We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AAA+++ Incredible all round eating experience”

Del Sol Vila Mexicana
Ranked #19 of 327 Restaurants in Dunedin
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Mexican, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dunedin's favourite Mexican Restaurant located just 1 minute walk from the Octagon. Specialised in group bookings, we can cater for groups of up to 150 people with different Set Menu Options to suit your needs. Our weekly specials allow you to find the perfect deal for your favourite Mexican dishes. With our large range of cocktails, everyone will find a drink they love! Vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options available. Now BYO.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
“AAA+++ Incredible all round eating experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Sensational lunch at Del Sol! Location is perfect on the cutest street of gorgeous Dunedin inner city.The restaurant has to die for architecture. What a beautiful spacious room, and now wonderfully mexican! I recieved the best service I have had in a restaurant this year, from attentive, polite and helpful staff. They just got everything so right. The food was beyond my wildest expectations. I had beef cooked to perfection with an incredible watermelon and corriander salad. All so fresh and presented beautifully. I have not been 'wowed' by food in a restaurant like this for a long time. Recently had dinner there too and was just impressed. Awesome atmosphere. This is easily the best place to eat in Dunedin! Totally recommend this AAA+++ mexican restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahOS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    97
    43
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Mexican!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

I have been to Del Sol over 10 times because it has become my favourite restaurant in Dunedin. Love the variety of the menu, the atmosphere and the service is always good. Really yum margaritas and the new churros are amazing. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank kate w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Birthday dinner. Everyone ordered a variety of menu items and we were all happy. My husband ordered the corn cobs and loved them so much he ordered more. Service was excellent. Although the eftpos was playing so up so there was a bit of a mix up with payment but it got sorted fine it the end. The atmosphere in the restaurant is so fun and lively! And the drinks amazing! Will definitely go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Melanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
“Amazing food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Really enjoyed the food and the set up of the place. What would've made it a 5/5 would've been a nicer waitress and less noise, but then it was a busy night.
It was the best beef that my friend had ever eaten and the chicken was really nice too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank melwel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
“This place is something else!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

On the weekend of the All Blacks test we had a large work group including some key clients to take out. We had to show them a good time but weren't sure where to go. We chanced our arm at something a little out of the ordinary, Del Sol. Subsequently our clients had an awesome time, raved about thier night to everyone they saw the next day! Even with a full house we had great service, the food was delicious and on-time and I had some great photos to send the clients come Monday morning!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del Sol Vila Mexicana also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Del Sol Vila Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing