We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best fish and chips in Dunedin!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fish hook

Fish hook
Ranked #55 of 325 Restaurants in Dunedin
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Being NZ's most iconic dish, Fish Hook takes a new approach to revive the reputation of kiwi 'fush and chups' as we know it. Providing the highest quality fresh fish caught from our own boat in the local waters off the southern coast. We offer a wide range of species to choose from, Blue Cod, Sole, Monk and Gurnard just to name a few. Choose to have your fresh fish beer battered, crumbed or grilled (for those looking for a healthy option).Team this with your choice of shoestring, chunky McCain's fries or Kumera fries (sweet potato), a variety of sauces or pick from the range of fresh salads to create your ideal fish and chip meal.If you want to get a bit fancy or try something different there's also calamari rings,scallops, sweet chilli prawn skewers or salt n pepper squid to name a few of your options and if you need something to quench your thurst. Local ales such as the classic southern Speights or Emersons are available along with a fine pick of wines and non alcoholic beverages.Locally owned and operated. Take away or sit in and enjoy a warm friendly atmosphere in the heart of Dunedin city.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in Dunedin!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This place is easily the best fish and chippery in Dunedin. Friendly staff, clean restaurant, plenty of fish choice. Freshly battered or crumbed fish, plus a choice of fat cut, shoestring and kumara chips. You guys are doing an awesome job! You have a passion for the place and it shows. Have you thought about franchising this concept? I also really like the information on the fish, who catches it and where it comes from. The fish is also really FRESH. Have been here many times already and will keep on going back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank goforitnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    57
    22
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
438 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great F&C to take away or eat in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Clean easily accessible cafe/chipper at the student end of George St. Great choice, friendly very efficient service and super-fast food delivery.
Fish was great crumbed, the sole sandwich would feed two normal people, the chips are good and its all worth a visit. Beer/wine/other less interesting drinks available.
Tragic that the fisherman's basket was on a platter (what happened to the baskets!!), but the scallops were cooked to perfection too, with no resemblance to a squash ball. I think my salt and pepper squid turned into calamari rings by accident, but that is forgiven also.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank samandhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
203 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We had been told how good this place was. A great walk in, casual venue if you love fish. The blue cod we had was crumbed for us (you can have the fish grilled, battered or crumbed). It was fresh and beautifully cooked. Quaint surroundings and excellent service. Brilliant.

Helpful?
2 Thank 105FLSTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“fantastic tasty fish and chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

just managed to sneak in before they closed, and so glad we did! the fish is sooo fresh and tasty, with lovely big chips. all caughty locally and cooked on site, hot fresh and filling, jsut what hungry walkers need!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beefydan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Fish n Chips in Dunedin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Before fish hook opened, The Flying Squid was the only place I would go to for fish n chips. But now, it's tough to go back. What makes Fish Hook great is that the fish is fresh. Some of it, to my understanding, is even caught locally by the owners themselves. There is a decent selection of fish including brill, sole, blue cod, and gurnard (all available battered, crumbed, or even pan-grilled). Included on the menu are side options such as squid rings and hot dogs and even a couple of fresh salads. Overall, my favourite thing about Fish Hook is that I can eat a plate of fried food without that regretful feeling at the end. It tastes much lighter and less greasy that most fish and chip options (Flying Squid included). Fish Hook really bridges the gap between fast food and sit-down restaurant quility fish. The atmosphere is very nice, and staff are friendly. And oh yes, they serve beer. Closed on Mondays.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TigersLovePepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish hook also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Fish hook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing