We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good set up!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Niseko-cho, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good set up!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Really nice hotel, great facilities, casino! gym! resturant! pub! cafe! what more do you need! Rooms are really nice aswell, clean, good tv, good bed, great location close to city centre but not right in the middle and the staff were really helpful aswell!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesReihl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back to the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross in the near future.
With best wishes

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    318
    120
    25
    12
See reviews for
110
290
45
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

For me when on business my accommodation is of top priority, I choose to stay at The Scenic Southern Cross because it offers me comfort, security and the hospitality one expects when away from home as often as I am. I now bring my wife with me so she too can enjoy the many comforts the Hotel offers. If its a comfortable bed and a soft pillow you want look no further than the Southern Cross. Of course your stay starts and ends at the reception desk. The staff have never been friendlier and we do enjoy the welcome back which given with genuine warmth.

Room Tip: We enjoy the corner suite, ithey have more and the views out weigh any extra street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest
It is always good to see such a positive review and I am sure the team will get a great boost once they have read your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and thank you for continuing to support the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross. I look forward to welcoming both you and your wife back to Dunedin in the near future.
With best wishes

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have stayed at the Southern Cross several times, and loved the huge super king size bed.
It was supremely comfortable, and the pillows also. The booking was a breeze, and the staff were all very helpful. We will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us once again at the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Invercargill NZ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Southern Cross Hotel. The comfort of the pillows with the goose feathers which you can purchase and also the little extras like the Earth Organics Cucumber and Mint Ranges of shampoo and soaps. The room is always very clean also.

Room Tip: Our room was beside the lift and we didn't really notice it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am delighted that you and your husband had such an enjoyable time. We realise how important it is to get the basics right such as giving our guests a good night's sleep in a clean room and it is great to get such positive feedback. Thank you once again and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

With kind regards

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Booked this hotel on recommendation and was not disappointed. Great location (same building as the casino) and short walk to shops and The Octagon. Super comfy beds and pillows, and spacious room. We had a slight problem with the audio on our TV not working - the staff were up straight away to attend to it, and even offered to move us to another room. Cooked & continental breakfast combo is great value. This hotel made our first visit to Dunedin really enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AH1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you had such an enjoyable stay and that we were able to rectify your issue with the audio efficiently and well. I hope that your first visit to Dunedin won't be your last and look forward to welcoming you back to the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross in the future. Do remember that the Scenic Hotel Group has many wonderful properties throughout New Zealand and you are sure of the same high level of service whereever you go.

With best wishes

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaitangata
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I have stayed a few times and have found the staff are friendly and very efficient.We loved the extra comfortable bed and the super comfortable pillows!We will definately be staying at Southern Cross again.We have visited The Hotel Restaurant at other stays and have found the service and quality of food excellent.Overall we would highly recommend The Southern Cross.

Room Tip: "Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted to be considered "One of the best". I look forward to seeing you again soon.

with best wishes

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed with my girlfriend, we had a tower suite, with kitchen/lounge upstairs, and two double beds on the ground floor. The beds were the most comfortable beds we have slept in, as well as the pillows.
The service from the staff was sublime, a huge well done to Lani Hagaman who obviously prides herself in this high standard of service.Nothing was a problem, and staff were one step ahead. The happy hour invitation on the Tues night at the bar was fab, the nibbles, esp the mini pies were awesome!!! The hospitality overall was great, we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The tower rooms are quiet, there are stairs up to the kitchenette/lounge area....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Manager at Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Guest

I am delighted that you had such a wonderful time here at the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross. It was also very pleasing to hear that the team was one step ahead with regards to service. It is extremely important to all of us that we try and anticipate our guest's needs and I am sure that you will find this level of service across all Scenic and Heartland Hotels.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With best wishes

Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.0 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.8 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunedin Palms Motel
Dunedin Palms Motel
#10 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Southern Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Property: Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Address: 118 High Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#13 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Southern Cross 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin’s largest and most prestigious hotel, the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, enjoys a premium location in the heart of the city. Just a short walk from the Octagon, railway station, theatres, shops, and close to Otago university, it is the perfect location from which to explore Dunedin. Your every comfort is well provided for, with 178 attractive rooms and suites, extensive hotel facilities, and a very high standard of service. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of room styles, including standard rooms and sumptuously furnished suites up to a four-star-plus standard, with quality room amenities. Superb dining options in our selection of restaurants, cafe and bar. High quality hotel facilities for business and pleasure, including extensive conference and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Southern Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing