We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Favourite place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Ranked #15 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Favourite place to stay”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I used to stay here heaps when I travelled for work, this is my Favourite hotel in the South Island, I just want to take the bed home with me, they are so comfty, and the Port'o'Call does an amazing Lamb Rack with a Portobello Risotto, and a good wine selection to go with it, the next morning they serve a great cooked breakfast and coffee.

Room Tip: I always get one with a King Size bed, and high up to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest

I am delighted that you had such a good stay and thank you for continuing to stay with us - it is an honour to be considered your favourite hotel in the South Island.
Our beds are wonderfully comfortable and you may be interested to know that we do sell the duvets and bed toppers so that you can recreate the experience at home.
Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross in the future.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    312
    118
    25
    12
See reviews for
104
286
45
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Once you have worked out that there are two wings, with room numbers duplicated, it is easy enough to navigate. The hotel building includes the casino so is the obvious place to stay if you like that sort of thing. The hotel is on the edge of the main shopping area (and a block away from the Duke of Wellington for aficionados of UK beers). Rooms had two double beds and were comfortable and clean. As with most hotels you have to sit on the bed to watch TV. Coffee included coffee bags and plunger coffee! In-room wifi $5 for 2 hours or $10 for 24 hours. Large range of plug ins for connected systems. We used the washing machines, though these were in the other block and involved using machines on different floors.
One of the features for groups is the Scottish themed dinner complete with piper and haggis with the full Burns intro. It was also good to see black pudding in the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chase_Mollys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay - it seems as though you got a true taste of Dunedin's Scottish heritage whilst you were here!
We hope you enjoyed your NZ trip and have a safe trip home.

With best wishes

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed here for a work conference. It was comfortable but had no wow factor. The staff were ok but not super friendly. Needs an update and charging for wifi in 2012 when people are staying for a conference is disappointing. The best thing was the well stocked breakfast buffet.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nikola180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review. I was pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our breakfast. However, I am sorry that your experience was not more enjoyable. We do charge for internet usage but unlike many hotels we offer a very competitive package with 24 hour unlimited usage for laptops only $10 and for smart phones only $5. This is a high speed secure network with helpline support if needed. We also include free internet usage in our CBD package which is currently available on our website.
I hope that we will see you again and thank you once again for your feedback.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a nice hotel that comes with all the standard things you would expect from a hotel. Clean room and modern facilities and internet at a fee (wireless and wired).

We had an issue with hot water and they promptly moved us to another room. The staff were very friendly and responded to any question or issue we had very quickly.

The hotel is very close to the Octagon and many restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familywithinfant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad that we were able to remedy any issues that you faced in an effective manner and I hope to be able to welcome you back to the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross in the near future.

With kind regards

Adrian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We booked on line at the last minute looking for somewhere to stay in Dunedin... Big mistake!

The room looked great upon arrival, but came with too many cons...

* noisy room
* hot in room... Hard to regulate temperature
* worst bed ever... Think princess and the pea!

We would've reported these concerns personally but reception staff didn't
Actually ask if we enjoyed our stay!

Won't be back and cant recommend.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NikolaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest

I am sorry that you did not find the bed or room comfortable and that this led to you not enjoying your stay. I am particularly disappointed that we missed the opportunity to speak to you directly about your issues and I apologise wholeheartedly for this.

Thank you for writing your review and for your feedback. We will strive to do better in future.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here overnight as part of a business trip.
Nice, clean rooms, roomy (two double beds), cheerful staff. Central location, would happily stay again.
Though was a it surprised to not see a treadmill in the gym - lots of other stuff though :)

Room Tip: I stayed in the new wing :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwimelnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and thank you for staying with us at the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would happily stay with us again.
You raised one point about the lack of a Treadmill. I must apologise for this. Our Treadmill is currently awaiting a spare part (had to be sourced from the US) and we are hoping it will be back up and running before too long. I am sorry for any inconvenience this caused but hope that it will be back up and running by the next time you stay with us.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, 5 minute walk to the octagon and dunedin station. The hotel looks like its stuck in the 80's but the rooms are surprisingly nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. The beds are very comfy and the bathrooms have been updated. Parking is $11.50 per night, you have to leave your car keys at reception so if this bothers you consider staying elsewhere. Internet costs extra, if you have a smart phone it's NZD5 for 24 hours which isn't that bad. It's right next to the casino if that takes your fancy and there is a brothel as you walk to the station from the hotel, so the area feels slightly dodgy but I didn't have any issues as a solo female traveller.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sosuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross. I am glad that you had a comfortable stay with us. As you mention, we have a great location in the heart of the city's CBD and we are within close walking distances of the Octagon and the Railway Station as well as being far enough removed to be away from the late night noise that goes with the night life.

The hotel had it's bedrooms and restaurant refurbished in 2008 and so I was pleased to see that you thought them nicely decorated. Millions of dollars have been spent in recent years on all the Scenic Hotel Group's properties throughout New Zealand and so you will find a similarly high standard no matter where you stay which goes along with the warm Kiwi welcome.

Your other point highlights the fact that there is a brothel a couple of hundred yards down the road. Whilst I understand your concerns, I have not heard of this creating any issues for any of our guests in the past and I would certainly consider the area that we are situated in to be very safe. We would be more than happy to recommend alternative, and equally quick, routes to the Station if any guests preferred to avoid walking past this building.

Thank you once again for your review and I hope to be able to welcome you back to Dunedin in the future.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#12 of 57 in Dunedin
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.0 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#10 of 57 in Dunedin
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Southern Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Property: Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Address: 118 High Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#13 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Southern Cross 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin’s largest and most prestigious hotel, the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, enjoys a premium location in the heart of the city. Just a short walk from the Octagon, railway station, theatres, shops, and close to Otago university, it is the perfect location from which to explore Dunedin. Your every comfort is well provided for, with 178 attractive rooms and suites, extensive hotel facilities, and a very high standard of service. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of room styles, including standard rooms and sumptuously furnished suites up to a four-star-plus standard, with quality room amenities. Superb dining options in our selection of restaurants, cafe and bar. High quality hotel facilities for business and pleasure, including extensive conference and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Southern Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing