We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“don't book the Arran room...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fletcher Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fletcher Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“don't book the Arran room...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This is a lovely old home with beautiful antiques. however our particular room was far from luxurious and was probably formally the servant's room...small and dark. The hosts were extremely accommodating. Its location is a short but steep walk up from the center of the city and unfortunately the neighborhood is a mixed bag...a lot needs major restoration. Dunedin was our least favorite stop on a 10 city tour of New Zealand.

Room Tip: don't get the Arran room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrijan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    13
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
73
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This place should be no.1 on tripadvisor for Dunedin. It was the most luxurious accommdation we stayed in, in a month in the south island. We booked at short notice for one night in the 2 br apartment on new year's eve, and wished we could stay longer. The apartment is huge, perfect for a family of 4, beautifully decorated, has an enormous sitting room, well appointed kitchen, KS sleigh bed, beautiful bathroom and many small touches that made it really outstanding. Eva is a delight: very talkative and helpful, going out of her way to help us with local knowledge including booking us a table for dinner. The gardens are also beautiful. Could not rate this place highly enough and would definitely stay again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DeepNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Old villa with old world charm....amazing rooms with all possible kind of facilities and amenities. Hosts are very welcoming and hospitable. They took good care of us and guided well to roam around. Breakfast was good and made to order besides regular stuff. Don't miss enjoying the various sit outs in the property. Will love to come again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmitabhChaturvedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

What a house.. An old mansion built by an English man and currently run by a Polish couple is a place to check in if one is looking for a luxurious stay. The entire house is very tastefully done. Beautiful garden around and some good sit outs makes it better. The hosts were really warm and helpful. The breakfast was English and made to order. The overall stay was great.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReetikaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Eva and Keith have managed to create a 5 Star B & B experience in a wonderful, quaint city that has really no other 5 Star options for accommodation. Beautiful rooms with lots of amenities; delicious breakfasts with more options than you can imagine; intriguing, knowledgable hosts who do all possible to make you feel welcome and spoiled. Best B&B experience ever!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtDebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decorah, Iowa
Level Contributor
277 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This should be rated 5 stars because there is nothing lacking.....superb hospitality, great rooms, marvelous breakfasts and great hosts in Ewa and Keith. Everything about the place, including the small touches all around the rooms oozes with charm. We loved it and are glad we opted for this rather than a hotel. The bus stops right across the street coming up from town. Walking down is a "piece of cake".

Room Tip: The Cargill Suite is out of this world. The internet is "free". Whoopee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koolbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We just left Fletcher Lodge, hosted by Ewa and Keith. Our room was spotless and well appointed. Breakfast was fresh and satisfying, as was the three-course dinner the couple made for us. We loved our romantic, delicious meal by the fireplace. Best of all, Ewa and Keith are as charming as could be.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Just4grinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
0.3 mi away
Distinction Dunedin Hotel
1.2 mi away
Bluestone on George
Bluestone on George
#1 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Southern Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
6.5 mi away
Larnach Castle Lodge
Larnach Castle Lodge
#6 of 57 in Dunedin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roslyn Apartments
Roslyn Apartments
#8 of 57 in Dunedin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Lodge

Property: Fletcher Lodge
Address: 276 High Street, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Dunedin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fletcher Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes walk from the Dunedin City centre, Fletcher Lodges complex offers luxury accommodation in an atmosphere of restrained elegance while providing the ultimate in contemporary comfort and modern facilities.Nestled in a secluded, established gardens the lodge complex is conveniently located within minutes of many of the citys finest and most popular cafes and restaurants.A Lodge stay offers the charm and personal attention of a bed and breakfast whilst extending the amenities associated with full service HotelsBuilt by Sir James Fletcher in 1924 to serve as his private residence whilst he oversaw the construction of the New Zealand and South Seas Exhibition complex, the main historic property offers a rare glimpse of New Zealands Heritage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Fletcher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing