We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“T12 Paraplegic Review - Bill Simpson - Australia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    310
    140
    30
    15
See reviews for
149
271
55
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We have stayed here several times before. This place is great value and features excellent service from friendly staff. The rooms are very comfortable and the grounds are very spacious and tidy. Last time I reviewed the Leisure Lodge I mentioned that the processed bacon and the entrée were a tad disappointing; the management response was that they would look into these issues and they did, we had nice crisp streaky bacon and a generous entrée at dinner. So if you have pro-active management that listens to the guests, you will get good reviews, well done to the Leisure Lodge team.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scorpio_X2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Good check in, spacious rooms and excellent hospitality staff in the bar. Good price and great parking. What let my trip down was the cheap kettle from The Warehouse and the guy on reception for checkout. He should not have been at work as his attitude sucked!! Isolated person in respect to the rest of the staff. TV clarity needs addressing as a number of channels were 'snowy'. Will be back.

Room Tip: View the room first and check the TV channels
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseandTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We spent one night in Dunedin in January.
It’s a very good place to be used as a starting point to visit the Otago Peninsula.

The Mercure Leisure Lodge is a standard Mercure Hotel.
It’s quite far from the city center: both from the Octagon and from the Railway Station so you need a car.
The hotel is quite small and all the rooms are on the ground or the first floor.
The reception can be improved.
The room was quite big with two beds.
The bathroom was ok and both the room and the bathroom were absolutely clean.

Pay attention: We had an international phone card and even if we used a local number this was the first hotel where we had to pay the local call.

In the hotel there is also the restaurant but we preferred to eat in city center both dinner and breakfast.
There is the free car parking of the hotel.

Suggestion: go to the Albatros center on the Otago Peninsula, look for the penguins, buy a Paua shell on the Otago peninsula (they are cheaper than in other places, be sure to visit the railway station and to drink the fresh water at the brewery (but pay attention only 5 minutes car parking allowed, and they always check).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navigator78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Friendly helpful staff, great rooms very clean and spacious, good meals and reasonably prices, room service friendly and prompt, very quiet and warm hotel.
Internet overpriced and needs to be free to make this hotel competitive with other hotels I stay in.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 435geoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This hotel is better than what I thought it would be. Great location with a pleasant 20-30 minute walk to central Dunedin. The free parking is a bonus. Their restaaurant was good value for money. Free wi-Fi is available to guests for 20 mins per day. Accor advantage Plus members will be impressed with the discounts available for club members. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pooka67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Only stopped for one night but was perfect for our requirements, we had two large double beds in the room, clean and tidy, no street noise, very handy to nearest pub 5mins walk to watch the All Blacks win, easy parking onsite, lovely park like spacious grounds, friendly staff, even provided much needed bucket and scraper to get the ice of our windscreens, cheers for that would recommend to stay here

Room Tip: Wotif was great deal on this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brownbunch06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.1 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
1.5 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
760 reviews
1.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge

Property: Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Address: 30 Duke Street | P.O. Box 8024, Dunedin 9041, New Zealand (Formerly Dunedin Leisure Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#23 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin's Garden Hotel. 76-Rooms in relaxed garden setting. Adjacent to Dunedin Botanic Gardens; short stroll to Otago University, Stadium, Hospital, the city's dynamic shopping centre, and visitor attractions. Easy access from State Highway 1, plenty of complimentary off-street parking. McGavin's Restaurant and Bar, offering contemporary cuisine using fresh local produce. Conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leisure Lodge Dunedin Hotel Dunedin
Mercure Leisure Hotel Dunedin
Accor Leisure Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing