We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New owner since a few weeks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manor House Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manor House Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“New owner since a few weeks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We arrived at the Manor House without a booking and just walked in. We got a room in the second building, an old wooden villa, where we were almost completely alone (just between Summer and Winter season).
When we entered the building it was really warm, a big air conditioner made it all nice and comfy. The room itself sadly was too big for the small heater in it, so we just left the door open. The kitchen is small in this building, bigger in the other one, but it worked out good for us.

I had a little chat with the owner while I was doing my dishes, she told me that she owns the place since a few weeks and is now trying to tidy and brush it all up. I know that the following probably sounds like advertising, but you could really see that the team is doing their best to get the place all nice and clean. While we stayed we saw various buckets with old inventory and rubbish leaving the house and I would say there is a good spirit to make it an awesome place. You may compare it with the "Around the world backpackers" in Christchurch, it's the same owner now.

I for myself can say the stay in Dunedin was really really cool, we came for two nights and stayed 5.

I'd say you can pretty much ignore the ratings given earlier than May 2014, when the owners changed. And for the guys in Manor House: Go on doing like you're doing, you're doing great!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
We really appreciate your review. Yes we are working extremely hard to get the hostel clean, tidy and warm for all our guests. New pillows have just arrived and we have been busy collecting bigger heaters for all the big dorms. Safe travels and hope to see you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    48
    20
    8
    11
See reviews for
6
31
41
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

A friend of mine booked a room for the two of us on a quick overnight stay to pick up a car. She chose it because it seemed charming and cheap and was the only backpackers with off-street parking. When we arrived we couldn't make it up the driveway as it was too steep so we had to park on the street which wasn't too bad as there was good parking across the road. We didn't receive the twin room which we had booked, instead we got a bunkroom to ourselves which would have been fine, except the room was at the very back seemingly away from others, and also did not have a lockable door which was quite concerning to two females in an unknown place. Our room was clean but cold, we both slept with all the spare duvets from the other bunks in the room to keep warm. The staff were friendly and it seemed quite homely. Definitely an acquired taste.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cflutey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
I appreciate your review we are working hard to improve the standard of the hostel. All that you have mentioned will be looked into.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Manor House Backpackers is a fantastic place to say.

It provides a perfect base for exploring Dunedin being very close to the centre while being far enough away to not feel confined, having very pleasant gardens and green surroundings.

I have stayed here for a week with one female friend and we are agreed that this place is a unique hostel. Manor House Backpackers has a distinct atmosphere which is one of welcoming, comfort and friendliness due to the people running the place and the travellers who are drawn here.

I can genuinely and whole-heartedly recommend it for your stay in Dunedin.

Adam and Liberty (UK)

Room Tip: Both houses are beautiful but I prefer the quieter Tonkinson house which also has a lovely little ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adamccccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thanks for your lovely review. All the best with your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Upon arrival (after a 20 minute walk from town centre, up a hill and a super steep drive way), the place looked ran down. There were discarded sofa chairs on the porch, disgusting. We were alarmed immediately. The room was a double bed room, it was horrifying! I nearly fell off the bed when I sat down, it flopped all over the placs. The room was colorless, smelt of mould and rotting wood. The heater smelt like burning corpses and there was no hot air coming out. The shared bathroom was passable, but more industrial like. We thought we could do it for just 2 nights, surely we've been to worse places! Second night, we come back after a long day and was just casually lounging around on the bed when we discovered a small, white maggot crawling next to my face on thr bed. We scrambled to grab it with tissue and flushed it down the toilet. Ten minutes later, another one was disvovered crawling on me. We booked another hotel fro the nighy within the next 10 minutes and ran out. Would not recommend ever.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda H, Owner at Manor House Backpackers, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Hi I am the new owner of Manor House Backpackers and would like to apologise for your uncomfortable stay. I have taken in all that you have mentioned in your review, we have replaced the sofas with nice out door furniture and there is a new heater in the double room. I plan to make the rooms more comfortable and enjoyable. We have ordered new pillows and sheets for every dorm and room. You mentioned maggot's in your room, they are actually a small caterpillar that live in the trees and occasionally get picked up on your clothes, I do apologise I have called pest control to see if we can fix the problem. All the best with your travels, regards Belinda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quathiaski Cove, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed a few nights at Manor House Hostel in Dunedin, NZ and found this hostel friendly, clean, and well-equipped. The staff went out of their way to make me feel welcome and to help with my enquiries. Thanks, I appreciated it very much after the long trip from Canada.

Room Tip: This hostel is an old house and all rooms are much the same. It's got character and is welcoming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alpinewriting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Simply awfull, don't go there. You can find much better for cheaper also in town! This place is way too expensive for what it is. Its not clean at all, we even found a cockroaches in the room..the only good thing is that is quite close to town!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie1Ska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

So the bad reviews have some merit to them, at first glance the place could do with some sprucing up and there aren't top many toilets but the staff / management are extremely friendly, the sheets are clean, the kitchen well equipped, and the garden is lovely if you stay in the summer.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.6 mi away
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
Leviathan Heritage Hotel
#54 of 58 in Dunedin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.8 mi away
On Top Backpackers
On Top Backpackers
#5 of 40 in Dunedin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Geeky Gecko Backpackers
Geeky Gecko Backpackers
#25 of 40 in Dunedin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Backpackers

Property: Manor House Backpackers
Address: 28 Manor Place, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Manor House Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor House rated number 1 Dunedin hostel on Tripadvisor. See for yourself why we are rated the best hostel in town. Situated just up the road from the Naked Bus depot and minutes walk to the city center, we look forward to having you to stay. Book through our website to get all the special offers. WHAT WE PROVIDE TO ALL OUR GUESTS: FREE fast WIFI UNLIMITED,available throughout the hostel, tent, vans FREE taxi from Intercity bus depot,must stay 2 nights and book direct FREE computer available 24/7 FREE tea, coffee and spices for cooking FREE herbs from the herb garden FREE use of the BBQ FREE DVDs to watch, over 100 to choose from FREE hair dryers and hair straighteners to borrow FREE alarm clocks to borrow for those early starts FREE phone for local Dunedin calls and national 0800 numbers FREE off-street parking (on a first-in, first-served basis) FREE ear plugs! FREE salt and pepper and anything else you can find on the kitchen shelves FREE sewing kit to use FREE storage FREE eco boutique (free second hand clothes and items) FREE hot chocolates every night throughout the winter We are one of the only hostels that has free parking on the road and at the hostel. Movies nights every Tuesday and Thursday 8.30Pm with popcorn, hot chocolates and marshmallows. Our staff working extremely hard to make your stay as comfortable and fulfilling while staying in Dunedin. We are here to help you plan your activities and tours, or just relax. The staff have all traveled and understand the needs of a traveler. We have bikes available to hire daily and you can book tours with us. LOOKING FORWARD TO SEEING YOU SOON. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Manor House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing