We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Lunch special" is great value”

Miga Korean BBQ Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 353 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Korean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Welly, NZ
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Lunch special" is great value”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We dropped by for Miga's $10 lunch special on our last full day in Dunedin. Family of four, so we tried different dishes - beef, squid, baby octopus, pork, all served with rice and we were also given some small side-dishes of seaweed, turnip (preserved kimchi style) and some pickled items. Food was fine, portions generous, much more than we'd get in Wellington for that price. If you are on a low-salt diet, be aware that Korean cooking condiments are on the saltier end of the scale. Service was excellent. Young owner/manager was keen, helpful and attentive. Happy with our lunch, would consider going back next time we are in Dunedin.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AII_Blacks_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    52
    14
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant. Great find in Dunedin!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We went here tonight and I liked it so much that I thought I should write straight away. Richard the owner served us himself tonight and was a great host and have us excellent tips.

We had the traditional meals, octopus and pork chilli sizzle was awesome and the hot pot soups tasted great.

All I can say is we will have to go back and try other dishes!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VORTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great kimchi pancake!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were suppose to go to Rainforest but either the owner went on vacation or the restaurant closed down. So we settled with Miga which was just next to Rainforest. No regrets. We ordered kimchi pancake. It was huge, crunchy, and excellent taste. We also had korean bbq which was good too! The resto served many side dishes which can really fill-up your hunger.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jepzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
344 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Excellent and interesitng food”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Eleven adults and three small boys have a really good banquet here on Monday. Not being experienced Korean foodies we ordered the set menu and it was good and varied. The service was attentive and polite if a little stretched at times.

A fun night out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner with whanau”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Highly recommend this restaurant. Service was excellent. Owner/Operator served us which was a nice touch. Every part of the meal was explained (and thoroughly enjoyed!). Well worth every cent we spent PLUS it's BYO if you choose so can't go wrong! Thank you for delivering a wonderful experience. Note to those who enjoy Korean BBQ...Shabu Shabu is separate so maybe someone should order that and the other person the BBQ...just saying :) ;)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miga Korean BBQ Restaurant also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Miga Korean BBQ Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing