We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good food”

Ironic Cafe and Bar
Ranked #3 of 449 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: **WINNER NZ CAFE OF THE YEAR 2014/2015** OUR FOOD IS FRESH, MODERN AND INNOVATIVE. We source most of our ingredients locally and also use our neighbours at the Otago Farmers Market, Evansdale Cheese, Cairnmuir Central Otago olive oil & fresh fruit & vegetables throughout our changing seasons.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly maitre'd was happy to take our group of 36 people for lunch on Thursday.
Orders were taken by table and the food came out orderly and promptly by table! We were very impressed.
Everyone loved the Southern Cheese Rolls and the Whitebait omelette!!
Would definitely go again :)

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Sarah Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (984)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 984 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food was lovely and the service was very friendly and supportive to our special wishes like extra plates and more dip for the fries. The fries are wonderful, hot, crisp and just the right amount of saltl!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stuedemerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I dined at this cafe and ordered sliders & bacon & eggs with 2x hot chocolates.
The hot chocolates came out cold so had to be sent back to be remade. When the meals came out the sliders were dry and uneatable, the bacon was oily. Both meals more than 3/4 was left on the plate.
It was not an enjoyable meal, in fact one of the worst I have ever had and very disappointed to have wasted $$ here. I contacted the manager but nothing was done no apology or reimbursement. Would not recommend this place unless you want to loose your money.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank bex4joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Rather than breakfast in our hotel we came to the Ironic Cafe opposite the famous railway station and were glad we did. Service was brisk and friendly and the coffees came quickly, nice and hot. For breakfast we ordered omelettes to our choice and theye were had to fault. We liked the vibe and would certainly try lunch or dinner next time.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beheaded c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019 via mobile

Uncomfortably echoing and noisy environment (why don’t cafes address this aspect of design and furnishing?). Food is good.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank thoughtfuldancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ironic Cafe and Bar also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Ironic Cafe and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing