We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yay to edible squid!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Rue

Cafe Rue
Ranked #73 of 325 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yay to edible squid!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I can't count the number of times I've ordered squid in restaurants only to be disappointed with the results. No at Cafe Rue - what a joy my meal was to eat. the squid was VERY flavoursome, melted in my mouth in fact, and the salad with it was just right.
I drink a lot of coffee and I've yet to have one from cafe Rue that I would consider less than perfect for me.
The service is great, the position in Dunedin just right, the tables are set apart, the lounge suite comfortable - why go anywhere else.
Thanks guys.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Su A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    26
    12
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Disappointed - just ok really.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We went for a girls night out. We did our research and picked this restaurant based on the online menu - when we arrived at the restaurant turns out this is not the right menu. We made comment and the waitress took note, the owner talked to us later, but have checked since we went and the old menu is still on the website. How hard is it to make that change? Some of us ordered the duck which was supposed to be served with an infused rice - but apparently on the day "the chef decided not to include it with the meal". Yeah if you are going to do that how about telling the customer? The owner said that sometimes they include rice and sometimes not - trying to keep the price down he said. Ok, good restaurants have consistency - obviously not an issue here because they make decisions on a whim. The desserts we chose in our research were not on the menu so really disappointing - but what was there was nice. What we got was ok - but have to say the chat potatoes were lacking, and the hand cut chips were not crisp and fluffy. Probably won't be going back, and won't be recommending it overall.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Styly_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food and helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were seated and asked about a kids menu. We were told they did not have one but they offered to speak to the chef. The chef made delicious fish and chips for the children and then created amazing sundaes for the kids. They had choc fish, ice cream, chocolate and ice cream. They looked spectacular, so much so another diner (adult) wanted one! I had the brandy snap and it was delicious and looked great

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Span2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Not as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Had a friend who raved about Cafe Rue so thought we would try it for lunch. Wait staff very friendly and helpful but food was average at best :( Very fatty duck crepe (about a tablespoon of acutal edible duck in there) and the steamed rice was dry and inedible. Hubbys salad was ok but not worth the price on the menu.
Won't be returning unfortunately.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tripJan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Surprising lunch menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Honestly, I was shocked at the audacity of such a complex set of menus for a cafe. This business is clearly owned by passionate foodies with ambitions of being a fine dining establishment. I had a duck crepe (???) and it was divine. They had an open fire place blazing which created a warm and homely atmosphere. Around the room everyone was smiling and chatting like it was a Friday night and not a Tuesday lunch (meh).

The second surprise was the price. It was cheap. So all in all it was a very nice and affordable lunch and I will be going there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rueben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rue also viewed

Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Cafe Rue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing