We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Choice”
Review of Fletcher Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fletcher Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Our stay at this lovely B&B was highlighted by stimulating conversations with the hostess and absolutely delicious breakfasts served in a luxurious dining room. The lodge is located within walking distance of several excellent restaurants. Follow the hosts' recommendations - they know what they're talking about. Our bed was extremely comfortable, and our room was large, yet cozy at the same time. I highly recommend this lodge for your Dunedin stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    14
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
74
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
372 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Wonderful B&B a few blocks uphill from the center of town – this was our favorite out of all the places we stayed in New Zealand. Rooms are very comfortable and have all the little touches to make you feel at home, including bathrobes, fresh fruit (replenished daily) and a sewing kit complete with scissors tucked in the desk. Loved the huge bathroom with heated floor! Night light in the bathroom was also helpful, and heated towel racks which we found throughout New Zealand. We had the Craigard room, on the main floor next to the office, and it was lovely, with french doors opening to the patio.

Coffee, tea and biscuits are always available upstairs, and a fridge to keep any groceries you have. A nice cozy lounge downstairs has comfy chairs and a sofa, and a small dining table, if you want to relax "at home" – it was perfect for an evening in enjoying wine and cheese. Flatscreen TVs in each room are connected to a central system, you can select a DVD from the library and they will play it for you. Breakfast includes juice, yoghurt, cereals, fresh fruit, toast and Ewa's yummy freshly baked croissants, plus your choice of scrambled or poached eggs with ham or salmon, cooked to order.

Ewa and Keith are charming hosts, happy to help with maps, advice and tour bookings. They were so helpful when we needed to change a tour that we'd booked. And Fletcher is adorable. The only negative was that, although we were able to get Internet access thru the free wifi, for some reason we could not get our email...I had to use my phone's cellular service for that. Didn’t seem like this was a common problem, maybe an Apple device issue?? Regardless, I would highly recommend Fletcher Lodge.

Room Tip: We loved the Craigard Room because of the spacious bathroom with good counter space, and the French...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Seattle98101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The proprietors of Fletcher Lodge are wonderful and the lodge is surrounded by history. Very relaxing and we would highly recommend to anyone traveling to Dunedin. The breakfast is served at your leisure and they are happy to accommodate any dietary requirements.

Room Tip: No bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

With friendly and helpful hosts and nice accommodation in this delightful property we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Fletcher Lodge. Conveniently located close to the centre of town we highly recommend this unique B & B

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sambal69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Our stay at the Fletcher Lodge was wonderful. Ewa met us at the door and was so gracious - I spite of our traveling clothes and hiking shoes. The lodge was spacious and comfortable and the grounds were amazing. The view from our room (Edinburgh) was of Dunedin's DBD and harbor. Ewa made dinner reservations for us and even called a taxi so we wouldn't have to walk (and get lost!); we were able to walk back to the lodge once we got our bearings. Ewa and Keith were friendly hosts and we truly enjoyed our stay with them. The furnishings were exquisite and we felt like a lord and lady in an English manor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had an amazing time at the Fletcher Lodge - both Keith and Ewa made us feel so at home, and so amazingly comfortable that we were sad to leave.

Keith, Ewa and Fletcher - thank you for your hospitality. They had such a sense of humour, and always made sure we had everything we needed. Keith makes the best breakfasts (and the croissants are to die for), while Ewa fusses about like a mother. We enjoyed our dinner at Portobello together (and Ewa even joined us for the blue penguin tour!). The fact that they spent time with their houseguests shows that this is not just a business for them - it's their passion. Their knowledge of local restaurants and things to do certainly helped us as well - we could not have enjoyed Dunedin without their help.

The house is beautiful - it's more of a home than a hotel. Furniture was impeccable, and you can see that it's been lovingly lived-in. They have apartments attached to the main house, and the three of us enjoyed a lovely two-bedroom apartment with a comfortable living room and a full kitchen. The views were amazing - being so high up the hill they enjoy a lovely panorama of Dunedin, which is saying a lot, especially mornings and nights. The beds were superb - the best sleep we had in New Zealand (which is why we completely overslept one morning!)

The Lodge is located close to town, and walking distance to very good restaurants. It's a short hike up the hill, so it's useful to walk off a large meal.

And Fletcher is such a charmer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2-bedroom apartment, which was perfect for friends and families. But couples should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wazza_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at Fletcher Lodge for 3 nights. During our stay Ewa and Keith who run the hotel were so friendly and helpful it made our stay one of the best we have ever experienced. The room, facilities and breakfasts were beyond our expectations. The hotel was immaculate, spotlessly clean and full of character. We were staying in Dunedin as part of a larger tour around New Zealand and the experise and advice from Ewa and Keith were invaluable in planning our trip and helping us to decide what to see and do. They both went out of their way to offer the best things to see in Dunedin and answered all our questions. They also offered excellent advice and tips on the rest of our holiday. If you want a five star experience then stay at Fletcher Lodge. We could not reccommend it more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desbland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.2 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
6.5 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#7 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#8 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Lodge

Property: Fletcher Lodge
Address: 276 High Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fletcher Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes walk from the Dunedin City centre, Fletcher Lodges complex offers luxury accommodation in an atmosphere of restrained elegance while providing the ultimate in contemporary comfort and modern facilities.Nestled in a secluded, established gardens the lodge complex is conveniently located within minutes of many of the citys finest and most popular cafes and restaurants.A Lodge stay offers the charm and personal attention of a bed and breakfast whilst extending the amenities associated with full service HotelsBuilt by Sir James Fletcher in 1924 to serve as his private residence whilst he oversaw the construction of the New Zealand and South Seas Exhibition complex, the main historic property offers a rare glimpse of New Zealands Heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fletcher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing