We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for.”
Review of Motel on Carroll

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel on Carroll
Ranked #53 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for.”
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Spending a month travelling around New Zealand for the Rugby World Cup meant we were in Dunedin for 2 matches (to support England). The location of Trinity was great - quiet location with private covered car park yet easy walking distance to shops and restaurants etc. A Lone Star restaurant across the road so no need to go into town for the evening if feeling lazy.
We were greeted by Tissa with a warm friendly welcome and given loads of local information as we were travellers new to the city. He is also very knowledgable about the areas of interest around South Island. He was a star and helped us park our campervan too.
Our room was not big but had everything in it - tv with several channels, heater, hair dryer, equiped kitchenette, a sofa and a very comfy bed, and spotlessy clean.
There is also a lounge with books, tables to eat at and cookers if you wanted to prepare and eat a meal. Also has internet access.
It's not a 'pretty' motel but that really doesn't matter when the service and facilities etc are so good.
I reccommend this motel and would stay there again if we ever went back to NZ.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amberpuss47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    21
    11
    5
    11
See reviews for
19
21
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2011

having look for accommodation for the world cup and there being
a shortage ,we were very happy to find the trinity court .we booked on line and
the replay was prompted .On arrival tissa the owner was more than helpful the
car park was of street and safe .the rooms were clean and warm,
there is a full kitchen and internet, and with in ten minutes walk of town
its was ideal ,would stay there again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbier69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We booked rooms here for our visit to Dunedin for the Rugby World Cup. Tissa was extremely prompt and helpful in communications and gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived. He was always very helpful during our stay. The accommodation was good value for money. It was warm, clean and comfortable and the location very convenient. There is secure on site car parking if needed. There is also an excellent cafe on the corner of the street which serves a wonderful breakfast and The Lone Star bar/restaurant across the road with very friendly staff serving meals until late evening.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loobyloo-Southampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nippon9
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Being here few times & exactly what I need.Covered park is great and my rental is safely locked in the night.Very central,less than 10 minutes walk,can go to a movies or get food.Rooms are nothing fancy but very clean & comfy ,have everything from hairdryer to satellite channels.Owners are very friendly and always made sure my room & bed was warm when I come back in the night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nippon9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

We looked for a affordable location for our family. Trinity Court was just that. Walking distance from the centre of Dunedin, off street parking (covered).
The room was nothing special but had everything we needed. A small separate bedroom with lounge, a small kitchen and a view of a blind wall.
The chocolate factory was fun and the museum is great with kids. Lots of do things!
We watched the pinquins and albatrosses at the beach.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.5 mi away
The Law Courts Hotel
The Law Courts Hotel
#47 of 61 in Dunedin
107 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quest Dunedin
Quest Dunedin
#48 of 61 in Dunedin
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#56 of 61 in Dunedin
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#33 of 61 in Dunedin
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel on Carroll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel on Carroll

Property: Motel on Carroll
Address: 10 Carroll Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand (Formerly Trinity Court Motel)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel on Carroll 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Motel on Carroll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing