We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A standard Mercure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge
Ranked #28 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We spent one night in Dunedin in January.
It’s a very good place to be used as a starting point to visit the Otago Peninsula.

The Mercure Leisure Lodge is a standard Mercure Hotel.
It’s quite far from the city center: both from the Octagon and from the Railway Station so you need a car.
The hotel is quite small and all the rooms are on the ground or the first floor.
The reception can be improved.
The room was quite big with two beds.
The bathroom was ok and both the room and the bathroom were absolutely clean.

Pay attention: We had an international phone card and even if we used a local number this was the first hotel where we had to pay the local call.

In the hotel there is also the restaurant but we preferred to eat in city center both dinner and breakfast.
There is the free car parking of the hotel.

Suggestion: go to the Albatros center on the Otago Peninsula, look for the penguins, buy a Paua shell on the Otago peninsula (they are cheaper than in other places, be sure to visit the railway station and to drink the fresh water at the brewery (but pay attention only 5 minutes car parking allowed, and they always check).

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navigator78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

550 - 556 of 666 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2011

Friendly helpful staff, great rooms very clean and spacious, good meals and reasonably prices, room service friendly and prompt, very quiet and warm hotel.
Internet overpriced and needs to be free to make this hotel competitive with other hotels I stay in.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 435geoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This hotel is better than what I thought it would be. Great location with a pleasant 20-30 minute walk to central Dunedin. The free parking is a bonus. Their restaaurant was good value for money. Free wi-Fi is available to guests for 20 mins per day. Accor advantage Plus members will be impressed with the discounts available for club members. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pooka67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Only stopped for one night but was perfect for our requirements, we had two large double beds in the room, clean and tidy, no street noise, very handy to nearest pub 5mins walk to watch the All Blacks win, easy parking onsite, lovely park like spacious grounds, friendly staff, even provided much needed bucket and scraper to get the ice of our windscreens, cheers for that would recommend to stay here

Room Tip: Wotif was great deal on this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brownbunch06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Nice rooms good value Friendly staff rooms nice and clean and warm

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 67tang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed in Dunedin 3 times while our daughter was a student at Univ of Otago. This 1 was by far the BEST! ( Comfort and Quality were the others) We did not book it initially because of the price, but luckily we found a last minute internet special and booked a room here. It was modern, and comfortable!
Across the street is a botanic garden and aviary.
One small issue-they do charge a fee for using the coffee/plunger. We found this to be unusual as no other motel charged us during our 3 week tour of the south island.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Astor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Auckland
1
Reviewed August 3, 2011

An enjoyable stay while visiting our daughter who is studying at Otago University. Good sized rooms and nice and warm despite the heavy frosts outside. The bathroom area is of a decent size and has good quality fittings.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#10 of 61 in Dunedin
295 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Dunedin
Best Western Dunedin
#19 of 61 in Dunedin
286 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
#38 of 61 in Dunedin
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
0.7 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
751 reviews
1.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#11 of 61 in Dunedin
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge

Address: 30 Duke Street | P.O. Box 8024, Dunedin 9041, New Zealand (Formerly Dunedin Leisure Lodge)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
#23 Business Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: $108 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunedin's Garden Hotel. 76-Rooms in relaxed garden setting. Adjacent to Dunedin Botanic Gardens; short stroll to Otago University, Stadium, Hospital, the city's dynamic shopping centre, and visitor attractions. Easy access from State Highway 1, plenty of complimentary off-street parking. McGavin's Restaurant and Bar, offering contemporary cuisine using fresh local produce. Conference rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Dunedin Leisure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Leisure Lodge Dunedin Hotel Dunedin
Mercure Leisure Hotel Dunedin
Accor Leisure Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing