We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a couple of nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“OK for a couple of nights”
Reviewed April 14, 2011

This is a typical city centre hotel catering for business people as well as tourists. Our room was on the fourth floor overlooking the car park, which was no problem as it was probably quieter than a room at the front of the hotel. The room was adequate, with all the facilities that you would expect. The bathroom was modern and very compact and had the tiniest sink I’ve ever seen. On our first full day, the room wasn’t made up until mid-afternoon, which was bit inconvenient. The breakfast choice was very good and plentiful. The main problem with this hotel is the public rooms, if you want somewhere to sit and relax, there is only a few seats in the reception area, there isn’t a separate lounge area. Internet access for those of us without WiFi and or own laptop is also in the reception area where people were walking past to the coffee shop all the time. The bar is open to the public and quite frankly is scruffy and not what you would expect for a hotel of this grade. We didn’t try the restaurant in the evening, there are plenty of places to eat around the Octagon which is within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimr96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    331
    121
    25
    12
See reviews for
113
299
45
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We had only stayed in a few largish hotels on our trip and these had been the most disappointing so we wren't full of enthusiasm when we arrived here. We were very early having stayed out on the Otago Peninsula the night before but we were met by a charming lady who gave us the keys to our room and confirmed that we were able to leave our car round the back in the hotel's own free car park.

The room was quite plush, clean and modern, although air conditioning would have been nice as the sun was shining right into the room - we had to close the curtains all day to try and keep the temperature manageable.

My only other whinge was the inevitable large hotel malaise of charging for wi-fi. We tried to use it and it cut me off but luckily they didn't bill us so I suppose that's something but come on guys, make wi-fi free!

The hotel is located an easy walk from the Octagon ,and an array of bars and restaurants. We ate in town so can't comment on the hotel's restaurant but I can recommend the Cadbury's factory tour - lots of free samples!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotel Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Very comfortable hotel in central Dunedin with great service. We were fortunate to have a room available immediately following the earthquake in Christchurch when everything on the east coast was booked. Our only choice became our best choice. Very nice modern rooms, free parking, great service with good food available within the Casino at reasonable prices. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

This hotel is a very old hotel having been operating in Dunedin for over 50 years that I am aware of. It appears to have undergone many renovations over the years, but nothing can hide its age.

We found the checkin staff polite and friendly, but lacking in knowledge of the hotel and the surrounding area. There is limited car parking at the rear of the hotel, but it is not secured. There was no-one available to assist us with our bags.

We booked a suite and were shocked to discover that this hotel considers a loft sleeping area with a downstairs living area as a suite. That's a first for us.

The hotel is approx 10 mins walk from the CBD where there are plenty of shops, cafes and restaurants which offer good options, particulary for breakfast. There is no need to use the over priced restaurant in the hotel.

Cable internet is available in the rooms for a fee. Sat TV is available, however the selection of channnels is poor.

We were woken up early in the morning by the sound of the rubbish collection.

Upon checkout everything went smoothly, however again there was no-one to assist with the bags.

I don't know Dunedin that well, so I can't say if there are better options available, but if you think there are, then I would suggest you take it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacko582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

It was a public holiday and it showed in the restaurant the night we arrived. Two young girls did an admirable job coping with a tour group of 25. The food was nice as was the buffet breakfast the next morning. The room had an Ok view and was quite nice without be memorable.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Professional and helpful staff, good location, clean and spacious room.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_around27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Stayed here for three nights with our four year old. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spotlessly clean and a fairly good size. The bathrooms were pretty small but very clean. Easy walk into the main city sights. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
759 reviews
0.1 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.0 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
6.2 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 61 in Dunedin
626 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Southern Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Southern Cross

Property: Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Address: 118 High Street | Cnr Princes & High Streets, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#13 Business Hotel in Dunedin
#16 Family Hotel in Dunedin
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Scenic Hotel Southern Cross 4.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin’s largest and most prestigious hotel, the Scenic Hotel Southern Cross, enjoys a premium location in the heart of the city. Just a short walk from the Octagon, railway station, theatres, shops, and close to Otago university, it is the perfect location from which to explore Dunedin. Your every comfort is well provided for, with 178 attractive rooms and suites, extensive hotel facilities, and a very high standard of service. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of room styles, including standard rooms and sumptuously furnished suites up to a four-star-plus standard, with quality room amenities. Superb dining options in our selection of restaurants, cafe and bar. High quality hotel facilities for business and pleasure, including extensive conference and meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Southern Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing