We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Ranked #14 of 58 Hotels in Dunedin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for a thee days conference.
Location of the hotel is quite good within 5 minutes walk to the octagon. Toiletries are nz made organic products which is really good.
A little drawback is that there is no central air conditioning - just a fan heater. The bathroom needs better ventilation.
Overall the hotel is value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xqu006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay whilst here for your conference. I hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    305
    114
    25
    12
See reviews for
101
278
45
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Always stay here when I am in Dunedin. It's perfect. Location is great, big rooms, but the best thing of all? Quite simply the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in a hotel ... ! Gorgeous. I haven't eaten there and so I can't comment on that. One grumble ... can we get some radio channels on the TV. Recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Brendan579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing your review and thank you for staying with us once again. Despite getting many comments about how comfortable our beds are, it is still wonderful to hear.
I promise to investigate further the possibility of radio channels through our televisions. I suspect that we only have a certain number of channels to play with so by adding radio stations we will lose television channels. I will speak to our Sky Television representative to see what our options are.

Thank you once again for your kind words.

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Ideal hotel for a business trip in terms of central location, near to a choice of local bars and restaurants. Friendly and professional service, excellent cooked breakfast and comfortable, quiet room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that you found us the ideal choice for your business trip and we hope to see you again sometime soon.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
263 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This Hotel specialises in tour groups so there is always chaos in the reception area. Rooms are OK and it is just a three star Hotel in a town. There is a valet car parking services which is helpful. Breakfasts were boring so we went out.

Room Tip: I think that higher up is preferable and not on the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very for your review. I am sorry that you found the Reception area chaotic with our Tour business. This should not be the case as we would normally expect to be able to look after our Tour business as well as our other guests without compromising our standards. Our systems must have fallen down on this occasion and rest assured I will investigate further to ensure that this does not happen again.
I am glad that you found our central city location excellent and our valet parking service useful.
Many thanks for staying with us and I hope to see you again some time.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my boss when down for work over night. Great room, breakfast & staff. Great location as can walk everywhere from hotel = to restaurants and to our work which was nice to be able to do. I would say this is one of the better hotels in Dunedin as its such a small city & tends to be bit outdated when it comes to having business travellers to the city. This hotel seemed better deco & service so I would recommend it over other ones.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 70HT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review. I am extremely pleased that you had a pleasant stay and I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Dunedin.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Friendly staff, comfy bed and nice restaurant. Definately go for the cooked breakfast - bacon / mushrooms / eggs, awesome!
Only minor negative is that the restaurant is a little chilly in the evening - would recommend an additional layer while dining...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 312MichaelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that you found the staff friendly, the bed comfortable and an awesome breakfast. Sorry about the temperature of the restaurant for your evening meal. I suspect that the air conditioning was turned down too low and I will pass on this comment to the Food and Beverage Team to ensure that this is monitored more closely.

I look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

With best wishes

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed for 3 days in March during double header Rugby weekend, hotel was a max capacity but awesome atmosphere, The Warriors stayed as well making the stay all the more special. Cool little bar in the hotel as well as casino where we had a great time and a good meal. Beds were very comfortable, some street noise at night but the town was packed so was to be expected I guess. Staff were very helpfull. we would definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 448mikej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest

I was very pleased to read about how you enjoyed your stay with us when the Warriors were in town. They seemed to be travelling with a lot of their fans and I hear there was a great atmosphere at the game. There was certainly a great atmosphere here, as you mentioned, and I am delighted that our high standards were maintained despite being so busy.

Thank you for writing your review and thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again some day.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 58 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.0 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.1 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#10 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Southern Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Property: Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Address: 118 High Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#13 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Southern Cross 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin’s largest and most prestigious hotel, the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, enjoys a premium location in the heart of the city. Just a short walk from the Octagon, railway station, theatres, shops, and close to Otago university, it is the perfect location from which to explore Dunedin. Your every comfort is well provided for, with 178 attractive rooms and suites, extensive hotel facilities, and a very high standard of service. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of room styles, including standard rooms and sumptuously furnished suites up to a four-star-plus standard, with quality room amenities. Superb dining options in our selection of restaurants, cafe and bar. High quality hotel facilities for business and pleasure, including extensive conference and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Scenic Hotel Southern Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing