We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Supper with Asian Vibe”
Review of Neptuno - CLOSED

Neptuno
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty Supper with Asian Vibe”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

A small menu, but my husband and I were both really happy with our food. The restaurant was quiet and so the service was very quick! We had a lovely view over the beach and the restaurant was cosy. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    14
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We went for our work christmas party. Everyone enjoyed their meal. I had the crispy salmon and caramel chocolate for dessert. Salmon and potatoes were so good! The decor is very pretty - I especially like the mural on the bar. Can't beat the view! I love that they have vege and herb garden of their own.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food with a view”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Lucky to have met a local who mentioned the great cafés for coffee at St Clair beach. We enjoyed tasty , good value lunch included salmon cooked to perfection, chicken and bacon burger with a twist. Wait staff very friendly and attentive. While waiting for lunch we enjoyed watching the waves along the beach front. The restaurant has an edible grade via its entrance very cosy inside on a rather wet day outside.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I went to Neptuno for Sunday luch with a group of 10 friends. We were visting Dunedin for the Rugby and needed a nice place for our Sunday wind down. We had not made a booking but that did not matter. The staff did everything possible to accommodate us and set a couple of tables together for us. The service was fantastic and the food excellent. It was a beautiful sunny after and after lunch the staff made space for us on the deck over looking St Clair Beach. Top marks to Neptuno

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great spot - good food, unbeatable view”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Booked for a group of 4 for dinner (it can be booked on line). Not a huge menu choice - but we were all able to find things we fancied (all happened to be versions of fish). The the starters and mains were well presented with some excellent flavours and everyone seem to enjoy their choice. The wait staff were attentive with out being intrusive.
The only slight dissapointment was my desert (I probably shouldnt have had it anyway!)
The choc / caramel tart looked good but was just too sweet for my liking with a very firm base that I struggled with. The Creme Brulee had by another in the group got top marks. I would certainly go back but maybe share a desert next time.
I am told lunch time weekends are very busy - need to book.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sadnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neptuno also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Mosgiel, Dunedin
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing