We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel is situated close to the city center and the main attractions as well as restaurants and shops can be reached by foot easily. The rooms were clean and comfortable and service was good (e.g. staff would park your car in the hotel car park for free – although you have to pay for the car park itself).This hotel can be recommended if you are planning to stay in Dunedin for a few nights to explore the city and surroundings. During our trip we were never unsatisfied with any hotel from the Scenic chain.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1982222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with Scenic Hotels on your travels around New Zealand. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and have never been left unsatisfied by any Hotel from the 100% New Zealand owned Scenic Hotel Group. Whether you are staying at a Heartland Hotel, Scenic Hotel or our 5 star Te Waonui Forest Retreat in Franz Josef you will get the same warm welcome and great service.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    331
    121
    25
    12
See reviews for
113
299
45
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

this is a center city hotel and with no temperature control we had to have the windows open and the noise is a factor in enjoying a good nights sleep. other than that the room was okay and the service was good. the location is good but i do not believe this is the best hotel in dunedin

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctorj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. Whilst I was glad to see that the service you received was good as well as our location, I am sorry that you did not enjoy a better night's sleep due to the room being too warm.

I hope that you will enjoy the rest of your time travelling around New Zealand and have a safe trip back home.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The staff was nice, helpful and friendly. The rooms were quiet and clean. We also enjoyed how large the rooms were. The location was perfect. It is very conveniently located in the city and we found it easy to walk to shopping and dining. We also found it easy to locate and in exiting onto the motorway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I wish you safe and happy travels for the rest of your trip to New Zealand. Look out for the other Scenic Hotel Group Hotels around the country - Heartland Hotels, Scenic Hotels and Te Waonui Forest Retreat in Franz Josef - as they all offer the same warm welcome and friendly service as well as great value.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at the Franz Joseph Scenic property some time ago and were impressed enough to give the Dunedin hotel a try when we were in town for three days, including a weekend. There is a small boutique style casino on site, with good inhouse restaurant options doing away with any desire to look elsewhere. The reception staff were helpful and knowledgeable, assisting us to arrange excursions. Per the Franz hotel the bed was excellent and very sleep-inducing. We stayed in a two level tower suite, which gave us plenty of room to spread out and served as a great base for our long weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoprocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrian c, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and thank you for staying with Scenic Hotels both here in Dunedin and in Franz Josef.
I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable time and it is wonderful to hear how helpful our team was. As you rightly say, we have plenty of dining options in house with the Carlton Restaurant alongside the Ports O'Call Bar and Grill and our in house cafe. Dunedin Casino, situated in the heart of the Hotel, also has a cafe and restaurant and it is well worth a visit to try your luck.
Thank you once again and I hope to be able to welcome you back to the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross in the future.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights 29 nov-1st dec 2012. My husband arranged champagne in the room for my birthday which he says was no hassle to arrange, and he even had the manager speak to him personally to see if everything was ok once we got there. There were free chocolates too but we are not sure if they were with the champagne or the room, either way it was a lovely touch and delicious! Our room was really spacious, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom big and lovely toiletries. The only downside to the hotel was that the water pressure was really bad, so the shower was very weak, but this is a very minor point in the grand scheme of the hotel. The breakfast was a buffet and had loads of choice of hot and cold food. The reception staff and concierge were very helpful in recommending places to eat, and the location of the hotel is perfect to explore Dunedin. The casino was great and very friendly, as this was my first time I didnt want to be completely bamboozled, but the staff took the time to explain things and made my experience fab, beginners luck!! I would definitely recommend this hotel, a fab stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsKnight123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much - extra pleasing that Lady Luck was by your side on your visit to Dunedin Casino. Sorry the water pressure was not strong. We try and monitor this so that we can fix any issues before it affects our guests. I am glad that it did not detract from your stay at all.

Hopefully we will see you again soon. In the meantime have a wonderful Christmas and Happy New Year.

With best wishes

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Very good place to stay and have done so a number of times. Good sized rooms, always quiet in my experience, very comfortable beds, good pillows, lovely towels and toiletries. Staff welcoming and helpful.

I usually eat breakfast and other meals elsewhere although have had reasonable meals at Casino upstairs (especially in winter when pie is very good) and downstairs restaurant (now closed and served in bar) used to be good. Breakfast service in cafe can be slow.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you enjoy your stays with us. It is particularly pleasing to hear how our staff are so welcoming and helpful.

I am sorry that you usually choose to dine out. Our Port's O' Call Grill Restaurant has closed for now but the Carlton Restaurant is open with the same high quality dining. In fact, we recently have taken on a new chef and the feedback we have received is that the food is better than ever. Alternatively the Port's O' Call Bar has a very good menu - more of a casual pub food selection. Hopefully we now have something for everyone.

The Carlton Restaurant is open every day for breakfast and has both a full buffet and an A la Carte selection. I also promise to review the service speed in the Cafe and see what can be done to speed this up.

Thank you for continuing to stay with us and I hope to see you again soon. In the meantime have a wonderful Christmas and New Year.

With best wishes

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had a lovely weekend at the Southern Cross Scenic Hotel. The staff were fantastic and friendly. The location was great, as was the service and food at the restaurant. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean and roomy. I have already told lots of people about how good our weekend was.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. I am very pleased you had such a wonderful stay. I hope to see you again in the near future.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
759 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.0 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
6.2 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
626 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Southern Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Property: Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Address: 118 High Street | Cnr Princes & High Streets, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#13 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Southern Cross 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin’s largest and most prestigious hotel, the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, enjoys a premium location in the heart of the city. Just a short walk from the Octagon, railway station, theatres, shops, and close to Otago university, it is the perfect location from which to explore Dunedin. Your every comfort is well provided for, with 178 attractive rooms and suites, extensive hotel facilities, and a very high standard of service. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of room styles, including standard rooms and sumptuously furnished suites up to a four-star-plus standard, with quality room amenities. Superb dining options in our selection of restaurants, cafe and bar. High quality hotel facilities for business and pleasure, including extensive conference and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Southern Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing