We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Larnach Castle Lodge
Ranked #7 of 61 Hotels in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This Castle is truly a Castle, the accomodation and food cannot be believed for the price . Step into another world . The Lodge Theme Rooms were great fun, we had the Queen Vic one and enjoyed the experience of a four poster bed and the view from the window out of this world.Plus every modern convenience including a corner bath and top notch toileties. The unique dining experience of dining in the Castle inself and of sharing a large table banquet style with other guests, including a talk from one of the waitresses on the history of the Castle really broke the ice . The gardens are included in your cost and a very reasonable breakfast with choice of cooked disahes all included, Give me this over the usual motel any day.

Room Tip: Look at the options to see what suits your pocket, i.e. shared facilities in the Stable or like us b...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie B, Public Relations Manager at Larnach Castle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Marie J,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Natalie Bisset
Marketing Support

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
There are newer reviews for Larnach Castle Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 627 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for something different, then look no further. Stayed at Larnach Castle on the last stop of our New Zealand adventure.Graham greeted us at the desk and made us feel very relaxed and welcome. We stayed in The Lodge in the Queen Victoria suite. The 4 poster bed was fun but it made the room a bit dark. Lovely views across the bay and wonderful birdsong . Have the optional evening meal one night. You sit at one big table with fellow guests in the castle and chat whilst being served an excellent 3 course meal. Afterwards the Maitre d told us the story of the family who originally owned Larnach Castle. It IS only a story, BUT I was a bit twitchy walking back to our room !
Staying at Larnach Castle is something different and although a bit pricey, worth it. Without sounding like a misery I feel it's more for grown ups....so maybe no under 12's ? The walls are a bit thin and no-one wants to listen to a crying or naughty child.
Overall we had 2 lovely nights here. You MUST go to the Otago Peninsula to see the Albatross and the little Blue Penguins coming ashore at night it's only 20minutes away.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillianMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Rooms were so comfortable, all the amenities an a beautiful view. The gardens are magnificent and the castle is well worth your exploring. Have dinner there it is very well done and the food was delicious. After dinner you get to have story time and they tell you all about the castle quite fascinating. This is a place you will really enjoy

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie B, Public Relations Manager at Larnach Castle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Linda S,

Thank you for this review, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

Natalie Bisset
Marketing Support

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This proved to be one of our more "up-market" stops on our DIY NZ tour. Single night stay, and a bit more remote than we'd realised. However the welcome was warm both at the gate and the reception desk; we were able to book for the dinner and our room was first-class (probably spectacular if the mist had lifted properly to reveal the view!).

The communal dinner/banquet went well but there were too many being fed for the space and staff on duty that evening so it got a bit slow - but we weren't going anywhere else.........

Good breakfast.

The access to the gardens and building are the bonus of course, and the "back story" of the way the place has been kept going is fascinating. UK visitors particularly will recognise the "country house" feel of this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIDLANDS-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

What a great place to stay. Our room had lovely views and was nicely decorated with a verandah. Could have done with more room to put things away though. The highlight was eating dinner in the castle - the first night in the dining room and the second in the music room. As this is done house party style it was nice meeting and chatting to other people who were staying there. The food was very good and our host very informative. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. If you are a rocky horror fan you can almost imagine yourselves as Brad and Janet when you ring the castle doorbell to be admitted for dinner in the evening, but there is no Frank 'n' furter just good food, wine and convivial company

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnypBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We drove from Queenstown to Larnarch Castle and had two rooms reserved for five guests at Larnarch Lodge. It was great arriving at the gate and informing them I had reservations. We were warmly greeted and drove up to the Lodge accommodation. A lady greeted us again and checked us in showing showing us to our rooms. Our rooms were "wonderful" with panoramic views of Otago Peninsular. So nice and warm decorated in a classical style. The rooms have different themes. Our room was named "The Pink Room". Lovely bedding and furniture. Good selection of teas and coffee with biscuits. Very cosy with the heating which is thermostatically controlled with no noise. We had afternoon tea in the cafe area and the food and service was excellent. Asking for extra Milk for tea was not a problem! As we had accommodation with dinner booked we embarked on our included Castle tour and after the gates had closed to the tour buses only the accommodation guests had the grounds to themselves! The gardens were wonderful and the staff very friendly with the level of sophistication you would only hope to receive at other places! One night is not enough. The dinner was great with very knowledgeable hosts. The Beef was perfectly cooked to my liking. Slept well and had a wonderful breakfast in the Stables (included in the room price) which included Plunger Coffee and the usual continental buffet fare but very nice with porridge, and in addition they will also cook you a hot breakfast made to order! The service was excellent with a classy touch. This is our second time to the Castle and we are glad that we stayed overnight. This trip has led to a better understanding of the history and as "Kiwi" I would definitely recommend staying here if you have the time and appreciate history and nature. The Castle is interesting with nice views from the top! In Winter it snows here so be prepared!

Room Tip: The "Pink Room" would be perfect for a couple with great views from the bathroom and bedro...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnach, Public Relations Manager at Larnach Castle Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear macaukiwi,

We are pleased to hear you really enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your lovely review, the detail in which I'm sure will be useful to other customers considering staying with us so thank you!

Natalie Bisset
Marketing Support

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed two nights at Larnach Lodge while on a self-drive tour of the South Island. The location is impressive even if the "castle" has something of a theme park air about it. The staff were great - very friendly and welcoming. Our room had magnificent views over Otago Harbour and we were serenaded by bellbirds in the morning. Breakfast in the stable was hearty and a good start to the day.

The location makes the lodge a good base for exploring the Otago Peninsula with its rich wildlife, and the city of Dunedin is in easy reach. We had dinner in the house one night, which was a nice addition to the stay, and we really enjoyed the opportunity to chat with other guests and to hear the story of the property.

Lodge guests get free admission to the Castle, which is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
5.8 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 61 in Dunedin
732 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Brothers Boutique Hotel
6.2 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
6.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
Scenic Hotel Dunedin City
#13 of 61 in Dunedin
764 reviews
5.7 mi away
Amross Motel
Amross Motel
#3 of 61 in Dunedin
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larnach Castle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larnach Castle Lodge

Address: 145 Camp Road, Otago Peninsula | PO Box 1350, Dunedin 9054, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Dunedin
Price Range: $107 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Larnach Castle Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Larnach Lodge Is a unique recreation of a colonial farm building set in 35 acres of award winning Castle Garden. Rooms are individually decorated in a colonial style and all have private facilities. Every room has a dramatic sea view. Lodge guests are invited to dine in a Castle dining room. Bookings must be made by 5pm. Breakfast is included in the room rate and is served in the historic Stables. Complementary entry to Larnach Castle is also part of the package. Larnach Lodge is a 20 minute drive from the City of Dunedin and 20 minutes from the famous wildlife attractions on the Otago Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Larnach Castle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larnach Castle Hotel Dunedin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing