor condition.If this does not convince you before you hand over your cash ask to see the guests laundry near the main office its an eye opener.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MrGreening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
690 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Stayed one night, 8/2/11 - booked on line via Qantas - not modern but very good.
I left some clean clothing in the wardrobe, emailed reception advising unable to return and would they be kind enough to donate to a local charity. Response was prompt and only too pleased to assist.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAC6917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
709 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aurora on George
Aurora on George
#16 of 57 in Dunedin
63 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 57 in Dunedin
391 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 57 in Dunedin
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
Alhambra Oaks Motor Lodge
#25 of 57 in Dunedin
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Alcala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Alcala

Property: Econo Lodge Alcala
Address: 704 George Street | Dunedin North, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Comfort Inn Alcala)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Econo Lodge Alcala 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Alcala we pride ourselves in offering our guests a welcoming stay and real value for money. Our classic Spanish architecture offers something a little unique in Dunedin, and we are well situated near the University, Otago Museum, Public Hospital and Botanical Gardens. There is a service station, 24hr convenience store, pharmacy and restaurant all within 1 minute's walk from the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Alcala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dunedin
Dunedin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing