We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget hotel, right at the edge of the city, easy to get in and out of city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Ranked #24 of 57 Hotels in Dunedin
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    304
    139
    29
    15
See reviews for
143
269
54
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Overall impressed with this accommodation, nice room with amenities, good size car park . I chose it as it was close to where my son lived, so suited my needs. Check in was efficient, it is like a mini Hotel. Only complaint was and this is something that I may think twice about booking here again is I was not informed that if paying by credit card there is an extra fee on top of the price quoted. When I booked by phone I as informed of their cancelation policy, but not the extra charge if paying by c/c, I mentioned this to the girl on reception, she just said sorry. This is the first place in Dunedin that has charged this extra. Maybe they should quote a price including c/c fee and give a discount for cash, this would be nicer than at check out you are charged more than quoted. This is not a good look for our tourist industry, I think being honest up front is important.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GVH232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
245 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed recently and I found it very welcoming to find reception had my personal details on file from a previous stay and went all out to offer a good price and a wonderful warm room. Very much appreciated with snow outside. Furnishings very tasteful with bed beautifully comfortable and the tv and room service great also.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rme48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
453 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I ahve stayed here quite a few times for work, and the standard of the rooms is good, the staff are friendly, and the food is very good. It can be a little noisy with main road on both sides of the hotel, but ask for an inside room facing the garden. The internet is very expensive as well. Another down side is no fitness room in the hotel, there is free access to a gym but is in the city so would need a car to get there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden on the inside, so facing away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danjonelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawke's Bay Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Got a special and it was well worth it. Lovely and quiet. We slept well. It was lovely to come back after a busy day to a warm room which had been serviced. We felt we were the only ones there but the car park was full. Also free car parking and sometimes in cities you have to pay. It was a little out of town if you didn't have car and not sure of the local transport system so that would have to be a consideration.

Room Tip: No tips it is all one level. We faced the garden side and it was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murrbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
1.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
1.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 57 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
1.6 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge

Property: Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Address: 30 Duke Street | P.O. Box 8024, Dunedin 9041, New Zealand (Formerly Dunedin Leisure Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#22 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin's Garden Hotel. 76-Rooms in relaxed garden setting. Adjacent to Dunedin Botanic Gardens; short stroll to Otago University, Stadium, Hospital, the city's dynamic shopping centre, and visitor attractions. Easy access from State Highway 1, plenty of complimentary off-street parking. McGavin's Restaurant and Bar, offering contemporary cuisine using fresh local produce. Conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leisure Lodge Dunedin Hotel Dunedin
Mercure Leisure Hotel Dunedin
Accor Leisure Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing