We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay in an NZ heritage inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lisburn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lisburn House
Ranked #15 of 63 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderful stay in an NZ heritage inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The rooms definitely have got some wow factors. I loved their furnitures and wallpapers, which, according to the host, were all imported from UK and Italy etc. My husband and I lived in the rose room. It was spacious and comfy. My friends stayed in the Victorian room. It looked most classical among all three rooms. But I think my faviourite is the blue room. No one was staying there that day, so the next morning I went in and had a look. Really loved that light blue colour!

Downstairs there were a beautiful living room and a dining room. Breakfast was yummy and the presentation was lovely. The host lady asked us breakfast preferences and cooked to our needs.

In a city like Dunedin I always want to live in a B&B rather than a hotel because it suits the city's atmosphere. I think it was a right desicion to stay in Lisburn. It was built in 1865 and marked as heritage inn in NZ. The renovation made it comfortable and clean. There is nothing I dislike about it. It was simply wonderful!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. The rose room is more feminine and has a kid's bed. But the blue room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iAdagio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    9
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
52
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
185 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

When you stay at Lisburn house you don't feel like you're staying at a B&B, you feel like you're staying with friends! Lisburn House definitely lets you feel a little of that old world Dunedin charm in their historic house. We stayed in the blue room in which everything you could wish for was provided. It's a good sized room with impeccable old world furnishings. Most importantly the four poster bed was incredibly comfortable! Alan and Olivia are your charming hosts and nothing is too much trouble! As soon as we arrived, Alan made a pot of tea and we sat down in the lounge room and chatted - it was very welcoming. The location of LIsburn House was very convenient and there was parking available at the rear of the house. They have free wifi in the house (we can't do without our internet connection), and there are facilities for coffee/tea in your room. The rooms are also equipped with guest robes and plenty of lovely fluffy towels. We would definitely stay at Lisburn House again if we were in Dunedin.

Room Tip: Two rooms have their own bathrooms but these are located across the hall - which is no problem at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MishasVineyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

We arrived for a three night stay between Chrismas and New Year. The house itself is an 1865 built heritage home and from the moment you step through the front door you could imagine how the house was lived in its original state. The attention to period detail is outstanding. Each room has its own distintive flavour. The hosts Alan and Olivia were very welcoming and helpful in every sense. We were told off on day two for using a local laundrette instead of leaving with our hosts. "All part of the service" we were told. Breakfasts were a delight from the traditional cooked to French Toast, Omlette, Pancakes. All were on offer and tried over the period we were there. We truly felt we were in a home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillespieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Not knowing what to expect, apart from the reviews I had read, I booked us into Lisburn House for a 3 night stay during the Rugby World Cup. I'm sure that if the old Carisbrook ground had been used we would have had difficulty getting into Lisburn House. We were not disappointed at all. The rooms were excellent and clean and large, the bathrooms well stocked and our hosts were very friendly. Alan had not been back long from his job as Chef on board a Trawler but managed extremely well as Olivia had been suffering fom a cold, so we did not meet her until the second day. She and Alan gave us some excellent advice about where to go and what to see whilst we were in Dunedin. Although a bit more than I wanted to spend I certainly do not regret our stay there and would thoroughly recommend the venue to anyone else looking to stay in Dunedin.

It would have been nice to have eaten in their restaurant had it still been going, but for this you have to blame the City of Dunedin for changing the rates to an exhorbitant amount and for the city to lose a good restaurant. Idf we make it back to Dunedin we will surely try and stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms are large, it is just a choice of which colour you prefer as rooms are based on their colo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ionia, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

If your traveling to Dunedin you should have the Lisburn on your list as the place to stay. You won't regret it. Olivia and her staff are a perfect example of how guest should be treated. I thank them for their kindness and Irish hospitality.

Ray & Cris

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ericksonray67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

I stayed in the Lisburn House and felt like I was at home. Olivia was such a gracious hostess. SHe gave us advice on where to go and also lent me an extra layer for my nature trek as it was quite windy out. Olivia made us feel so welcome and went above and beyond fo us- making sure we were fed after our late arrival, as well as for our early departure and even helped us by having the coach come and pick us up a little later to give us more time to enjoy our breakfast before heading to the airport. I would definitely recommend this place and cme back again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paddingtonbearg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

Olivia and Alan were just the perfect hosts: Helpful, welcoming, anticipating our needs and exceeding our expectations. The elite luxury Victorian rooms were all equipped with a full library, real antique furniture and paintings, fine porcelain, you name it. Every single detail tells you that you are in a true Victorian environment. We were spoilt with their impeccable service, exceptional traditional cooked breakfast and 3-course dinner that includes a generous selection of local and international wines. We loved Dunedin and Olivia and Alan are part of the reason why we got such a positive impression of the city. Highly recommendable B&B.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
1.5 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
2.5 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 58 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pacific Park Suites
Pacific Park Suites
#11 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
2.7 mi away
Edgeley Bed & Breakfast
Edgeley Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 63 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#9 of 58 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisburn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisburn House

Property: Lisburn House
Address: 15 Lisburn Avenue, Dunedin 9012, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lisburn House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lisburn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing