We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple setting, great fish”
Review of Fish hook

Fish hook
Ranked #10 of 56 Quick Bites in Dunedin
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Being NZ's most iconic dish, Fish Hook takes a new approach to revive the reputation of kiwi 'fush and chups' as we know it. Providing the highest quality fresh fish caught from our own boat in the local waters off the southern coast. We offer a wide range of species to choose from, Blue Cod, Sole, Monk and Gurnard just to name a few. Choose to have your fresh fish beer battered, crumbed or grilled (for those looking for a healthy option).Team this with your choice of shoestring, chunky McCain's fries or Kumera fries (sweet potato), a variety of sauces or pick from the range of fresh salads to create your ideal fish and chip meal.If you want to get a bit fancy or try something different there's also calamari rings,scallops, sweet chilli prawn skewers or salt n pepper squid to name a few of your options and if you need something to quench your thurst. Local ales such as the classic southern Speights or Emersons are available along with a fine pick of wines and non alcoholic beverages.Locally owned and operated. Take away or sit in and enjoy a warm friendly atmosphere in the heart of Dunedin city.
Reviewed May 18, 2016

We saw a lot of people dining there and wanted something simple and not fancy with good fish, and this place was perfect. We had the blue cod and the squid and both were excellent-- highly recommended!

Date of visit: May 2016
1  Thank gvaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 73 of 218 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2016

I was looking forward to a nice big pile of fish and chips. firstly we had the whitebait fritter. This is a tiny offering, One piece, $7.00, and was not to my taste at all. Then we shared the fishermans basket which was quite a generous serve but there was no description of the fish used in this mixture.
The ordering is not straightforward- the board inside didn't seem to list the fish of the day, although the board outside did.
If you are hanging for Bluff oysters, they don't come fresh in their shells and are usually battered.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Francesca R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2016

Thought this place (no pun intended) was supposed to be top rate, the Cod was slightly overcooked and the chips were ok

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Theycallmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2016 via mobile

Was visiting Dunedin and was searching for a place for fish and chips after a disastrous outing in Cromwell. This place was highly rated so dropped in.

Place was taken over by new owners in February 2016.

The whole flounder costs $15 and was frozen and cooked when ordered so it had a very watery texture and taste.

Salt and Pepper squid is 5 for $5 which seems like a good deal but they are the thinnest rings ever. Taste was OK.

Buttered Sole fared better and was tasty.

Fatties were a little overcooked and you should be aware that the scoops pretty much serve 1.

Service itself was delightful. Extremely warm. Wish I could rate higher.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2016

Great choice of fish and other seafood and, unusually for New Zealand, a sit-down option. My wife and I had classic fish and chips. Beautifully cooked in obviously clean fat. If you like shark and tatties this is the place to try in downtown Dunedin.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AllanJGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish hook also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Fish hook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.