We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location and hospitality”
other travelers have booked this property
Stunning sea view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning sea view
Double bedroom with flat screen TV and French window Double bedroom with flat screen TV and French window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Stunning sea view
Double bedroom with flat screen TV and French window
Double bedroom with flat screen TV and French window
Property
Stunning sea view
Bedroom
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dunedin, Otago Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
EJT702
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and hospitality”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful location and a special place to stay. Greg made us feel so welcome and as alpaca owners oursleves, it was fun to talk alpacas! We're so glad we didn't stay in the city on this visit to Dunedin, as we always have, and being only 15 minutes drive from the city centre, we definitely had the best of both worlds. I'm already recommnending Greg's place to friends and we'll definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leslie m
Bendigo, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The BEST of our Holiday!”
Reviewed March 27, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Yes; as all the reviews state - Greg is the most hospitable, genuine host you could wish for. He welcomes you to his home (generations have farmed in the verdant valley) as though you were family returning. The spectacular coastal cliffs where the top paddock ends contrast with the safe cozy atmosphere he creates for you. Don't think of staying anywhere else on the South east coast!
Thanks again Greg.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipbal...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You will not find anywhere better”
Reviewed January 20, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The welcome we received from Greg the owner made us feel right at home. Gave us a guided tour of the farmstead, the Alpaca were so sweet and the view of the ocean from the top of the field were awesome. Greg then loaned us his car to go to Tunnel beach as some hire cars have been broken into recently. On our return we were greeted with a freshly baked loaf of bread, we had to stay up late until it cooled, taste was better than the smell. The attention to detail in the b&b were second to none, I can guarantee you will not find anywhere better in the whole of NZ.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail by the owner
Liked least: Could find no faults at all.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannahhhT
1 review
“Awesome place with a stunning view”
Reviewed January 11, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

My two friends and I spent a one night stay at Greg's place. As there were 3 of us, he was very kind and allowed us to stay in his beautiful home with very homely and cosy furnishings. We were driving down from Christchurch and reached really late at night but Greg was kind enough to wait for us and showed us around his house. The next day, we had an enjoyable time with Greg as he showed us around his farm and allowed us to play and take photos with the alpacas in his farm and the stunning beach right behind his farm! A pity it was raining and we couldn't spend longer time in his farm. Greg made our stay very memorable and we will definitely return to his place when we visit Dunedin again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Greg's hospitality and the alpacas!
Liked least: Nothing at all
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian E
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place, but not quite what was expected”
Reviewed January 5, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The room was clean and comfortable.
The host was very friendly and helpful.
The location was good, just outside Dunedin and quiet.
The room was small and the cooking facilities very basic.
The View from the property was good but we had to climb up to the ridge behind the house (200m?) to see it.
The exit from the house is on a narrow road with an 80kpm speed limit and needs to be negotiated with care.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet rural location
Liked least: Road access
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TDM6063
Safety Beach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Back yard with a view.”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Adequate, comfortable and convenient for access to Dunedin. Greg the host was extremely helpful and hospitable, providing freshly baked bread! Great location, Tunnel Beach approx. a stone throw away, well worth the walk from car park.Good fast internet connection.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting in country area, views from back yard and Greg's hospitality.
Liked least: All good.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill L
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Loved our time here, great host, quiet location, reasonable price, highly recommended!”
Reviewed October 9, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We loved our stay at Karaka Alpaca Farmstay B&B—freshly baked bread and a huge bowl of rich red home grown tomatoes greeted us daily, plus I got my animal fix with alpacas in the back yard and horses in the front yard. A walk through the Alpaca pasture takes you to a wonderful clifftop view overlooking the ocean, while the other direction is lovely farmlands and rolling hills. This is a great location for exploring Dunedin and The Otago Peninsula. Make sure to take Greg’s suggestion and take the steep walk down to nearby Tunnel Beach (best at low tide, one hour return from the carpark).

Greg, the owner and your host is a friendly, laid back, gentleman. Although we were booked in at the guest cottage, it was being used by Greg’s friend, so Greg in turn moved out and left the whole main house to us! We loved it, but would have been equally happy with the guest cottage. After a wonderful 3 night stay, Greg sent us off to The Catlins and Queenstown with a warm loaf of bread and about 8-lbs of his fresh garden tomatoes…what a deal!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing