We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Otago Peninsula

Otago Peninsula
Book In Advance
More Info
$44.53*
and up
Small-Group Tour of Dunedin City
Ranked #2 of 105 things to do in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
111 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Those Moeraki Boulders are HUGE! Be sure to climb inside the broken ones for a great picture. It can be a bit breezy so take a jacket.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbilovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,120
    329
    47
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pukekohe East, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You must take a drive here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

It's not a long drive & it's worth it. The views are fantastic. We had a picnic & fed the ducks. There's a playground. Saw a couple of albatross flying overhead at the end of the peninsula.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
335 reviews
261 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

The Otago Peninsula has some really beautiful scenery- very photogenic, especially with the fine weather we had! We spent most of our time at the wonderful Larnach Castle, and just enjoying the scenery.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ladybugsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It was ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We went out to the Peninsula around 3pm on a Thursday afternoon and assumed that because it's a major tourist attraction then there'd be some food outlets or small cafes. Only 1 of the 4 food outlets we went to (including the actual pub) had either stopped serving food or were closed so make sure you get lunch before you head out. We thought Lanarch Castle would have good food so we headed there but it was a $28 fee purely for entry through the front gates! Allow about 40 minutes to drive from Dunedin to the far tip of the Peninsula. Don't be fooled by tourist maps that say the tip is the best place to see sea lion and penguin colonies. We were informed by staff at the Albatross centre that this was highly unlikely and that we should turn around and head back to Sandfly Bay which was 20 minutes in the direction we had just come from. Thus we did and managed to see some wild sea lions - gorgeous! Park your car in the carpark and it's either a 5 minute walk to the lookout over the dunes (if this is as far as you are going then take binoculars) or a 15 minute walk down steep terrain to the actual shore line where you are metres from the animals. There were no penguins in sight but there were a few sea lions. Allow at least a good hour from the carpark and back. The views along both the ocean road and the mountain road are gorgeous but not for the faint hearted or vehicles that are in need of a service. I was a little disappointed as we had driven 3.5 hours from Queenstown based on reviews and tourist maps.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ell090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M, Owner at Otago Peninsula, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Yep - the old girl is not one for the feint hearted, or if your wheels are quite up to the challenge. And you drove from QT to come visit? An impressive feat, and one I've not heard of too many other folks doing. (Dunedin Tourism... you reading this??? These folks drove from Queenstown to visit our neck of the woods. How often do you hear of that happening?)

Thanks for visiting (and we hope the seaward drive wasn't that scary...)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
170 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

The place is a very scenic place where we just took our time and enjoyed the view slowly. My party managed to capture some great photos of it and since it's my 2nd time here, I just slowed down and enjoyed my time. The journey was slightly cut short as, as usual, the sudden rain appeared and we had to leave the place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Digitalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otago Peninsula also viewed

 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Otago Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing