We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AEROSMITH CONCERT DISSAPOINTING”

Forsyth Barr Stadium
Ranked #21 of 110 things to do in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Christchurch
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AEROSMITH CONCERT DISSAPOINTING”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very poor spound quailty with the sound echoing off the back wall of the stadium. We have since heard that many people left the concert early
We struggled to find accommodation that did not have a 2 or 3 day minimum stay committment. On enquiring about public transport the bus company told us they were planing to run only 3 busses to the stadium. 3 busses is minimal considering that 18,000 people attended.
Would not go to another oncert in Dunedin.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank EllaChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    39
    7
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best rugby stadium in NZ”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

If you in Dunedin and have a chance to watch a rugby game at this venue, don't hesitate. Great viewing, easy access and pretty sheltered from the elements. A great asset for the city; can't believe there are still people who are anti.
Dave.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Aerosmith Concert”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Plenty of seating and facilities. Good views of the stage. It was good that it was mostly covered in but take your jacket because it still gets cold. The concert was amazing but there was a fair amount of echo slamming off the back of the stadium. This improved during the night as the sound guys sorted it out.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank OwlGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I drove from CHCH to see Aerosmith play at Forsyth Barr.

I was very dissapointed with the stadium food & drink stalls. The lines were massive & disorganised. After lining up for 30mins for a drink they had run out of vodka & had run out of the four cup holders. This left me trying to carry four full cups back to my friends. There was a limit of four drinks each (which is reasonable) but when my partner tried to pay for four each together they made us do two separate transactions even though it was the same card.

It really wasn't a great system. Many people in the line were saying the same thing. I have been to many concerts and this was the most disorganised drink stall I have been to. It was very easy for people to push in & the line was right in the way of alot if foot traffic.


The staff were helpful & friendly. I feel that they were doing the best they could under the circumstances.

The stadium itself is lovely, nice that it is fully sheltered but also open at the side to let fresh air in.

I was impressed at how many toilets there were and the line always moved quick so that was great.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Aerosmith Concert”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I was impressed with this facility when watching some of the super 15 games on TV. One of the few (if not only) fully enclosed stadiums with a natural grass turf. Had to admit I was somewhat skeptical watch a concert but overall it worked pretty well. Acoustics were the greatest but even though we were on the halfway line it was pretty good seats to enjoy the show.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank onemanakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forsyth Barr Stadium also viewed

 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Forsyth Barr Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing